$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 10, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

Holiday Inn Express & Suites SAN DIEGO-SORRENTO VALLEY

3 stars
5925 Lusk Blvd., San Diego, CA 92121
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
27 reviews
Good value

Good value for the price. Beds are extremely comfortable. Nice complimentary breakfast, selection. See full review

  • Browniiz
  • Jun 18, 2014
Good for the price

Everything was great. The breakfast was pretty hearty. Room was clean and staff was very friendly.... See full review

  • mrive
  • Feb 17, 2014
Our Hotel's Great Location in San Diego Will Please Near the sun-drenched shores of Southern California, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites San Diego - Sorrento Valley boasts a superb location near area beaches and businesses. Whether you're in town to soak up the sun or to visit the bustling business districts of San Diego, our hotel's property is perfectly positioned for access to it all. If you're looking for hotels in San Diego, California with event facilities, look no further. Our modern facilities feature a 625-square-feet meeting room and a business center. Businesses like Qualcomm, Motorola, Sony Online Entertainment and Gen Probe are also located in San Diego. Our hotel's just a few miles from the famous beaches of Southern California. La Jolla Beach and Pacific Shores Beach promise a relaxing day of swimming and sun bathing. After a day at the beach, be sure to visit SeaWorld or San Diego Zoo. Kids also love LEGOLAND, while adults enjoy spending the evening in the beautiful Gaslamp Quarter. To keep you connected, we offer free high-speed, wireless Internet access throughout our hotel's accommodations. San Diego, California visitors can start their day with the complimentary, hot Express Start breakfast bar and end it with a soak in the soothing whirlpool. Our facilities also boast a sparkling, outdoor pool and a fitness center, and we provide a free shuttle to attractions within a five-mile radius of the hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express & Suites SAN DIEGO-SORRENTO VALLEY also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
TV
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Sorrento Valley: 0.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 4.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 7.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 8.9 mi
  • Belmont Park: 9.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 9.5 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 9.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 9.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 10 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 10 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 10.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 11.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 11.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 11.6 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 0.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 4.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 7.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 8.9 mi
  • Belmont Park: 9.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 9.5 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 9.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 9.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 10 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 10 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 10.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 11.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 11.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 11.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 11.7 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 11.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 11.7 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 11.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 11.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 11.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 11.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 12 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 12 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 12.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 12.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 13 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 13.3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 13.3 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 16.5 mi
  • Legoland: 17.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 18.6 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,114.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express & Suites SAN DIEGO-SORRENTO VALLEY

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 27
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.7

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SAN DIEGO-SORRENTO VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anne91344
Business
Granada Hills, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Nice hotel

This hotel was very nice and clean, and the staff was very helpful and nice. It is conveniently located right next to a Chili's restaurant. Not exactly gourmet food, but it is nice to be able to just walk back to the hotel. It is not the best location as you have to take your car to get to any place, but the area is safe, and it was much cheaper than any other hotel on labor day weekend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SAN DIEGO-SORRENTO VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Oct 4, 2010

Great location and great price!

Close to the Miramar Air Show and a great value. This is the 2nd year we have stayed here. The staff is always very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SAN DIEGO-SORRENTO VALLEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Altos, CA
May 3, 2010

We keep coming back

The hotel is very clean. Rooms look like new. Breakfast above the average – nice selection of food and beverages includes two kinds of eggs, several kinds of pastry, cereal, bagels, toasts (peanut butter, jams), etc. We also like the location – close to freeways (about 7 min to Downtown La Jolla and beaches).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SAN DIEGO-SORRENTO VALLEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andrea Hockey Mom
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 19, 2009

Fantastic mini vacation

My son had a hockey game at Icetown in the UTC Mall. We decided to make it a weekend trip and come down the day before. The other hotels near the mall were much more expensive. Another parent had suggested the Holiday Inn Express San Diego/Sorrento Valley, and I'm glad they did. The young man at the front desk was so nice and personable. The room was great and the breakfast bar was such a great added extra. We will definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SAN DIEGO-SORRENTO VALLEY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kline Family
Business
Merced, CA
Sep 27, 2009

Painting?

Although we were surprised to see the scaffolding upon arriving at the hotel, we didn't smell the paint until we headed to the pool. We were called the night before to alert us to painters working at 8 a.m. the following morning. We took our two granddaughters to the pool and they had fun; however, both the pool and spa need resurfacing. The staff was friendly and helpful; however, I didn't have the time to wait for someone to come to our room to fix the "wireless Internet." A staff member mentioned that staying on the 2nd or 4th floor would have better chance of getting reception. The breakfast was wonderful: scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy, cereal, milk, juices, pastries, and coffee. Nice big room, too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chili's is almost on the premises! (Below answers are "checked" with the right side earning the highest score.)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SAN DIEGO-SORRENTO VALLEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Drive anywhere mom
Business
California
Sep 6, 2009

catching lessons

relaxed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SAN DIEGO-SORRENTO VALLEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 16, 2007

great family hotel

the holiday inn hotel and suites san diego/sorrento valley was very nice and comfortable .the rooms were very clean and the beds were so comfortable too.it is a quiet place to relax.the pool and spa are very clean too.chilis resturant is in the same parking lot,so you dont have to drive to go eat.the san diego zoo is only 11 miles from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

chilis has great food and is very resonable and there is shopping down the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SAN DIEGO-SORRENTO VALLEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jun 20, 2007

Nice and Clean

This hotel was a great option for us. The room was very clean and looked new. The hotel staff was very accomidating. There were many options for the included breakfast. We were very pleased with our stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SAN DIEGO-SORRENTO VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
May 13, 2007

Nice place to stay with a few drawbacks

The Holiday Inn Express was a good place to stay as it is in a quiet, clean location, very close to the beaches (5-10 minutes away)but without the cost of beachfront hotels. The room was clean and the beds were extremely comfortable, but the room was jam packed with furniture. Since my husband and I were traveling with my two teenage children, we made use of the sofa bed. With the two queen beds, desk and oversized task chair, sofa bed, coffee table, kitchen table and two chairs, we were tripping over things the entire stay. In fact, I actually had to stand the coffee table up on end in the corner so we could move around. The hotel room is ideal for one or two business travelers as there is plenty of work space, but families may be a bit cramped. Also because this is a business hotel in a business park, the nearby sandwich and smoothie shops were closed on weekends, but the Chili's Restaurant shares the same parking lot, so there is always some place to eat without having to drive. Speaking of parking lots, the spaces are ridiculously narrow, meant only for compact cars, not SUV's or pickup trucks. So do what we did and park in the parking lot for the adjacent hotel. It's only a few steps away. Overall, the stay was very pleasant and I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't try to park next to the hotel, spaces are to small unless you are in a compact car. Park across the parking lot, closer to the adjacent hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top