$118 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

3 stars
1955 SAN DIEGO AVENUE, SAN DIEGO, CA 92110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
137 reviews
Staff was great

We really appreciated the professional level of the staff who checked us in and out, took care of... See full review

  • Yankee Man
  • Mar 4, 2014
Wonderful vacation!

What a deal! For the price we paid, it was awesome! Hot tub, heated outdoor pool, clean, free... See full review

  • Jackie From Canada
  • Jan 7, 2014
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport / Old Town is situated in an outstanding location in Americas Finest City. Located just off I-5 and I-8 , guests will appreciate being less than a mile from the San Diego International Airport and minutes away from the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches , as well as many other popular area attractions. Guest will appreciate free parking and complimentary shuttle service to the airport, Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, the Amtrak Train Station, as well as the Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD). Our guests will experience luxurious accommodations and a plethora of amenities including plush new bedding, a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free wired and wireless internet, business center, fitness room, 24-hour deli and convenience store, outdoor heated pool as well as a 24-hour whirlpool. Our exceptional location places you within walking distance of the trolley station, Historic Old Town and a variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Guest will enjoy being a short distance from Balboa Park, Seaport Village, PetCo Park, Qualcomm Stadium, Coronado Island, La Jolla, shopping malls such as Fashion Valley, Mission Valley and Horton Plaza, USS Midway, the Maritime Museum, as well as universities such as USD, SDSU and UCSD.

Hotel Map

32.7452 -117.1871
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport, (SAN), 3.00, MI, E; Ontario International Airport, (ONT), 112.00, MI, NW; Los Angeles International Airport, (LAX), 122.00, MI, N;
Area description
Airport, airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Heritage Park: 0.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 0.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 2.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 2.7 mi
  • Sea World: 2.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 3.2 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 3.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 3.9 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 4.8 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 8.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 10 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 26.4 mi
  • Legoland: 27.5 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (137)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
137 out of 137
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Russian36
Chicago
Jun 16, 2013

Nice and close to airpirt

We were only there for one night. The location was nice but our room faced the I-5 freeway very loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LP Dad
San Diego, Californina
May 29, 2013

Marine Graduation

We stayed at the hotel with two little kids to attend a marine graduation. Perfect location to the recruit depot. When the children needed to sleep we could go back to the room to nap. The rooms had a nice big closet to put our three year old in to sleep, and the bathroom was big enough for our six month old. The hotel is real close to a nice Mexican food stand that serves great Mexican food. I went there a couple times and each time I ordered the same thing but got something different. It was good though. I would recommend going to get burritos at the stand. They were good. All in all I recommend this Mexican food stand for eating food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

In N Out Burger is near the Hotel.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandmom Susie
San Diego, CA
Apr 28, 2013

handy location, helpful staff

Located just a15-minute walk from the heart of Old Town and within view of the airport, the Holiday Inn Express Airport-Old Town is a convenient starting point for exploring San Diego. The hotel's staff will do their best to make your visit a pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Susan1970
Business
Canal Winchester, OH
Apr 12, 2013

Great deal with great amenities!

I was really pleased with this hotel. Very clean, 99% friendly staff, close to Old Town and the airport, and best of all, an on-call driver who picked me up in Old Town after dinner! Nice room (although mattresses good but not great); decent breakfast, pretty patio outside (although I didn't discover this until I was leaving), and a fully stocked mini-mart inside the hotel. A great deal for the price and I would definitely consider returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

For families, definitely go to the Momon Battalion Museum in Old Town. What a great, interactive museum for kids and families, and it's free. (They don't push the religion practically at all, so don't worry about that.) Delightful tour guides at a state-of-the-art museum. Well worth the walk and they have coupons for local restaurants.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dahlhome
Fargo, ND
Feb 14, 2013

Very nice and clean.

Close to SD Airport, clean and staff was very friendly and efficent. They made arrangements for us to get taxi to airport before 5 am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Close to airport.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Proud Mom of 2 Marines
New York Mills, MN
Nov 12, 2012

Marine Graduation Vacation

I would say this was the Best most accommodating Hotel I've stayed at. Employees were very helpful and very pleasant. Breakfast was WONDERFUL. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. THANKS for a Great Stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If your going to the Marines Base it is a short walk. If you want to go to Old Town Shopping this is also a pleasant walk. Easy access in and out via the Highway for additional site seeing.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WesF
Texas
Nov 11, 2012

Just right

If you are attending an event at MCRD then this is hotel is the place to stay. Very Close to Base and airport. Very clean rooms, excellent staff ( Jose ), a 24 hour small needful items store in the hotel, and very quick transportation service to and from the airport and or base. My only small Cons are the curtains in the rooms do not close all the way and due to the location of the hi way to the hotel there is some traffic noise. Overall great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LangVanUS
Business
Denver, CO
Oct 11, 2012

Good business trip

This is one if the best hotel that I have ever been. Comfort room and friendly staffs. I will come back on my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
julch
Denver
Sep 19, 2012

USMC graduation

Staff is very nice. Even though it is right off the highway and our window faced the highway it wasn't loud. Shuttle on morning of graduation was timely and easy. Close enough to walk to Old Town and to MCRD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

went and saw the Midway museum down by Seaport village. Lot's of cool old airplanes.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spring Break Mom and Me
Minnesota, USA
Apr 6, 2012

It got better

We picked this hotel for the location being close to the airport, Old Town, the zoo and Sea World. The hotel had a shuttle and the drivers were great. We took the regularly scheduled shuttle to the zoo and Sea World. The hotel is located right next to the Pacific Highway. The rooms next to the highway had a lot of road noise. After one night in that room we asked to be moved across the hall. The rooms next to the highway had two beds but the other side of the hotel had only one bed rooms. That worked for us and the rest of the stay was much quieter. The staff was fabulous! Our request to be moved was handled quickly and politely. The shuttle drivers were professional and kind. The front desk staff was helpful with suggestions and directions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Little Italy is a short, non freeway drive away. We ate at Mona Lisa's based on a recommendation of the front desk staff. Great food and authentic decor. Neat small grocery next door too.

Back to menu Return to top