$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 14, 2014 Check-out: Aug 16, 2014

Hilton San Diego Bayfront

4 stars
1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
469 reviews
IT was a nice stay

I loved the hotel... the staff were nice...the room was clean. the view of the room was also... See full review

  • Hanee
  • Jun 17, 2014
Great Location!

Beautiful views! Beautiful hotel! Would definitely come back here! See full review

  • I. S.
  • May 13, 2014
High-rise luxury along San Diego Bay
When the Hilton San Diego Bayfront opened in 2008, the property quickly became one of the tallest hotels in San Diego. Today, the glass-and-steel edifice towers over the Bay itself, offering guests spectacular views of the entire city. The property features PURE Allergy-Friendly guestrooms for visitors with allergies, a 24-hour fitness room, a heated outdoor pool and a full-service spa onsite. Odysea, one of three on-site restaurants, spotlights American dim sum and creative cocktails.
Highlights
  • High-rise tower offers fantastic views of San Diego
  • PURE Allergy-Friendly guestrooms for visitors with allergies
  • Dine on American-style dim sum at Odysea, one of three on-site restaurants.
Rooms

The Hilton San Diego Bayfront offers 1,190 rooms, including 30 suites. All accommodations are spacious and modern, with furniture and carpets that still feel new. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, bath products from Crabtree & Evelyn, MP3 docking station and in-room safe. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hilton San Diego Bayfront has become famous for its views of the San Diego Bay.

Guests appreciate views from a giant open-air lobby patio that doubles as a sitting area. Guests receive complimentary access to the on-site fitness center and heated outdoor pool. The on-site spa offers a variety of treatments (fees apply). Jogging and walking paths surround the property and connect with other trails in the area.

Meals at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront are eclectic, thanks to three reliable eateries. The most upscale of the trio is Vela, which serves fresh California cuisine. At Odysea, visitors can pair American dim sum with wines from all over the world. Catch a game at the Fox Sports Grill on one their many high definition TVs while enjoying a casual meal. The hotel also features a full service Starbucks.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (10 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (2 mi/3 km)
Attractions
  • Gaslamp Quarter (8 blocks)
  • Petco Park (10 blocks)
  • San Diego Zoo (2 mi/3 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/5 km)
  • Coronado Island (4 mi/7 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (6 mi/11 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/11 km)
  • Sea World (7 mi/13 km)
Business
  • 34,000-square-foot event room
  • 24-hour business center
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton San Diego Bayfront also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7034 -117.1588
Area served
San Diego, California, United States
Nearby airports
San Diego Intl Airport (SAN) 3 Miles

Nearby points of interest

  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.2 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.3 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.6 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 2.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.2 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.3 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.6 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 2.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.2 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 4 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 4.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.2 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.4 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 5.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 5.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.7 mi
  • Sea World: 5.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 7.1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 8.1 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 13.1 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.9 mi
  • Legoland: 30.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (469)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
469 out of 469
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las vegas
Aug 3, 2010

Great location

Great location, in the center of olot, across the street is Petco park so is Gaslamp

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

'the broken yolk'a restaurant couple blocks away serve breakfast late, very tasty ,good price olot of food cause when your on vacation who wants to get up @ 9 to have breakfast.

Review of Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
D Glenn
Ridgecrest, CA
Aug 3, 2010

D Glenn's Stay Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Overall, I liked my brief stay at this hotel. I should say that the service is top notch. The only problem that I had was the toilet would clog up on occasion - it was never clogged up completely, but it would take two flushes to get it to flush and I keep seeing this white stuff in the water. Everything else was well done. Room was clean. Bed was nice, I had no problems sleeping - and for me that says allot. I managed to get the odd room at the middle end that had a view of half the bay - very nice though! This was a nice place to stay just to get away or to be at a convention - San Diego Convention Center is across the street. It's a bit of a hike to the rest of the bay shops, but if you're a baseball fan, Petco Center is right next door - you need some exercise after downing some baseball hotdogs anyway, right?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

On ground level, outside of the hotel, is a Starbucks and a Fox Sports Bar & Grill. I ate at the Fox Sports Bar & Grill. Staff was nice and food was good!

