$94 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

3 stars
View map of 1955 San Diego Avenue, San Diego, CA 92110

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
103 reviews
Personal trip

This was my first trip to California and I would stay at the Holiday Inn Express again. People were... See full review

  • Michael A.
  • Mar 13, 2015
Great stay

The hotel is relatively close to the airport. They have airport shuttles running regularly and Old... See full review

  • Duong N.
  • Jan 12, 2015
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport / Old Town is situated in an outstanding location in Americas Finest City. Located just off I-5 and I-8 , guests will appreciate being less than a mile from the San Diego International Airport and minutes away from the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches , as well as many other popular area attractions. Guest will appreciate free parking and complimentary shuttle service to the airport, Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, the Amtrak Train Station, as well as the Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD). Our guests will experience luxurious accommodations and a plethora of amenities including plush new bedding, a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free wired and wireless internet, business center, fitness room, 24-hour deli and convenience store, outdoor heated pool as well as a 24-hour whirlpool. Our exceptional location places you within walking distance of the trolley station, Historic Old Town and a variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Guest will enjoy being a short distance from Balboa Park, Seaport Village, PetCo Park, Qualcomm Stadium, Coronado Island, La Jolla, shopping malls such as Fashion Valley, Mission Valley and Horton Plaza, USS Midway, the Maritime Museum, as well as universities such as USD, SDSU and UCSD.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Heritage Park: 0.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 0.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 2.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 2.7 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 3.2 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 3.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 3.9 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 4.8 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 8.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 10 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 26.4 mi
  • Legoland: 27.5 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
103 out of 103
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
beetlejuice
Texas, USA
Sep 8, 2011

marine graduation

hotel was great, free shuttle to base , old town, zoo our3 days were great the staff were great would like to came back again and would only stay at this holiday inn. BJ

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michael A.
Business
Old Orchard Beach
Mar 13, 2015

Personal trip

This was my first trip to California and I would stay at the Holiday Inn Express again. People were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M Dee
Business
Memphis
Feb 21, 2015

Pleasant experience

Good staff and good room for the money. No problem . Would stay there again if needed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Susanne W.
Business
milwaukee
Jan 20, 2015

end portion of a very long trip

nice and quiet. comfortable, close to the airport. close to nice restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

very friendly and helpful staff. Made us feel very much at home

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Duong N.
Business
Villanova
Jan 12, 2015

Great stay

The hotel is relatively close to the airport. They have airport shuttles running regularly and Old Town shuttle that will take you to Old Town, which is about 7 blocks away. The breakfast is pretty decent. There are some restaurants in walking distance too! The room is fully equipped and is very modern! The bathroom was great, especially the shower. Would definitely recommend people to stay here if you have early flights or just want to live close to Old Town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boyi L.
Business
east lansing
Jan 6, 2015

good trip

Staff services very good. they are kind and patiently. my boyfriend is uncomfortable and he wants to eats some rice soup. Staff help me try to find a chinese restaurant and call a taxi fir me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AmyJW
Business
Iowa
Oct 13, 2014

First time in San Diego

The hotel was very nice. Clean, the staff was so friendly....easy to get around. My room was facing the interstate so I could hear that, but I was so excited to be in town I didn't mind. I could see planes taking off from the airport which was fun. Couldn't hear them, just see them. Overall, great hotel. I would stay here again in a heart beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lou enjoying life
Business
Las Vegas
Oct 10, 2014

First time in Old Town San Diego/Celebrating BF birthday

This was my first time in Old Town and I loved it. We were of walking distance to Old Town and the walk was maybe like 10 minutes. We stayed 3 nights. Our room was on the other side of the highway so it was quiet. The room was super clean and the front desk employees were super nice and accomadating. We used the courtesy shuttle bus to and from the airport and the driver even picked us up at a restaurant at Old Town when it got to late to walk back. My boyfriend loved the complimentary breakfast. He said they had so much to choose from. I'm not a breakfast person but since he loved it, that made me happy. I had such a great time and plan on coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Coyote Cafe is a great restaurant. Service was excellent and food was delish. Great prices too:)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RStraveler
Business
Seattle
Sep 29, 2014

fantastic service

Excellent reception staff and shuttle services. Special thank to Elia at the counter, provided adequate information about guest services. And special thanks to Fernando, the shuttle driver. The free breakfast buffet was very good also. They made our 4 days stay very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carlitosg20t
Business
Naples, FL
Sep 12, 2014

THE BEST HOTEL

The best staff... they are all very nice & helpful, shuttle service with fernando and dolores from breakfast were amazing beds are comfortable & close to everything. I highly recommend "HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS SAN DIEGO AIRPORT"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is close to this hotel.... including Old Town & Downtown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MR24
Business
Columbus Ohio
Aug 24, 2014

Great for airport

Nice hotel. Close to the airport but you don't feel like you are crammed under the flight path like at some other hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top