$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

4 stars
View map of 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
301 out of 301
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brians time
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Sep 25, 2012

Football weekend

Friendly staff and great location , they do charge a $37 valet fee and a $20 fee for using the facilities on top of your hotel stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntington Beach California
Sep 24, 2012

Great Birthday Stay

Loved the hotel! The pool was awesome and the room with the rain shower heads were great as well. We came down for a friend's birthday and the hotel was awesome. They have cool clubs and bars and the location could not be better. Literally in the heart of Gaslamp. The only thing I wished we had was a coffee maker in the room but other than that everything was fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I'm a mother
Business
Texas
Aug 13, 2012

Rockin Hard

We had an excellent time at the hotel. Given the location of the hotel, value exceed the cost. However, one point to mention was the check-in and check out wait times were extreamly long. If you can check-out in your room...do it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Check-out using the TV meno guide. The line to check-out in the lobby gets very long around 11

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Business traveler0608
Business
Danbury, CT
Aug 13, 2012

Okay Hotel

This is a hotel for young people who are in town for partying. If you are visiting for other purpose, don't stay there. The first day we arrived, there is a party on the hotel roof by the pool. The hotel was filled with party animals, it was chaotic and noisy. Other than that, the hotel was okay, house keeping doesn't show up unless you request it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IMAAUDIOSLAVE
Business
Southern California
Aug 13, 2012

GREAT LOCATION & HOTEL

Picked this location for my friends bachelor party and couldn't of been more impressed with the location, valet, and front desk staff. We were upgraded to a suite for free which rocked (no pun intended). The hotel is located at the south side of the main gas lamp strip and is walking distance to all the bars, and restaurants. There are bars and restaurants at the hotel. The crowd was young at the hotel, not a lot of families which isn't an issue if you know you aren't looking for a tranquil family vacation. The cafe Maryjanes was excellent. My ONLY complaint was that the shower was clogged and about 2 inches of standing water resided but I'm sure if we called to get it fixed it would have. Easy in room check out. Quick valet exit, no issues what so ever. After this experience I will surely stay here or any other Hard Rock Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

STAY HERE! Walking distance to everything and yes you pay for valet but you never have to leave and pay for parking anywhere else

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sean Ross
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 10, 2012

Great stay and location

Wonderful rooms, proximity to anything you would want to do downtown, hip but not distastefully loud and tremendous staff. Stayed by accident and loved the surprise!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jen c expert traveler
Business
Vegas
Aug 4, 2012

Not worth it stay somewhere else

Although the location of this hotel is ideal, there are too many hidden costs. The total cost per night came out to $50 more than advertised. There was also no mention that valet was a charge of minimum $40 per day depending on if you leave throughout the day. They also did not clean the room or deliver fresh towels as requested. I understand the go green initiative but for almost $300 a night, clean the room. The bar attached to the hotel also charged a ridiculous cover even for hotel guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AZ Native Couple
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 25, 2012

Best Location in Gas Lamp!!!

From the parking attendant to the front desk attendant, the service was impeccable. Extremely pleasant and 1st class all the way! If you want to be able to walk outside the front door and be within 5 minutes of all the best restaurants in San Diego's Gas Lamp District, then this is the hotel for you. The bed was extremely comfortable while the decor was very modern and sophisticated. I will stay at this hotel over and over again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't stop at the first restaurant outside the hotel doors. If you just walt a block or two up 5th avenue, you will find a number of fantastic options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Great Weekender
Business
SF East Bay Area
Jul 18, 2012

Mini Vacation

We stayed at this hotel for a two-night getaway. It was very nice and relaxing at the hotel. The only downside I have to say is that they stuck us in a handicapped room, which I feel should be reserved for those who actually need it, not those who booked the room at a discount. However, it was still a very nice room, and we were on the top floor which was fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The best place we found to get a late night snack/meal/drink was a place called La Puerta which was only a few blocks from the hotel. Great drinks at a reasonable price and they served a full menu until about midnight. After that the bar remained open until 3am like all the other surrounding establishments. They also had a very friendly and efficient bar tender and didn't play their music terribly loud so a conversation could be held with your present company.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WaynesGirl
Business
Yuma, Arizona
Jul 13, 2012

Honeymoon Stay

Excellent service from all staff. When we mentioned we were there on our honeymoon, they sent up a complementary bottle of champagne with champagne flutes and a nice congrats card. some negatives: being from Arizona, where parking is FREE, we were taken a-back by the valet parking charges. These were not mentioned on the website when booking so came as a surprise. the only other alternative was meter parking. another negative was the room location. While it offered a spectacular view of Coronado Bridge and the bay, it was directly across from the train tracks crossing and the trains and trams run ALL DAY AND NIGHT!! The whistle from the train about knocked us out of bed. We chose The Hard Rock due to its location on the Gas Lamp District. We were able to walk to everything. Sea Port Village, Star of India ect. Highly suggest you forgo the hotel restaurants and visit The Broken Yolk (on 6th Ave) for breakfast and Fred's (on 5th Ave) for lunch or dinner. There are so many choices in the Gas Lamp District at reasonable prices, these were our personal favs. If you plan on driving around the Gas Lamp beware of the ONE WAY streets! We would stay at Hard Rock again, but would ask for a room away from the tracks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Broken Yolk Cafe on 6th Ave (featured on Man v.s Food) best California Breakfast Burrito on Earth! Fred's Mexican Restaurant on 5th Ave. Awesome food and upbeat atmosphere. Both are very reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top