$92 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

3 stars
1955 San Diego Avenue, San Diego, CA 92110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
98 reviews
First time in San Diego

The hotel was very nice. Clean, the staff was so friendly....easy to get around. My room was facing... See full review

  • AmyJW
  • Oct 13, 2014
First time in Old Town San Diego/Celebrating BF birthday

This was my first time in Old Town and I loved it. We were of walking distance to Old Town and the... See full review

  • Lou enjoying life
  • Oct 10, 2014
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport / Old Town is situated in an outstanding location in Americas Finest City. Located just off I-5 and I-8 , guests will appreciate being less than a mile from the San Diego International Airport and minutes away from the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches , as well as many other popular area attractions. Guest will appreciate free parking and complimentary shuttle service to the airport, Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, the Amtrak Train Station, as well as the Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD). Our guests will experience luxurious accommodations and a plethora of amenities including plush new bedding, a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free wired and wireless internet, business center, fitness room, 24-hour deli and convenience store, outdoor heated pool as well as a 24-hour whirlpool. Our exceptional location places you within walking distance of the trolley station, Historic Old Town and a variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Guest will enjoy being a short distance from Balboa Park, Seaport Village, PetCo Park, Qualcomm Stadium, Coronado Island, La Jolla, shopping malls such as Fashion Valley, Mission Valley and Horton Plaza, USS Midway, the Maritime Museum, as well as universities such as USD, SDSU and UCSD.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Heritage Park: 0.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 0.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 2.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 2.7 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 3.2 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 3.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 3.9 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 4.8 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 8.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 10 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 26.4 mi
  • Legoland: 27.5 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (98)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JohnVegas
Business
Las Vegas
Jun 25, 2014

Not Great

Only stay here if you can get a really good room rate (under $130). Otherwise much better value available elsewhere. Decent free breakfast included. Fitness Room is a joke. WiFi signal is weak and unstable. Alleged hard-wire network is NOT available in most rooms. Some of the rooms are accessed from outside and noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Taco stand down the street is surprisingly good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Epic traveler1
Business
South
May 30, 2014

Good location for conference

The hotel is well kept. The shuttle service to the conference center was key. The staff is the highlight of the hotel. All were curteous, friendly and genuine. The workout room is very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jasonjj
Business
Hawaii
May 21, 2014

Clean Rooms

Clean Rooms. Not a great neighborhood but great mexican food across the street. Shuttle Service is nice. Great Staff. Noisy if on freeway side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Parakeet
Business
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
May 5, 2014

Great Location, Great Staff

The staff from the front desk to the shuttle drivers were outstanding, friendly and eager to assist. The hotel is squeezed into its location, small pool and fitness center, but only a nice 15 minute walk to Old Town. First vacation where I did not rent a car. Hotel shuttle service to and from airport, Old Town, Zoo and Museums, Josh, the first shuttle driver was great in his enthusiasm to get you comfortably to the hotel and explain anything you needed to know about getting around SD. Enterprise Is a couple of blocks away if you decide to rent a car, but the trains will take you to Little Italy, Harbor Area, Gaslamp District, Old Town,..all on the Green Line. Easy to use. Washington station near hotel. If first time to SD, recommend taking Trolly Tour from Old Towne. Nardated tour of the city, can jump on and off at any point from 9AM to 5 PM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take Trolly Tour of the city if first time to SD.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Penny H.
Business
Huntington Beach
Apr 19, 2014

Good hotel but planes from airport will keep you up

The Hotel is in good condition and the rooms are clean. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Traveling to San Diego Zoo and Sea World, good location to both. We could here someone snoring through the wall in the room next to us, highway traffic and airplanes. It did make sleeping quite challenging. I was surprised in the reviews of this hotel no one mentioned the highway noise or planes. I wouldn't stay at this hotel again because of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dawn MH
Business
Nebraska
Apr 8, 2014

April Stay

Good value - breakfast was good, free parking - room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Irene Navy Mom
Business
San Diego, California
Mar 24, 2014

Great stay

We went to San Diego to visit our son serving in the Navy. We were Greeted by friendly staff along with professionalism. The hotel is located about 20 minute short walk to the Old time shopping area. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The only con is the rooms close to the expressway are noisy. We definitely stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M Dee
Business
Tennessee
Mar 22, 2014

A little too noisy

The overall impression is good: staff ( the shuttle driver Fernando is very helpful and will tell you everything you need to know with a great smile), desk reception is friendly and professional, breakfast was good with a good variety of choices and the room was comfortable but noisy..it was looking on the interstate so you can just imagine the constant noise .Over all I was pleased with my stay and next time I need a room I will stay there in a room on the street where I hope it will be quieter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brian Solar Commercial
Business
Denver, CO
Mar 13, 2014

Good location and decently priced for value

I stayed here for work, which was also near the airport, and my bosses' house, which is in Old Town. Great location, and you can tell it has been recently renovated inside. I will say that I stayed on the 1st floor (actually underneath the lobby level), on the side closest to the freeway (which also happens to be side closest to ocean and city view.) If I stay here again, I'll ask for a room on the other side to muffle the early morning freeway rush traffic noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yankee Man
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 4, 2014

Staff was great

We really appreciated the professional level of the staff who checked us in and out, took care of waking us up, providing breakfast (even though we needed to leave before it officially opened) and getting us back to the airport for our next leg of our very long trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top