$85 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 9, 2015 Check-out: Mar 11, 2015

Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

3 stars
View map of 1955 San Diego Avenue, San Diego, CA 92110

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
102 reviews
Great stay

The hotel is relatively close to the airport. They have airport shuttles running regularly and Old... See full review

  • Duong N.
  • Jan 12, 2015
good trip

Staff services very good. they are kind and patiently. my boyfriend is uncomfortable and he wants... See full review

  • Boyi L.
  • Jan 6, 2015
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport / Old Town is situated in an outstanding location in Americas Finest City. Located just off I-5 and I-8 , guests will appreciate being less than a mile from the San Diego International Airport and minutes away from the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches , as well as many other popular area attractions. Guest will appreciate free parking and complimentary shuttle service to the airport, Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, the Amtrak Train Station, as well as the Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD). Our guests will experience luxurious accommodations and a plethora of amenities including plush new bedding, a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free wired and wireless internet, business center, fitness room, 24-hour deli and convenience store, outdoor heated pool as well as a 24-hour whirlpool. Our exceptional location places you within walking distance of the trolley station, Historic Old Town and a variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Guest will enjoy being a short distance from Balboa Park, Seaport Village, PetCo Park, Qualcomm Stadium, Coronado Island, La Jolla, shopping malls such as Fashion Valley, Mission Valley and Horton Plaza, USS Midway, the Maritime Museum, as well as universities such as USD, SDSU and UCSD.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Heritage Park: 0.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 0.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 2.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 2.7 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 3.2 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 3.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 3.9 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 4.8 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 8.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 10 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 26.4 mi
  • Legoland: 27.5 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (102)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 102
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carlitosg20t
Business
Naples, FL
Sep 12, 2014

THE BEST HOTEL

The best staff... they are all very nice & helpful, shuttle service with fernando and dolores from breakfast were amazing beds are comfortable & close to everything. I highly recommend "HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS SAN DIEGO AIRPORT"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is close to this hotel.... including Old Town & Downtown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Penny H.
Business
Huntington Beach
Apr 19, 2014

Good hotel but planes from airport will keep you up

The Hotel is in good condition and the rooms are clean. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Traveling to San Diego Zoo and Sea World, good location to both. We could here someone snoring through the wall in the room next to us, highway traffic and airplanes. It did make sleeping quite challenging. I was surprised in the reviews of this hotel no one mentioned the highway noise or planes. I wouldn't stay at this hotel again because of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mayela
Business
Los Angeles
Feb 17, 2014

Good trip! !!

Had a good time, the staff was very friendly, rooms are big n breakfast was yummy, very close to all the restaurant's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jackie From Canada
Business
British Columbia
Jan 7, 2014

Wonderful vacation!

What a deal! For the price we paid, it was awesome! Hot tub, heated outdoor pool, clean, free shuttle to several attractions (Sea world, Zoo, Airport, all parts of Old Town), hot breakfast included... It''s obvious the staff really enjoys what they do. Very professional and helpful yet treated like friends with warm greetings and jokes (only one female needed to loosen up a bit, very serious, but professional). Old Town is the birth place of California so lots of history and close to everything. Car rental place (Economy Car Rental) a block away. Awesome service from Nick (don't rent at the airport. So simple to walk across the street for pick up and drop off and they were SO accommodating and helpful!) Highly recommended to rent and drive up the coast. Chevron gas station a couple blocks from there to refuel. Old Town Trolley close by to go to Mexican Border (Huge Outlet shopping Mall). Very easy to use. We always felt very safe. I was with 2 teen girls and never felt intimidated. Everyone I talked to was amazing! Very friendly place!! I will definitively go back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LP Dad
Business
San Diego, Californina
Jan 2, 2014

Family Getaway Disaster

We went to my brother's Marine Graduation. The location is perfect for the event. Best yet my family stayed in a completely different Hotel so when the huge family argument happened, I was at the beach doing my own thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
new grandpa1027
Business
Tampa, FL
Dec 20, 2013

Great Value, centrally located

Friendly staff. Free shuttle to Old Town almost a mile away with numerous restaurants. Free parking. Most attractions within a few miles in all directions. Why pay high prices for stuff you don't need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Holiday travelers22
Business
Richmond, Virginia
Nov 30, 2013

everything we needed

We were visiting family for Thanksgiving and needed a place that could accommodate our handicapped mom as well as be in the right location for local family to transport us back and forth conveniently. This hotel provided everything we needed and was very comfortable, even with our rooms on the freeway side of the hotel. The bed was super comfortable with plenty of pillows, the space was big enough, the air conditioner didn't wake us up like a freight train in the middle of the night, staff was helpful and friendly, and breakfast was good. Our mom loved the place - and that's very unusual. She said her room and bathroom size were "huge" and she slept like a log on a comfortable mattress. It's just a short walk to Old Town or up the hill to the Mission Hills neighborhood for a challenging hike. My only complaint is the carpet in the room was filthy. My feet were black just walking from the bathroom across to the bed to put my socks on. Gross! Aside from that, this was a great place and we'd happily stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For authentic Mexican fast food, try Las Brasas a block or so away. Ugly orange and yellow building, great fast food, and cheap! Another place the locals go is El Indio, which is a longer walk or a short drive. Their chicken and cheese quesadilla is to die for.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debbylrobinson
Business
Sandia, Tx.
Sep 8, 2013

Very nice stay

Hotel was very nice and staff was very helpful!! Shuttle bus was wonderful and met all our needs. Will stay here again next time we visit California.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
enso
Business
NJ
Jul 15, 2013

memorable getaway

The staff are friendly and helpful. although the parking space are so tight, we still got a parking space when we got to the hotel late at night. The location is perfect for our family getaway since i have 2 small kids we only have to drive a few minutes just to get where we wanted to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Russian36
Business
Chicago
Jun 16, 2013

Nice and close to airpirt

We were only there for one night. The location was nice but our room faced the I-5 freeway very loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top