$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Holiday Inn Express & Suites SAN DIEGO-SORRENTO VALLEY

3 stars
View map of 5925 Lusk Blvd., San Diego, CA 92121

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
28 reviews
Clean, Comfortable, Affordable

I was in San Diego for a training session, and loved that the Hotel was only 5 minutes away. It was... See full review

  • SoCal Workaholic
  • Oct 4, 2014
Good value

Good value for the price. Beds are extremely comfortable. Nice complimentary breakfast, selection. See full review

  • Browniiz
  • Jun 18, 2014
Our Hotel is located near the sun-drenched shores of Southern California, the Holiday Inn Express-Sorrento Valley in San Diego boasts a superb location near the beaches and businesses. Whether you're in town to soak up the sun or to visit the bustling business districts of San Diego our hotels property is perfectly positioned for access to it all. If you are looking for hotels in San Diego California with event facilities-look no further. Our modern facilities feature a 650-square-feet meeting room and a business center. Businesses like Qualcomm Arris Corporation and UPS are also located in San Diego. Our hotel is just a few miles from the famous beaches of Southern California. La Jolla Beach and Pacific Shores Beach promise a relaxing day of swimming and sun bathing. After a day at the beach be sure to visit SeaWorld or San Diego Zoo. Kids also love LEGOLAND while adults enjoy spending the evening in the beautiful Gaslamp Quarter. To keep you connected we offer free high-speed, wireless Internet access throughout our hotels accommodations. San Diego California visitors can start their day with the complimentary hot Express Start breakfast bar and end it with a soak in the soothing whirlpool. Our facilities also boast a sparkling outdoor pool and a Fitness Center. We also provide a free shuttle to nearby businesses within a five-mile radius from the hotel.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express & Suites SAN DIEGO-SORRENTO VALLEY also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
TV
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Sorrento Valley: 0.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 4.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 7.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 8.9 mi
  • Belmont Park: 9.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 9.5 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 9.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 9.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 10 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 10 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 10.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 11.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 11.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 11.6 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 0.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 4.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 7.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 8.9 mi
  • Belmont Park: 9.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 9.5 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 9.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 9.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 10 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 10 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 10.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 11.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 11.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 11.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 11.7 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 11.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 11.7 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 11.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 11.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 11.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 11.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 12 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 12 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 12.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 12.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 13 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 13.3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 13.3 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 16.5 mi
  • Legoland: 17.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 18.6 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,114.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express & Suites SAN DIEGO-SORRENTO VALLEY

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SAN DIEGO-SORRENTO VALLEY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Charyl
Business
Ontario, CA
Aug 19, 2007

Needs Some Work

Our stay left much to be desired. We were in a room next to a slumber party of 7 little girls who were running relay races in the hallway. The shower overflowed into the bathroom flooding it each time we used it. In spite of numerous requests, it was never even looked at. We asked for another room, but didn't get that either. We had to ask twice to have the room made up after our first night, it was finally done around 3:00. Then, the day of our checkout, housekeeping was knocking on our door at 7:45 A.M. to clean it. There was no manuel in the room telling about the hotel or even how to use the phone. When we asked for a new one we were rudely told they had no more. We were very disappointed in our stay and said so as we checked out, and didn't even get an apology. We even e-mailed the General Manager about our complaints and concerns, and have yet to receive a response. We will NOT be staying there again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SAN DIEGO-SORRENTO VALLEY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pangeaware
Business
Augusta, GA, USA
Jan 30, 2012

Good Value, Poor Location

Stayed 4 nights for a business trip, and was within walking distance of my office on Lusk Blvd. Unfortunately, that's really the only thing it's close to, other than a Chilli's next door. The room itself was nice, and included a fridge, a microwave, and free wifi. Sadly the wifi strength and reliabiity were poor, so ended up using my iPhone as a modem the majority of the time. The staff was very nice and the free breakfast was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SAN DIEGO-SORRENTO VALLEY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pat Healey
Business
Denver, CO
Mar 1, 2012

Not a good value

The place is relatively new and clean, but there are a number of lowbrow touches that are not OK at this price point. The TV is local channels only - not even basic cable, so no CNN or ESPN. There were no towels in the exercise room and the exercise equipment was not well maintained. Not a terrible stay, but for this price I expect better, particularly basic things like cable TV! I would stay again, but only as a last resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SAN DIEGO-SORRENTO VALLEY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jclin
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 28, 2014