Review of Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, now visited San Diego
Aug 2, 2010

somewhat disappointed

The outside guys were friendly and helpful; but the receptionist did not greet me nicely no smile just said you have a reservation. Then she seemed irritated when I asked some questions; could not understand some of her accent but I also wanted to make sure I heard right. The person checking me out was more friendly and smiled. Saw some bugs on the bed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel was close to seaport village but had to drive to get to Old Town San Diego which is great. Coronado Island was and is beautifyl

Review of Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, now visited San Diego
Aug 2, 2010

somewhat disappointed

The outside guys were friendly and helpful; but the receptionist did not greet me nicely no smile just said you have a reservation. Then she seemed irritated when I asked some questions; could not understand some of her accent but I also wanted to make sure I heard right. The person checking me out was more friendly and smiled. Saw some bugs on the bed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel was close to seaport village but had to drive to get to Old Town San Diego which is great. Coronado Island was and is beautifyl

Review of Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Helly
Dublin, ireland
Jul 27, 2010

Great hotel!

This hotel as gorgeous. Location is right on the bayfront with amazing views( you have to pay extra for a room with a view). The only negative I have about the hotel is that when we first arrived to check in we drove up to the registration parking area located just at the door and when we got to the front door a young valet employee told us to give him our car keys. We said no as we were just checking in so he told us quite rudely to hurry up as the car had to be gone in 15 mins. This impacted on our opinion of the staff. Overall the hotle itself is perfect, clean, 5mins from gaslamp. Parking is $25 a night and can get full very quickly if there is a game in the stadium opposite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ComicConStay
San Diego, CA
Jul 26, 2010

Comfortable rooms and friendly staff

The staff was helpful and courteous at all times. They went above and beyond my expectations. The rooms were comfortable and very clean. I will certainly stay there again and recommend them to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ComicConStay
San Diego, CA
Jul 26, 2010

Comfortable rooms and friendly staff

The staff was helpful and courteous at all times. They went above and beyond my expectations. The rooms were comfortable and very clean. I will certainly stay there again and recommend them to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ex_Dbacks_Fan
Phoenix, Arizona
Jul 19, 2010

Businessman's Hotel

The location was perfect for me, close to the ball park, and close to the water with views. It is within walking distance of the Midway Carrier and Gas Light district. I liked the fact it has a Fox Sports Grill and Starbucks with comfortable outside seating. The rooms are for Convention people, no balcony, but nice views, and not someplace you want to spend a lot of time. It was quite and clean for the down times you do need. No help from staff in getting my HHonors number or points, which ticked me off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The ball park is real close to walk for a game. The bridge view rooms over look the ship yards and working piers, which is fun to watch. The bay view rooms have the better city sights.

Review of Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ex_Dbacks_Fan
Phoenix, Arizona
Jul 19, 2010

Businessman's Hotel

The location was perfect for me, close to the ball park, and close to the water with views. It is within walking distance of the Midway Carrier and Gas Light district. I liked the fact it has a Fox Sports Grill and Starbucks with comfortable outside seating. The rooms are for Convention people, no balcony, but nice views, and not someplace you want to spend a lot of time. It was quite and clean for the down times you do need. No help from staff in getting my HHonors number or points, which ticked me off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The ball park is real close to walk for a game. The bridge view rooms over look the ship yards and working piers, which is fun to watch. The bay view rooms have the better city sights.

Review of Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
okiejoe
san jose, ca
Jul 8, 2010

Awesome hotel, horrible parking charges!

Really nice hotel on the bay front. No beach access, and right next to the Dole banana loading docks. On th second day a huge shipping boat blocked our view from the pool. It was no more than 100 yards from the pool area. Stayed there for 4th of July which was prime location to see the firework display. Hotel charges an arm and a leg for parking, 25 for self park and 35 for valet. super close to the gaslamp district and the baseball field

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

right in the middle of the downtown area

Back to menu Return to top