$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 13, 2015 Check-out: Apr 14, 2015

Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO-SEA WORLD AREA

3 stars
View map of 3950 Jupiter St,(I-8 & Sports Arena Blvd), San Diego, CA 92110

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO-SEA WORLD AREA

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.7
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO-SEA WORLD AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
daniellea
Business
Pasadena, CA, USA
Dec 28, 2011

Friendly and clean

when we arrived, we were a little disappointed that the hotel is kinda small. but the staff was friendly, and the room was clean. the crib that we requested was better than other hotels that we stayed before. breakfast was pretty good too. overall, it's a good experience. we might stay there again if we go to san diego next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO-SEA WORLD AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ibelindy
Business
Bakersfield, Ca
Nov 14, 2011

Charger Game

Very clean room. Could have had a few more parking spots hard to park with suv. Hotel sent security out though to show us where we could park car. So it ended up working out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO-SEA WORLD AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Racehawk
Business
Loma Linda, CA, USA
Nov 13, 2011

Overnight Concert stay

Hotel was clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO-SEA WORLD AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SeaW
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Nice and clean room, great location

Great location if you're going to Sea World! The room was nice and clean, has everything you need. Simple, but comfortable. I'll stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO-SEA WORLD AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CPA taxman
Business
Winston-Salem, NC
May 15, 2011

Easy access to downtown and to work

The room was newly refurbished and looked nice. The bed was comfortable. Hotel staff was very courteous. I would return to this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO-SEA WORLD AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Simi Valley, California
Apr 24, 2011

Beauiful room for the price

The hotel was clean and newly remodeled the area wasn't the best area but close to San Diego Zoo and Seaworld the staff was great and had a really nice buffet breakfast I would stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO-SEA WORLD AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Dec 31, 2010

Best kept secret

Highly recommend this hotel if you have a car. What a find! This was my first stay in Holiday Inn Express and I was very impressed. The location is close to everything, super easy access to freeway. Less than 5 min to Sea world or beach and about a bit less than 10 min to downtown. It may not be the best looking area, but there are a lot of businesses, strip malls, abundance of restraurants. I chose this hotel because of the proximity to all the action, free parking/breakfast (this is very rare nowdays) and updated rooms. Rooms are beautiful, spacious, very modern with dark colors (the picture posted here is dated). Equipped with nice furniture, refrigerator, microwave and AC/heater. TV was a tube one but it's ok, I didn't go to San Diego to watch TV. Beds were very comfortable with clean sheets. Spacious bathroom as well, with good water pressure. It may be a small hotel but has all the convenience such as coin-op laundry and a computer with a printer at the lobby. Staff is very nice and welcoming. They cook fresh breakfast every morning; hot food such as eggs & bacon/sausage and cold items like cereals, baked goods, fruits, yogurt, juices were available as well. The line can get long and the scene can become quite chaotic (staff was very patient though) if you get there late so I suggest you go down early for breakfast. Oh did I mention you get free wireless internet in your room??? This hotel is perfect!!! All of this for much much less! I am definitely staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you miss pancakes for breakfast, there is a restaurant called Du-par within couple blocks - they have good (& huge) pancakes and open 24/7. Also, if you like Pho, try Pho Point Loma & Grill on Midway Dr, also a quick drive from hotel. Best pho I had!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO-SEA WORLD AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
karolil
Business
San Jose, CA
Dec 27, 2010

Good Stay

Very good hotel. Close proximity to Sea world. Short drive to Sea Port Village. Lots of restaurants around the place. Overall a great location. The staff were very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Sea Port Village

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO-SEA WORLD AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Centro. CA
Dec 9, 2010

The good and the bad.

It was a great room. Newly re-modeled, the room was nicely decorated. The beds were very comfortable and I loved the down comforter and choices of soft and firm pillows. My complaint was I had asked for disabled accomodations and didn't receive them. The room was far from the elevator and the toilet commode was very low and no bar by it to assist me when sitting down or getting up. I struggled by using the rim of the sink to hold on to. I would stay again but I would first ensure that I would be accomodated for my disability.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO-SEA WORLD AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Momstar
Business
Dallas, TX
Oct 28, 2010

Little Surprises...

We were pleased with the location because it gave us access to the major highways we planned to use for our vacation: Balboa Park, the S.D. harbor's day cruises, museums and shopping sites. It was the little things that got to us: the hotel is undergoing remodeling, inside and out (something not mentioned in any of the hotel info pre-trip) therefore the exercise room is not available. The parking is under the building, so it is tight on the weekend. There is a local band that ocassionally practices somewhere behind the hotel - loudly. (However they finish promptly at 7:30.) Just our luck, it was practice night on the first night of our stay. Next morning the hotel gave us another room on the front of the hotel - but it was smaller, as in the queen bed that wasn't next to the air conditioner was one foot from the bathroom wall - tight! (They should have left it as a king bedroom!) Staff was friendly; food was okay. We will probably find somewhere else to stay for our next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top