$105 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

3 stars
1955 SAN DIEGO AVENUE, SAN DIEGO, CA 92110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
135 reviews
Staff was great

We really appreciated the professional level of the staff who checked us in and out, took care of... See full review

  • Yankee Man
  • Mar 4, 2014
Wonderful vacation!

What a deal! For the price we paid, it was awesome! Hot tub, heated outdoor pool, clean, free... See full review

  • Jackie From Canada
  • Jan 7, 2014
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport / Old Town is situated in an outstanding location in Americas Finest City. Located just off I-5 and I-8 , guests will appreciate being less than a mile from the San Diego International Airport and minutes away from the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches , as well as many other popular area attractions. Guest will appreciate free parking and complimentary shuttle service to the airport, Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, the Amtrak Train Station, as well as the Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD). Our guests will experience luxurious accommodations and a plethora of amenities including plush new bedding, a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free wired and wireless internet, business center, fitness room, 24-hour deli and convenience store, outdoor heated pool as well as a 24-hour whirlpool. Our exceptional location places you within walking distance of the trolley station, Historic Old Town and a variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Guest will enjoy being a short distance from Balboa Park, Seaport Village, PetCo Park, Qualcomm Stadium, Coronado Island, La Jolla, shopping malls such as Fashion Valley, Mission Valley and Horton Plaza, USS Midway, the Maritime Museum, as well as universities such as USD, SDSU and UCSD.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

32.7452 -117.1871
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport, (SAN), 3.00, MI, E; Ontario International Airport, (ONT), 112.00, MI, NW; Los Angeles International Airport, (LAX), 122.00, MI, N;
Area description
Airport, airport

Nearby points of interest

  • Heritage Park: 0.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 0.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 2.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 2.7 mi
  • Sea World: 2.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 3.2 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 3.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 3.9 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 4.8 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 8.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 10 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 26.4 mi
  • Legoland: 27.5 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (135)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Mateo, CA
Feb 8, 2011

Wonderful value, Comfort Inn in Old Town

The hotel is centrally located for easy access to many parts of San Diego and actually was close enough to Old Town for a great afternoon walk. The value is excellent, with breakfast included and free parking. The beds were extremely comfortable and the wall mounted TV was great, so we enjoyed the Super Bowl game just settled in the hotel room. And the hotel even has a little store, so we were able to get snacks easily for the game. Wonderful experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

So much was provided in the hotel from breakfast to snack store that we did not have to drive away until we were ready for sights around town. And the easy freeway access made all travel a snap.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nixa,Missouri
Jan 23, 2011

Unbeatable for what I needed for my stay

very clean ,pretty relaxing and quiet . I was there for my grandsons's graduation from Marine Corp basic , went to Corando Island and to the Ocean lots . very nice trip my stay was great and I enjoyed it very much ,I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Not a lot of eaterys real close to the motel however they had a great little convience store in the motel for snacks and etc.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nixa,Missouri
Jan 23, 2011

Unbeatable for what I needed for my stay

very clean ,pretty relaxing and quiet . I was there for my grandsons's graduation from Marine Corp basic , went to Corando Island and to the Ocean lots . very nice trip my stay was great and I enjoyed it very much ,I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Not a lot of eaterys real close to the motel however they had a great little convience store in the motel for snacks and etc.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
exotica
Wa. state
Jan 18, 2011

Walking distance to Old Town San Diego

Easy access parking, hard to find in the area. It is right on the freeway , close to the airport, quite noisy, smoggy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
exotica
Wa. state
Jan 18, 2011

Walking distance to Old Town San Diego

Easy access parking, hard to find in the area. It is right on the freeway , close to the airport, quite noisy, smoggy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rapid City, SD
Dec 22, 2010

Easy access to MCRD

We were there for a graduation from MCRD. The hotel was ok for our purpose. There was damage to floor tiles in our bathroom and I saw a cricket in the room. The ice machine areas were rather tacky/dirty looking. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly...we loved [...], our shuttle driver and all around good guy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Great Mexican food within walking distance in Old Towne.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rapid City, SD
Dec 22, 2010

Easy access to MCRD

We were there for a graduation from MCRD. The hotel was ok for our purpose. There was damage to floor tiles in our bathroom and I saw a cricket in the room. The ice machine areas were rather tacky/dirty looking. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly...we loved [...], our shuttle driver and all around good guy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Great Mexican food within walking distance in Old Towne.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shashe
Vilonia, Arkansas
Dec 12, 2010

The most friendly Hotel staff ever

We went to see our son graduate from Marine Corps Boot Camp. The hotel staff and the shuttle drivers made us feel like they were a extended part of our family. The rooms were very clean and everyone was very professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shashe
Vilonia, Arkansas
Dec 12, 2010

The most friendly Hotel staff ever

We went to see our son graduate from Marine Corps Boot Camp. The hotel staff and the shuttle drivers made us feel like they were a extended part of our family. The rooms were very clean and everyone was very professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY, NY
Nov 21, 2010

Nice place, great staff, so-so location

This was a very nice chain hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was very comfortable and the price was right. It compares very well with other experiences I've had through[...]. The only negative is that other than Old Town, it's not that near other SD locations, although they had a good shuttle service. San Diego has a trolley system that is ok, but it's really more of a car city. The Comfort Inn has free parking, though, so that helps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Old Town is fun and nearby. The Mexican restaurants there are quite good and the State Park has some very nice stores.

Back to menu Return to top