$103 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

3 stars
1955 San Diego Avenue, San Diego, CA 92110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
98 reviews
First time in San Diego

The hotel was very nice. Clean, the staff was so friendly....easy to get around. My room was facing... See full review

  • AmyJW
  • Oct 13, 2014
First time in Old Town San Diego/Celebrating BF birthday

This was my first time in Old Town and I loved it. We were of walking distance to Old Town and the... See full review

  • Lou enjoying life
  • Oct 10, 2014
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport / Old Town is situated in an outstanding location in Americas Finest City. Located just off I-5 and I-8 , guests will appreciate being less than a mile from the San Diego International Airport and minutes away from the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches , as well as many other popular area attractions. Guest will appreciate free parking and complimentary shuttle service to the airport, Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, the Amtrak Train Station, as well as the Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD). Our guests will experience luxurious accommodations and a plethora of amenities including plush new bedding, a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free wired and wireless internet, business center, fitness room, 24-hour deli and convenience store, outdoor heated pool as well as a 24-hour whirlpool. Our exceptional location places you within walking distance of the trolley station, Historic Old Town and a variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Guest will enjoy being a short distance from Balboa Park, Seaport Village, PetCo Park, Qualcomm Stadium, Coronado Island, La Jolla, shopping malls such as Fashion Valley, Mission Valley and Horton Plaza, USS Midway, the Maritime Museum, as well as universities such as USD, SDSU and UCSD.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Heritage Park: 0.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 0.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 2.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 2.7 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 3.2 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 3.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 3.9 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 4.8 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 8.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 10 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 26.4 mi
  • Legoland: 27.5 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (98)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 98
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Parakeet
Business
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
May 5, 2014

Great Location, Great Staff

The staff from the front desk to the shuttle drivers were outstanding, friendly and eager to assist. The hotel is squeezed into its location, small pool and fitness center, but only a nice 15 minute walk to Old Town. First vacation where I did not rent a car. Hotel shuttle service to and from airport, Old Town, Zoo and Museums, Josh, the first shuttle driver was great in his enthusiasm to get you comfortably to the hotel and explain anything you needed to know about getting around SD. Enterprise Is a couple of blocks away if you decide to rent a car, but the trains will take you to Little Italy, Harbor Area, Gaslamp District, Old Town,..all on the Green Line. Easy to use. Washington station near hotel. If first time to SD, recommend taking Trolly Tour from Old Towne. Nardated tour of the city, can jump on and off at any point from 9AM to 5 PM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take Trolly Tour of the city if first time to SD.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M Dee
Business
Tennessee
Mar 22, 2014

A little too noisy

The overall impression is good: staff ( the shuttle driver Fernando is very helpful and will tell you everything you need to know with a great smile), desk reception is friendly and professional, breakfast was good with a good variety of choices and the room was comfortable but noisy..it was looking on the interstate so you can just imagine the constant noise .Over all I was pleased with my stay and next time I need a room I will stay there in a room on the street where I hope it will be quieter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Megggggggggggggggggggg
Business
Chicago
Sep 11, 2013

First Trip

As my my first solo trip I felt safe and comfortable,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WesF
Business
Texas
Nov 11, 2012

Just right

If you are attending an event at MCRD then this is hotel is the place to stay. Very Close to Base and airport. Very clean rooms, excellent staff ( Jose ), a 24 hour small needful items store in the hotel, and very quick transportation service to and from the airport and or base. My only small Cons are the curtains in the rooms do not close all the way and due to the location of the hi way to the hotel there is some traffic noise. Overall great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DR MIHIR
Business
SAN FRANCISCO, CA
Apr 4, 2011

Good for Price

NO PLAY AREA FOR CHILDREN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nixa,Missouri
Jan 23, 2011

Unbeatable for what I needed for my stay

very clean ,pretty relaxing and quiet . I was there for my grandsons's graduation from Marine Corp basic , went to Corando Island and to the Ocean lots . very nice trip my stay was great and I enjoyed it very much ,I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Not a lot of eaterys real close to the motel however they had a great little convience store in the motel for snacks and etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Negaunee, Michigan
Nov 3, 2010

Good value for the money

Although it was literally right next to I 5 my room was quiet, although I was across the hall from the freeway side of the room. The continental breakfast was fine, and access to the freeway was very easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveling linguist
Business
Japan
Aug 19, 2010

good (with a couple buts)

I've had many good experiences at this hotel. This year was OK, but when I called the hotel to extend my reservation, the man I spoke to was quite insulting. He seemed to assume from the start that I must be lying about my existing 4-night reservation. When he finally located the reservation, there was no apology. Just "Oh, here it is." First-rate hotels train their staff in how to handle this sort of situation with dignity and kindness. My other complaint is that very noisy guests were using the pool from 2:30 A.M. until 3:30 A.M. outside my window. The pool gate should not have been left unlocked at that hour. The pool is supposed to be closed at 10 P.M. In general, though, this hotel is a good value, has a decent location (fairly near a trolley stop) and the staff are very friendly and prompt. I will probably continue to come here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

No need to pay for Mexican food at a fancy restaurant. The best is available for take out just a few doors south of the hotel at Dos Brasas. Just take the food back to your room. Jack and Julio's Italian restaurant is my favorite in Old Town. Anything with marinara sauce. Veal Scaloppine picatta is also yummy. Ravioli great. California salad. Maybe 12 min. walk from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Western Washington
Jul 10, 2009

Good location but heavy freeway noise

Pretty pricey considering the loud freeway noise. Rooms were decorated fairly dark, making it seem cave-like. I choose this hotel because of its location and the free shuttle to the airport, which was a real plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We had a great dinner in Old Towne, just a mile or so to the north on the same street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 27, 2007

overall, better than I expected

The Comfort Inn Old Town in San Diego Ca. was better than expected for cost, location, very helpful and thoughtful staff, and cleanliness. The room was well equipped for comfort and more Hi-Tech than I expected. I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

nicely situated to get around the San Diego area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top