$103 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

3 stars
1955 San Diego Avenue, San Diego, CA 92110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
98 reviews
First time in San Diego

The hotel was very nice. Clean, the staff was so friendly....easy to get around. My room was facing... See full review

  • AmyJW
  • Oct 13, 2014
First time in Old Town San Diego/Celebrating BF birthday

This was my first time in Old Town and I loved it. We were of walking distance to Old Town and the... See full review

  • Lou enjoying life
  • Oct 10, 2014
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport / Old Town is situated in an outstanding location in Americas Finest City. Located just off I-5 and I-8 , guests will appreciate being less than a mile from the San Diego International Airport and minutes away from the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches , as well as many other popular area attractions. Guest will appreciate free parking and complimentary shuttle service to the airport, Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, the Amtrak Train Station, as well as the Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD). Our guests will experience luxurious accommodations and a plethora of amenities including plush new bedding, a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free wired and wireless internet, business center, fitness room, 24-hour deli and convenience store, outdoor heated pool as well as a 24-hour whirlpool. Our exceptional location places you within walking distance of the trolley station, Historic Old Town and a variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Guest will enjoy being a short distance from Balboa Park, Seaport Village, PetCo Park, Qualcomm Stadium, Coronado Island, La Jolla, shopping malls such as Fashion Valley, Mission Valley and Horton Plaza, USS Midway, the Maritime Museum, as well as universities such as USD, SDSU and UCSD.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Heritage Park: 0.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 0.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 2.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 2.7 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 3.2 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 3.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 3.9 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 4.8 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 8.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 10 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 26.4 mi
  • Legoland: 27.5 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (98)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Football Mom#37
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jun 21, 2010

Not too good

We went to San Diego for The NYS 2010 National Tackle Championship Tournament for my son, our stay was for 5 days. I choose this hotel for the location been closer to the places we need it to go. I paid more at this hotel than what we were offered at other locations, thru the National Youth Sports had set up with these other hotels. I was very dissatisfied with the room the first day we got there, this room had this horrible strong smell inside! It took 3-4 days of our 5 days stay for this smell to go away! Even though I got an air freshener and some spray from the front desk. Then the bed didn't felt very clean, the sheets felt like crumbs or something inside, and to make things worse the maid skips a day and does not clean our room. The lady's at the lobby did a great job, the breakfast part was very clean and kept well supply I did appreciated that a lot, with two hungry boys that can eat a horse. Also the outside of the hotel was very clean and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Almost
Business
Comfort Inn by the Airport in San Diego
Jun 6, 2009

It could have been...

We had a room on the quiet side so did not have any problem with freeway noise. The room, breakfast, and the hotel location was good to access almost any tourist area. Our problems were with the sink stopper - couldn't get it to release. The front desk quickly got maintenace there and got it fixed. Then the toilet stopped up and we could not get the shower to turn on (it looked newly installed). Front desk offered to sent maintenance, but we had to leave for the airport. The desk did apologize.`

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveler2050
Business
California
Nov 18, 2013

Pictures

When you make your reservations and see the pictures...the room name does not match the pictures...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Orion, MI "where living is good"
Apr 22, 2009

Promises not kept, false advertising

I called the hotel twice to confirm that they would provide airport shuttle at 10:30 PM when my flight arrived (second call with Orbitz rep in three way) and they promised we will be met. When I called from the airport I was told that the airport shuttle stopped at 10 PM. I had to pay for an extra day of car rental. I complained to no response. I blame Orbitz 50% for this. The breakfast was so not nutritious - only bolied eggs and toast, nothing hot. Some guest ruined the microwave by heating a boiled egg in it - it exploded ! What a mess ! They promise a "HOT" breakfast - two broken promises ! Otherwise the room was clean - like expected. Not worth the $89.00 per night charges !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Aug 14, 2007

Not what I expected for the price

My room reeked of stale tobacco. The staff was very cordial;however, for the price, I did not feel the value was there. It is right next to a major interstae so it is noisy. IT is in a deeclining neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JohnVegas
Business
Las Vegas
Jun 25, 2014

Not Great

Only stay here if you can get a really good room rate (under $130). Otherwise much better value available elsewhere. Decent free breakfast included. Fitness Room is a joke. WiFi signal is weak and unstable. Alleged hard-wire network is NOT available in most rooms. Some of the rooms are accessed from outside and noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Taco stand down the street is surprisingly good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pastadeka
Business
Seattle, WA
Mar 26, 2010

Nice place to stay

My friend and I went to San Diego on a short spring break trip. Since we had to keep to a budget, this was a nice place to stay. The free breakfast and free shuttles to nearby attractions really helped a lot. The place is located pretty close to a trolley stop and a short walk away from Old town, so its pretty convenient to get around. The only complaint is that the internet did not work in the rooms, so we had to go to the lobby every time we needed to use the internet. Other than that, it is a great, affordable place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many dining options in old town, which is about a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Russian36
Business
Chicago
Jun 16, 2013

Nice and close to airpirt

We were only there for one night. The location was nice but our room faced the I-5 freeway very loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JellyBean MM
Business
Massachusetts
Oct 23, 2013

Nice Hotel with good central location

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Downtown location our first time in San Diego. Wish we had stayed in Old Town instead. It was less expensive, it had free parking and free shuttles to and from the airport as well as a number of local attractions. We could have saved a lot of money between parking fees (which were $16.00 a day!) and we wouldn't have needed the rental car for the entire stay as well. Some attractions charge parking fees, too, so we would have saved that as well. Great free hot breakfast every morning included. Just make sure you ask for a room away from the highway if you don't like traffic noise!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free shuttle to and from Airport, Zoo, Sea World, Old Town, and Balboa Park can save you on parking fees and rental car for at least part of your stay. Free parking for your car or rental at the Old Town Holiday Inn Express, too!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mayela
Business
Los Angeles
Feb 17, 2014

Good trip! !!

Had a good time, the staff was very friendly, rooms are big n breakfast was yummy, very close to all the restaurant's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top