$95 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

3 stars
View map of 1955 San Diego Avenue, San Diego, CA 92110

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
102 reviews
nice experience

was here for a wedding. nice place with easy access to downtown and the beach. See full review

  • Jazzy jazz23
  • May 6, 2015
Personal trip

This was my first trip to California and I would stay at the Holiday Inn Express again. People were... See full review

  • Michael A.
  • Mar 13, 2015
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport / Old Town is situated in an outstanding location in Americas Finest City. Located just off I-5 and I-8 , guests will appreciate being less than a mile from the San Diego International Airport and minutes away from the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches , as well as many other popular area attractions. Guest will appreciate free parking and complimentary shuttle service to the airport, Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, the Amtrak Train Station, as well as the Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD). Our guests will experience luxurious accommodations and a plethora of amenities including plush new bedding, a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free wired and wireless internet, business center, fitness room, 24-hour deli and convenience store, outdoor heated pool as well as a 24-hour whirlpool. Our exceptional location places you within walking distance of the trolley station, Historic Old Town and a variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Guest will enjoy being a short distance from Balboa Park, Seaport Village, PetCo Park, Qualcomm Stadium, Coronado Island, La Jolla, shopping malls such as Fashion Valley, Mission Valley and Horton Plaza, USS Midway, the Maritime Museum, as well as universities such as USD, SDSU and UCSD.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Heritage Park: 0.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 0.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 2.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 2.7 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 3.2 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 3.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 3.9 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 4.8 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 8.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 10 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 26.4 mi
  • Legoland: 27.5 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 102
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveler2050
Business
California
Nov 18, 2013

Pictures

When you make your reservations and see the pictures...the room name does not match the pictures...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Orion, MI "where living is good"
Apr 22, 2009

Promises not kept, false advertising

I called the hotel twice to confirm that they would provide airport shuttle at 10:30 PM when my flight arrived (second call with Orbitz rep in three way) and they promised we will be met. When I called from the airport I was told that the airport shuttle stopped at 10 PM. I had to pay for an extra day of car rental. I complained to no response. I blame Orbitz 50% for this. The breakfast was so not nutritious - only bolied eggs and toast, nothing hot. Some guest ruined the microwave by heating a boiled egg in it - it exploded ! What a mess ! They promise a "HOT" breakfast - two broken promises ! Otherwise the room was clean - like expected. Not worth the $89.00 per night charges !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Aug 14, 2007

Not what I expected for the price

My room reeked of stale tobacco. The staff was very cordial;however, for the price, I did not feel the value was there. It is right next to a major interstae so it is noisy. IT is in a deeclining neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JohnVegas
Business
Las Vegas
Jun 25, 2014

Not Great

Only stay here if you can get a really good room rate (under $130). Otherwise much better value available elsewhere. Decent free breakfast included. Fitness Room is a joke. WiFi signal is weak and unstable. Alleged hard-wire network is NOT available in most rooms. Some of the rooms are accessed from outside and noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Taco stand down the street is surprisingly good.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jkl mdl
Business
buffalo
Feb 24, 2014

flight home

good place to stay before dropping off rental car on the way to the airport

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brian Solar Commercial
Business
Denver, CO
Mar 13, 2014

Good location and decently priced for value

I stayed here for work, which was also near the airport, and my bosses' house, which is in Old Town. Great location, and you can tell it has been recently renovated inside. I will say that I stayed on the 1st floor (actually underneath the lobby level), on the side closest to the freeway (which also happens to be side closest to ocean and city view.) If I stay here again, I'll ask for a room on the other side to muffle the early morning freeway rush traffic noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Penny H.
Business
Huntington Beach
Apr 19, 2014

Good hotel but planes from airport will keep you up

The Hotel is in good condition and the rooms are clean. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Traveling to San Diego Zoo and Sea World, good location to both. We could here someone snoring through the wall in the room next to us, highway traffic and airplanes. It did make sleeping quite challenging. I was surprised in the reviews of this hotel no one mentioned the highway noise or planes. I wouldn't stay at this hotel again because of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Russian36
Business
Chicago
Jun 16, 2013

Nice and close to airpirt

We were only there for one night. The location was nice but our room faced the I-5 freeway very loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JellyBean MM
Business
Massachusetts
Oct 23, 2013

Nice Hotel with good central location

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Downtown location our first time in San Diego. Wish we had stayed in Old Town instead. It was less expensive, it had free parking and free shuttles to and from the airport as well as a number of local attractions. We could have saved a lot of money between parking fees (which were $16.00 a day!) and we wouldn't have needed the rental car for the entire stay as well. Some attractions charge parking fees, too, so we would have saved that as well. Great free hot breakfast every morning included. Just make sure you ask for a room away from the highway if you don't like traffic noise!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free shuttle to and from Airport, Zoo, Sea World, Old Town, and Balboa Park can save you on parking fees and rental car for at least part of your stay. Free parking for your car or rental at the Old Town Holiday Inn Express, too!

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Epic traveler1
Business
South
May 30, 2014

Good location for conference

The hotel is well kept. The shuttle service to the conference center was key. The staff is the highlight of the hotel. All were curteous, friendly and genuine. The workout room is very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top