$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO-SEA WORLD AREA

3 stars
View map of 3950 Jupiter St,(I-8 & Sports Arena Blvd), San Diego, CA 92110

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
59 reviews
Enjoyed the very brief stay (2 nights)

The hotel was in proximity to our Son who we were there to visit in the first place. The trip was... See full review

  • Edward S.
  • Dec 29, 2014
very pleasant stay

Hotel was easy to find . The man working at the front desk was very nice and courteous :) he had... See full review

  • dani and holly besties
  • Jun 18, 2014
Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego - SeaWorld! And what a smart choice it is! The Holiday Inn Express San Diego - SeaWorld Hotel is the perfect solution for families and business travelers alike. Our proximity to all the world-class destinations the city is famous for - less than 1 mile from SeaWorld, 5 miles to San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, downtown San Diego, San Diego Old Town and the San Diego Waterfront - makes this an ideal location for seeing all our beautiful city has to offer. Convenience is the name of the game when you are just a short drive from the San Diego Airport, Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD) and close to many local companies like Lockheed Martin, CSC, SAIC, CACI, EDS, and SPAWAR. Hotel features include complimentary hot full breakfast buffet, free local phone calls, free high-speed wireless Internet, flat screen TVs, outdoor heated pool and whirlpool, and on-site guest laundry. Visit beautiful San Diego and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego-SeaWorld Area . We are a 100% non-smoking property!

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO-SEA WORLD AREA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Hospitality Point: 0.9 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 1.4 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 1.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 2.1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.6 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 3.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.9 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 0.9 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 1.4 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 1.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 2.1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.6 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 3.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.9 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.5 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 4.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.7 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 4.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.9 mi
  • PETCO Park: 5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.4 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 10.6 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 26.1 mi
  • Legoland: 26.3 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,120.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO-SEA WORLD AREA

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.6
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO-SEA WORLD AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mn.Snowbird
Business
Mpls,Mn.
Jan 30, 2013

Great place to stay !

Staff was very friendly and helpful. always a greeting when you come or go.Coffee always available in lobby cookies too in afternoon. Every area seemed new and fresh,lobby, halls, our room.We know we will stay there again as we go once or twice a year to San diego .Loved it !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO-SEA WORLD AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fo fam
Business
Fontana, CA
Aug 9, 2013

San Diego fun

Near sea world and old town. Breakfast and services were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO-SEA WORLD AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
phx
Apr 23, 2009

Good value

great location for Mission Bay, Sea World, Airport. Great full service breakfast, excellent staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO-SEA WORLD AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CPA taxman
Business
Winston-Salem, NC
May 15, 2011

Easy access to downtown and to work

The room was newly refurbished and looked nice. The bed was comfortable. Hotel staff was very courteous. I would return to this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO-SEA WORLD AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Dec 31, 2010

Best kept secret

Highly recommend this hotel if you have a car. What a find! This was my first stay in Holiday Inn Express and I was very impressed. The location is close to everything, super easy access to freeway. Less than 5 min to Sea world or beach and about a bit less than 10 min to downtown. It may not be the best looking area, but there are a lot of businesses, strip malls, abundance of restraurants. I chose this hotel because of the proximity to all the action, free parking/breakfast (this is very rare nowdays) and updated rooms. Rooms are beautiful, spacious, very modern with dark colors (the picture posted here is dated). Equipped with nice furniture, refrigerator, microwave and AC/heater. TV was a tube one but it's ok, I didn't go to San Diego to watch TV. Beds were very comfortable with clean sheets. Spacious bathroom as well, with good water pressure. It may be a small hotel but has all the convenience such as coin-op laundry and a computer with a printer at the lobby. Staff is very nice and welcoming. They cook fresh breakfast every morning; hot food such as eggs & bacon/sausage and cold items like cereals, baked goods, fruits, yogurt, juices were available as well. The line can get long and the scene can become quite chaotic (staff was very patient though) if you get there late so I suggest you go down early for breakfast. Oh did I mention you get free wireless internet in your room??? This hotel is perfect!!! All of this for much much less! I am definitely staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you miss pancakes for breakfast, there is a restaurant called Du-par within couple blocks - they have good (& huge) pancakes and open 24/7. Also, if you like Pho, try Pho Point Loma & Grill on Midway Dr, also a quick drive from hotel. Best pho I had!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO-SEA WORLD AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gilbert, AZ
Jul 25, 2008

Had a great time, is family friendly

The early complementary breakfast is helpful,for those that don't want to leave the hotel. Stay away from the powdered scrambled eggs(yuck), but the egg omelets were great but I only seen those one time out of the week I stayed. The rest of the breaksfast choices were great and fresh. The parking garage is located under the hotel, parking can be tight. Would have liked some kind of light to lead the way to the bathroom(bring a nightlight for little ones). The price of the room were a bit high, considering it wasn't on the 4th of July week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There are lots of restaurants(olive garden, chilis, ihop) located down the strip but be careful, the streets have one ways and no U turns, which can make it frustrating.(bring a map or tourbook) Hotel is half a mile from sea world. Drugstore is across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO-SEA WORLD AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 17, 2007

For a good night's sleep

Warm welcome. Fairly large room. Clean, but simple. Basic bathroom amenities. Downside: one sink for two people. No light lightswitch at door. Not the right place for finicky people, but we slept well both nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Several excellent inexpensive restaurants in the shopping center across the street. Very short drive to SEA WORLD. A block from freeway entrance. Try Phil's BarBQ 2 blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO-SEA WORLD AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 15, 2007

Nice Hotel

The Holiday Inn Express-Sea World was a nice hotel. The room was large with a frig and microwave which worked well for my 9 month old son and me. It had a couch just for lounging as well. It was located in somewhat of a residential area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of tiny eateries across the street: Mexican, Japanese, Teriyaki, Fish Tacos, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO-SEA WORLD AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
Apr 22, 2007

close to sea world

We were looking for a motel close to Sea World where we could crash after a long day. This hotel was great. The location was where we wanted it and the room was large and clean and the price was right. I'd definetly recommend it to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO-SEA WORLD AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 19, 2008

Everything and everyone was great!

The staff as well as the facilities were always very nice, very helpful, not only were th rooms clean but very comfortable and cozy. The food was very good, plentiful and appetizing. We are hoping to stay there again soon. Disneyland was not far away and Disneyland was probably 100 miles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Beaches, Sea World, Shopping and restaurants as well as Sea Port Village and downtown San Diego.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top