$143 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 14, 2014 Check-out: Aug 15, 2014

Holiday Inn Express MIRA MESA-SAN DIEGO

3 stars
9888 MIRA MESA BLVD., SAN DIEGO, CA 92131
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
35 reviews
Better than expected

Very friendly staff. Good coffee and breakfast. Happy hour with free wine and beer. Walk to... See full review

  • James42
  • Apr 26, 2014
Perfect Location

We stayed at this Holiday Inn over spring break and it was the perfect location. 20 minutes from... See full review

  • Spring Break visitor
  • Mar 24, 2014
The Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa is ideally located off of Interstate 15 in central San Diego. The Hotel is centrally located to Marine Corps Air Station (MCAS) Miramar, and the business parks of Scripps Ranch, Sorrento Mesa, and Poway. There are a variety of restaurants and shopping centers within walking distance of or a short drive from the Hotel. We are minutes away from San Diego's best attractions: Sea World, The San Diego Zoo, Mission Beach, Pacific Beach, La Jolla, The Wild Animal Park, Legoland, Balboa Park, Old Town, Downtown San Diego, Coronado, Ice Arena, Qualcomm Stadium, and all of the local casinos. All rooms are equipped with microwave, refrigerator, and complimentary high speed Internet. Rates include daily hot breakfast. We can accommodate a variety of events in our spacious conference center. Discounted rates available for groups and corporate guests.

Hotel Map

32.9176 -117.1142
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport, (SAN), 17.60, MI;
Area description
Suburban, suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express MIRA MESA-SAN DIEGO also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Shops/Commercial services
FAX
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Sorrento Valley: 4.8 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.7 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 9.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 10.7 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 11.1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 11.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 12.2 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 12.2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 12.2 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 12.3 mi
  • Sea World: 12.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 12.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 12.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 12.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 13 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 4.8 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.7 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 9.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 10.7 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 11.1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 11.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 12.2 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 12.2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 12.2 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 12.3 mi
  • Sea World: 12.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 12.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 12.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 12.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 13 mi
  • Belmont Park: 13 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 13 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 13 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 13 mi
  • Botanical Building: 13 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 13.1 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 13.4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 13.4 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 13.4 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 13.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 13.9 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 14 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 14.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 14.8 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 14.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 14.9 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 15.3 mi
  • Legoland: 18.7 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 19.3 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,110 mi

Dining

Denny's
Denny's is a 24 hour full service coffee shop and family restaurant chain.
Shozen Korean BBQ
Korean BBQ restaurant
Mimi's Cafe
American
On the Border
Mexican
Filippi's Pizza Grotto
Italian

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express MIRA MESA-SAN DIEGO

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express MIRA MESA-SAN DIEGO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
James42
Mexico
Apr 26, 2014

Better than expected

Very friendly staff. Good coffee and breakfast. Happy hour with free wine and beer. Walk to numerous good restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express MIRA MESA-SAN DIEGO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spring Break visitor
Wichita, Kansas
Mar 24, 2014

Perfect Location

We stayed at this Holiday Inn over spring break and it was the perfect location. 20 minutes from everything (Sea World, the zoo, the beach). The staff was super friendly and helpful. Several times, they printed us directions so we wouldn't get lost. I would definitely stay at this hotel again if I was in the San Diego area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express MIRA MESA-SAN DIEGO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
extremely upset
texas
Jul 27, 2013

average

Staffs are friendly. Plenty of food. Easy access to everything, including freeways. Just too much noise from other rooms and hallways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express MIRA MESA-SAN DIEGO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JackieG
Fargo, ND, USA
Apr 11, 2013

Good location

The location of the hotel is good, very near by the restaurants, shopping centers and freeway. The room is clean and comfortable. But the air conditioner is tooooooo noisy!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express MIRA MESA-SAN DIEGO

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TravelrGuy356
Ft Bragg, NC
Jan 22, 2013

