$80 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2014 Check-out: Sep 9, 2014

Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

3 stars
1955 San Diego Avenue, San Diego, CA 92110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
94 reviews
Awesome weekend get away hotel!

If you're considering a reasonably priced, clean, and well located hotel - the Holiday Inn in Old... See full review

  • Belltown Guy
  • Aug 5, 2014
Staff was great

We really appreciated the professional level of the staff who checked us in and out, took care of... See full review

  • Yankee Man
  • Mar 4, 2014
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport / Old Town is situated in an outstanding location in Americas Finest City. Located just off I-5 and I-8 , guests will appreciate being less than a mile from the San Diego International Airport and minutes away from the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches , as well as many other popular area attractions. Guest will appreciate free parking and complimentary shuttle service to the airport, Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, the Amtrak Train Station, as well as the Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD). Our guests will experience luxurious accommodations and a plethora of amenities including plush new bedding, a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free wired and wireless internet, business center, fitness room, 24-hour deli and convenience store, outdoor heated pool as well as a 24-hour whirlpool. Our exceptional location places you within walking distance of the trolley station, Historic Old Town and a variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Guest will enjoy being a short distance from Balboa Park, Seaport Village, PetCo Park, Qualcomm Stadium, Coronado Island, La Jolla, shopping malls such as Fashion Valley, Mission Valley and Horton Plaza, USS Midway, the Maritime Museum, as well as universities such as USD, SDSU and UCSD.

Hotel Map

32.7452 -117.1871
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport, (SAN), 3.00, MI, E; Los Angeles International Airport, (LAX), 122.00, MI, N; Ontario International Airport, (ONT), 112.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Airport, airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Heritage Park: 0.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 0.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 2.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 2.7 mi
  • Sea World: 2.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 3.2 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 3.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 3.9 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 4.8 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 8.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 10 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 26.4 mi
  • Legoland: 27.5 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (94)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 94
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.6

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Belltown Guy
Seattle, Washington
Aug 5, 2014

Awesome weekend get away hotel!

If you're considering a reasonably priced, clean, and well located hotel - the Holiday Inn in Old Town is perfect! The location is right in the middle of everything. Literally a 8-10 min drive south to downtown/Gaslamp or 8-10 min drive north to Mission Beach/SeaWorld. The ramp to the freeway is a very short drive as well! Josh, the front desk attendant was friendly, accommodating, and had many recommendations on restaurants, places to explore, and even got us a service car to get us around on a night we planned to do some drinking and dancing! I would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eddie V's Prime Seafood has one of the best Rib Eye Steaks I've every had! 22oz bone in that melts in your mouth! Pair it with a local Cabernet and you're all set!

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pastadeka
Seattle, WA
Mar 26, 2010

Nice place to stay

My friend and I went to San Diego on a short spring break trip. Since we had to keep to a budget, this was a nice place to stay. The free breakfast and free shuttles to nearby attractions really helped a lot. The place is located pretty close to a trolley stop and a short walk away from Old town, so its pretty convenient to get around. The only complaint is that the internet did not work in the rooms, so we had to go to the lobby every time we needed to use the internet. Other than that, it is a great, affordable place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many dining options in old town, which is about a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cedar Rapids Ia
Jul 28, 2009

Very Accomadating Hotel

I enjoyed my vacation in San Diego, the hotel was very nice. Having complimentary breakfast was also a plus. They are hard to come by in hotels anymore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Old town was near and there are lots to see nearby if driving also. We enjoyed going to Julian on top of Mt Cuyamaca, the beaches, the drive along Highway 1 (Coast Drive) and shopping at Seaport Village. We also went to Balboa Park and checked out all the artist galleries.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
West Jordan, UT
Jul 9, 2009

Overall Great

This was an overall good trip we loved the free breakfast and the shuttle was also convenient. The hotel employees seemed very helpful and the rooms were pretty clean and nice. You can hear the freeway from the room but it is nice to be within walking distance to downtown Old Town. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The salsa at Cafe Cayote is divine. Also check out the homemade fudge.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jun 25, 2007

Clean and accessible

The Comfort Inn was a great value. The rooms were a decent size, clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly. When we had a problem with our card key a maintanence work immediately took care of it. It is a quick walk to Old Town - plenty of great restaurants and shops. The convenience store in the lobby was great - snacks, sandwichwes even bottles of wine. We rented a car and it is very easy access to the freeway and the free parking is a nice perk. We took a cab downtown and it was only $12 so very convenient to the downtown area if you do not want to drive. There are also trolleys and trains in Old Town. The only drawback was that the fitness center was closed for renevations. Other than that it was a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Old Town. Great Mexican food. Try Old Town Mexican Cafe. Fred's has great happy hour specials and good food.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search