$95 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

3 stars
View map of 1955 San Diego Avenue, San Diego, CA 92110

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
112 reviews
nice experience

was here for a wedding. nice place with easy access to downtown and the beach. See full review

  • Jazzy jazz23
  • May 6, 2015
Personal trip

This was my first trip to California and I would stay at the Holiday Inn Express again. People were... See full review

  • Michael A.
  • Mar 13, 2015
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport / Old Town is situated in an outstanding location in Americas Finest City. Located just off I-5 and I-8 , guests will appreciate being less than a mile from the San Diego International Airport and minutes away from the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches , as well as many other popular area attractions. Guest will appreciate free parking and complimentary shuttle service to the airport, Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, the Amtrak Train Station, as well as the Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD). Our guests will experience luxurious accommodations and a plethora of amenities including plush new bedding, a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free wired and wireless internet, business center, fitness room, 24-hour deli and convenience store, outdoor heated pool as well as a 24-hour whirlpool. Our exceptional location places you within walking distance of the trolley station, Historic Old Town and a variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Guest will enjoy being a short distance from Balboa Park, Seaport Village, PetCo Park, Qualcomm Stadium, Coronado Island, La Jolla, shopping malls such as Fashion Valley, Mission Valley and Horton Plaza, USS Midway, the Maritime Museum, as well as universities such as USD, SDSU and UCSD.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Heritage Park: 0.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 0.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 2.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 2.7 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 3.2 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 3.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 3.9 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 4.8 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 8.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 10 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 26.4 mi
  • Legoland: 27.5 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
112 out of 112
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jackie From Canada
Business
British Columbia
Jan 7, 2014

Wonderful vacation!

What a deal! For the price we paid, it was awesome! Hot tub, heated outdoor pool, clean, free shuttle to several attractions (Sea world, Zoo, Airport, all parts of Old Town), hot breakfast included... It''s obvious the staff really enjoys what they do. Very professional and helpful yet treated like friends with warm greetings and jokes (only one female needed to loosen up a bit, very serious, but professional). Old Town is the birth place of California so lots of history and close to everything. Car rental place (Economy Car Rental) a block away. Awesome service from Nick (don't rent at the airport. So simple to walk across the street for pick up and drop off and they were SO accommodating and helpful!) Highly recommended to rent and drive up the coast. Chevron gas station a couple blocks from there to refuel. Old Town Trolley close by to go to Mexican Border (Huge Outlet shopping Mall). Very easy to use. We always felt very safe. I was with 2 teen girls and never felt intimidated. Everyone I talked to was amazing! Very friendly place!! I will definitively go back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yankee Man
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 4, 2014

Staff was great

We really appreciated the professional level of the staff who checked us in and out, took care of waking us up, providing breakfast (even though we needed to leave before it officially opened) and getting us back to the airport for our next leg of our very long trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norfolk, VA
Aug 25, 2007

excellent stay

the staff was excellent,anytime we would call no matter where we were they would come pick us up. take us to the base when needed, to and from the airport. just really happy staff, made u feel welcome and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

old town like 5 blocks away

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
beetlejuice
Business
Texas, USA
Sep 8, 2011

marine graduation

hotel was great, staff were great breakfast was very good free shuttle to the base, old town and zoo the drivers were all very nice and helpful even picked us up at airport ,could'nt been any better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Proud Mom of 2 Marines
Business
New York Mills, MN
Nov 12, 2012

Marine Graduation Vacation

I would say this was the Best most accommodating Hotel I've stayed at. Employees were very helpful and very pleasant. Breakfast was WONDERFUL. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. THANKS for a Great Stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If your going to the Marines Base it is a short walk. If you want to go to Old Town Shopping this is also a pleasant walk. Easy access in and out via the Highway for additional site seeing.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dahlhome
Business
Fargo, ND
Feb 14, 2013

Very nice and clean.

Close to SD Airport, clean and staff was very friendly and efficent. They made arrangements for us to get taxi to airport before 5 am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Close to airport.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Susan1970
Business
Canal Winchester, OH
Apr 12, 2013

Great deal with great amenities!

I was really pleased with this hotel. Very clean, 99% friendly staff, close to Old Town and the airport, and best of all, an on-call driver who picked me up in Old Town after dinner! Nice room (although mattresses good but not great); decent breakfast, pretty patio outside (although I didn't discover this until I was leaving), and a fully stocked mini-mart inside the hotel. A great deal for the price and I would definitely consider returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

For families, definitely go to the Momon Battalion Museum in Old Town. What a great, interactive museum for kids and families, and it's free. (They don't push the religion practically at all, so don't worry about that.) Delightful tour guides at a state-of-the-art museum. Well worth the walk and they have coupons for local restaurants.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Arshi HQ
Business
Pakistan
Sep 18, 2013

Mature couple dream holiday

Our experience of stay at this very congenial and environmentally relaxed place was doubly increased by proactive assistance of Jose and Josh (the staff members at the front desk). The place is ideally located for memorable time at the Old Town which we may have missed had we stayed elsewhere. The location, amenities and attitude of the staff of the place is overwhelming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Old Town a unique experience is worth spending a relaxed evening and excellent Mexican meal

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
new grandpa1027
Business
Tampa, FL
Dec 20, 2013

Great Value, centrally located

Friendly staff. Free shuttle to Old Town almost a mile away with numerous restaurants. Free parking. Most attractions within a few miles in all directions. Why pay high prices for stuff you don't need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shashe
Business
Vilonia, Arkansas
Dec 12, 2010

The most friendly Hotel staff ever

We went to see our son graduate from Marine Corps Boot Camp. The hotel staff and the shuttle drivers made us feel like they were a extended part of our family. The rooms were very clean and everyone was very professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top