Terrible Experience - Avoid this Hotel

I came down to San Diego to relax during the New Years holiday. I have a very stressful job serving in the military and do not get much time to relax. On my last night, I had a female guest stay overnight. In the morning when she left, she went to the front desk and claimed she was on the account and was checking out and without checking ID or asking who she was, the front desk clerk gave out some personal information about me. I found out because I got a text from her shortly after. Appalled, I called down to the front desk, and the guy confessed and told me what happened. I asked if he had asked for ID or looked at the account and seen that there was no woman listed. He sheepishly said, “No”. He said he told his manager and that she would contact me to resolve this. No one ever contacted me. Not only is giving out personal information against company policies, but it is ILLEGAL. I-L-L-E-G-A-L…as in….AGAINST THE LAW. It didn’t stop there though. Her actions caused the front desk guy to check me out of the hotel…to the point where my room key no longer worked. Earlier that day I had asked for and been granted a late checkout of 1 PM. I was no longer logged as a guest of the hotel…he had to go back into the computer and put me back in. That increased my stress level even further. I attempted to contact a manager to resolve this but was given the run around multiple times. I called 7 times and spoke to 2 different people who claimed to be managers, and they assured me it would be resolved and that I would be refunded for my stay. No one ever called me back. It’s unbelievable that they can’t even make the effort to make a phone call. This situation has caused me great personal harm. That’s all I will say on here. I posted a review on their website. They would not publish it, and instead said they would have a hotel representative contact me. That is a corporation sweeping this under the rug if I ever saw it. I filed an additional complaint with the hotel chain. At first they refused any compensation. They said all they could do was to give me form letter syrupy fake apologies and forward the issue on to the hotel manager. The hotel manager was part of the problem in the first place so this just runs me in circles. I emailed them back that it was unacceptable. After informing them that I was not going to accept this and take this matter lying down, and that there would be consequences for their company, they offered me some points on my account. Not enough to come close to compensating for my stay or the damage caused to me. I let them know that this was again unacceptable. They offered me a few more points, and still refused to refund me. Why on earth would I ever stay with this hotel chain again and use their points anyway? It was a horrible experience. They do not care about customers one bit. This hotel has untrained staff, terrible, ethics, and will not protect your personal privacy. I do not trust the hotel chain parent company either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn Express MIRA MESA-SAN DIEGO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sindarwin
Business
Shanghai China
Nov 14, 2012

Business trip

If only there is more than one elevator; staff help to locate nearest store for iPad charger.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Target has an in-house store that sells Apple's gadgets.

Review of Holiday Inn Express MIRA MESA-SAN DIEGO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Conejo63
El Segundo, CA, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Great Location - Very Good Value

The Mira Mesa Holiday Inn Express/Mira Mesa couldn't be in a better location if you've business of pleasure in the Mira Mesa area. The staff was polite and helpful and the room was comfortable and clean. An abundance of dining is very close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express MIRA MESA-SAN DIEGO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joyful
nebraska
Nov 30, 2010

Nice location

We stay here while we visit our son and family who live close by. We have never had any trouble except this time we never got our confirmation of a king size bed[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express MIRA MESA-SAN DIEGO

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mira Mesa, California
Jul 26, 2010

Bait and Switch

The room was adequate[...] When I checked in and arrived at the room, the room smelled worse than an ashtray. I was told this was the only room left. The hotel manager said that I could not get a refund for the the night. I had no choice but to stay the night at Hotel Ashtray. Try spending the night in a smoking room with a child with asthma. [...] By far, not a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express MIRA MESA-SAN DIEGO

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mira Mesa, California
Jul 26, 2010

Bait and Switch

The room was adequate[...] When I checked in and arrived at the room, the room smelled worse than an ashtray. I was told this was the only room left. The hotel manager said that I could not get a refund for the the night. I had no choice but to stay the night at Hotel Ashtray. Try spending the night in a smoking room with a child with asthma. [...] By far, not a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top