$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 10, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

Holiday Inn Express & Suites SAN DIEGO-SORRENTO VALLEY

3 stars
5925 Lusk Blvd., San Diego, CA 92121
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
27 reviews
Good value

Good value for the price. Beds are extremely comfortable. Nice complimentary breakfast, selection. See full review

  • Browniiz
  • Jun 18, 2014
Good for the price

Everything was great. The breakfast was pretty hearty. Room was clean and staff was very friendly.... See full review

  • mrive
  • Feb 17, 2014
Our Hotel's Great Location in San Diego Will Please Near the sun-drenched shores of Southern California, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites San Diego - Sorrento Valley boasts a superb location near area beaches and businesses. Whether you're in town to soak up the sun or to visit the bustling business districts of San Diego, our hotel's property is perfectly positioned for access to it all. If you're looking for hotels in San Diego, California with event facilities, look no further. Our modern facilities feature a 625-square-feet meeting room and a business center. Businesses like Qualcomm, Motorola, Sony Online Entertainment and Gen Probe are also located in San Diego. Our hotel's just a few miles from the famous beaches of Southern California. La Jolla Beach and Pacific Shores Beach promise a relaxing day of swimming and sun bathing. After a day at the beach, be sure to visit SeaWorld or San Diego Zoo. Kids also love LEGOLAND, while adults enjoy spending the evening in the beautiful Gaslamp Quarter. To keep you connected, we offer free high-speed, wireless Internet access throughout our hotel's accommodations. San Diego, California visitors can start their day with the complimentary, hot Express Start breakfast bar and end it with a soak in the soothing whirlpool. Our facilities also boast a sparkling, outdoor pool and a fitness center, and we provide a free shuttle to attractions within a five-mile radius of the hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express & Suites SAN DIEGO-SORRENTO VALLEY also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
TV
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Sorrento Valley: 0.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 4.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 7.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 8.9 mi
  • Belmont Park: 9.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 9.5 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 9.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 9.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 10 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 10 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 10.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 11.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 11.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 11.6 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 0.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 4.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 7.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 8.9 mi
  • Belmont Park: 9.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 9.5 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 9.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 9.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 10 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 10 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 10.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 11.4 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 11.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 11.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 11.7 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 11.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 11.7 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 11.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 11.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 11.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 11.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 12 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 12 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 12.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 12.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 13 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 13.3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 13.3 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 16.5 mi
  • Legoland: 17.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 18.6 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,114.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express & Suites SAN DIEGO-SORRENTO VALLEY

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SAN DIEGO-SORRENTO VALLEY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Triece
Business
Woodland Hills, CA
Aug 21, 2012

Not the best Holiday Inn experience

Overall experience was ok. I have stayed at more comfortable HI with better and more professional staff. I believe that the staff, more specifically, the front desk receptionists, needs better training on how to handle requests and problems. Upon check-in, I requested for additional pillows. The receptionist provided me the pillows but WITHOUT pillow cases and thought it was perfectly fine. Another issue was that I prepaid for my room in advance, but after I checked out, I discovered that the same receptionist charged my credit card again in error. I was told that the debit would be reversed immediately but it wasn't. Also, the pillows on my bed were too small and uncomfortable. They need to change them out. The pluses: free bfast, the gym is cool (even though the equipment is OLD), free internet and usage of the business center. Also, there is some restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SAN DIEGO-SORRENTO VALLEY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pat Healey
Business
Denver, CO
Mar 1, 2012

Not a good value

The place is relatively new and clean, but there are a number of lowbrow touches that are not OK at this price point. The TV is local channels only - not even basic cable, so no CNN or ESPN. There were no towels in the exercise room and the exercise equipment was not well maintained. Not a terrible stay, but for this price I expect better, particularly basic things like cable TV! I would stay again, but only as a last resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SAN DIEGO-SORRENTO VALLEY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pangeaware
Business
Augusta, GA, USA
Jan 30, 2012

Good Value, Poor Location

Stayed 4 nights for a business trip, and was within walking distance of my office on Lusk Blvd. Unfortunately, that's really the only thing it's close to, other than a Chilli's next door. The room itself was nice, and included a fridge, a microwave, and free wifi. Sadly the wifi strength and reliabiity were poor, so ended up using my iPhone as a modem the majority of the time. The staff was very nice and the free breakfast was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SAN DIEGO-SORRENTO VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anne91344
Business
Granada Hills, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Nice hotel

This hotel was very nice and clean, and the staff was very helpful and nice. It is conveniently located right next to a Chili's restaurant. Not exactly gourmet food, but it is nice to be able to just walk back to the hotel. It is not the best location as you have to take your car to get to any place, but the area is safe, and it was much cheaper than any other hotel on labor day weekend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SAN DIEGO-SORRENTO VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 1, 2011

Good Stay

Nice, spacious room and very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SAN DIEGO-SORRENTO VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gilbert, Az
Feb 22, 2011

Pleasant Stay

Parking was far from the front door considering the rain. While on business, the less hassel the better. Room was clean and nice. Having Chili's resturant 200 ft from front door was convienent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chili's Resturant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SAN DIEGO-SORRENTO VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Oct 4, 2010

Great location and great price!

Close to the Miramar Air Show and a great value. This is the 2nd year we have stayed here. The staff is always very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SAN DIEGO-SORRENTO VALLEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Altos, CA
May 3, 2010

We keep coming back

The hotel is very clean. Rooms look like new. Breakfast above the average – nice selection of food and beverages includes two kinds of eggs, several kinds of pastry, cereal, bagels, toasts (peanut butter, jams), etc. We also like the location – close to freeways (about 7 min to Downtown La Jolla and beaches).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SAN DIEGO-SORRENTO VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Falls Church, VA
Jan 22, 2010

Excellent value

great hotel for business. excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites SAN DIEGO-SORRENTO VALLEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andrea Hockey Mom
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 19, 2009

Fantastic mini vacation

My son had a hockey game at Icetown in the UTC Mall. We decided to make it a weekend trip and come down the day before. The other hotels near the mall were much more expensive. Another parent had suggested the Holiday Inn Express San Diego/Sorrento Valley, and I'm glad they did. The young man at the front desk was so nice and personable. The room was great and the breakfast bar was such a great added extra. We will definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top