Clean and comfotable, thin walls

Having been a former resident of San Diego, I purposely chose this Holiday Inn Express as it's located in a large business park area for a secluded feeling. For dining, unless you're a big fan of Chili's you'll have to drive. My personal faves are Opera cafe for lunch for lunch and Karl Strauss for dinner. The hotel itself is comfortable and clean. My room was spacious, with a fairly large HDTV and all the amenities one would expect for a hotel at this price range. Details such as the tip of the tissue in the tissue box being folded into a triangular shape shows that the staff is professional and cares. Unfortunately, I can't recommend staying here if you're looking for a good night's rest, and require absolute quiet. Sadly, the floors and walls are thin. They are thin enough that you can hear the people in the rooms next to you and above walking, talking, and opening and closing drawers. If you either aren't bothered by noise in the least or have quality ear plugs, and want to stay at a comfortable hotel for a reasonable price then this Holiday Inn Express is perfect. Regretfully, I can't recommend staying here simply because you're not paying $100+/night to stay at a place with thin walls like a cheap Hotel 8.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't bother eating at Chili's across the street. There is a nearby local restaurant/brewery called Karl Strauss that has excellent food and beers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SAN DIEGO-SORRENTO VALLEY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Triece
Business
Woodland Hills, CA
Aug 21, 2012

Not the best Holiday Inn experience

Overall experience was ok. I have stayed at more comfortable HI with better and more professional staff. I believe that the staff, more specifically, the front desk receptionists, needs better training on how to handle requests and problems. Upon check-in, I requested for additional pillows. The receptionist provided me the pillows but WITHOUT pillow cases and thought it was perfectly fine. Another issue was that I prepaid for my room in advance, but after I checked out, I discovered that the same receptionist charged my credit card again in error. I was told that the debit would be reversed immediately but it wasn't. Also, the pillows on my bed were too small and uncomfortable. They need to change them out. The pluses: free bfast, the gym is cool (even though the equipment is OLD), free internet and usage of the business center. Also, there is some restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SAN DIEGO-SORRENTO VALLEY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kline Family
Business
Merced, CA
Sep 27, 2009

Painting?

Although we were surprised to see the scaffolding upon arriving at the hotel, we didn't smell the paint until we headed to the pool. We were called the night before to alert us to painters working at 8 a.m. the following morning. We took our two granddaughters to the pool and they had fun; however, both the pool and spa need resurfacing. The staff was friendly and helpful; however, I didn't have the time to wait for someone to come to our room to fix the "wireless Internet." A staff member mentioned that staying on the 2nd or 4th floor would have better chance of getting reception. The breakfast was wonderful: scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy, cereal, milk, juices, pastries, and coffee. Nice big room, too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chili's is almost on the premises! (Below answers are "checked" with the right side earning the highest score.)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SAN DIEGO-SORRENTO VALLEY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AtHeard
Business
Deer Park, TX
Sep 4, 2014

Simple Comfort Close to Base

Hotel wasn't fancy but was cleaned and served its purpose on what we were looking for. If you need a place to stay near Mirimar this will work just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SAN DIEGO-SORRENTO VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mrive
Business
Riverside Ca.
Feb 17, 2014

Good for the price

Everything was great. The breakfast was pretty hearty. Room was clean and staff was very friendly. The only thing was that the pillows were too big to sleep comfortably. The hotel is also in a business area so a b little far (10-20 min) from places like Balboa Park or beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SAN DIEGO-SORRENTO VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Batchoy
Business
Fairfield
Oct 2, 2012

Good for the money

Best holiday Inn that i ever been too. I do not regularly stay in small hotels or motels but this trip was unplanned and under budget. We found this hotel and stayed here for just one night and the best cheap hotel i had ever seen in san diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SAN DIEGO-SORRENTO VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HealthGuy
Business
San Antonio, Tx
Feb 14, 2013

Good Facility

Good business hotel. Perfect location if you are doing business with companies located around Sorrento Valley. Clean rooms. Good breakfast. Friendly people. But I think the hotel is a bit too pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top