$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

4 stars
View map of 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
319 out of 319
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fat Tony
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 29, 2012

Had a great getaway

I was in town for this weekends Holiday Bowl. I was pleased to find we were right in the middle of all the action. Perfect location to all the restaurants and bars. Check in was fast. Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Michael Alf
Business
Oxnard, California
Jul 8, 2013

HORRIBLE!!

I stayed here for a friend's birthday celebration in the Gaslamp District. We were club-hopping and I after careful research, determined that this was the best location in terms of value and distance from the nightclubs were were going to. The staff were polite and friendly. They even asked what type of music I wanted playing in the room. I stayed on the 4th floor, the same floor as Intervention. I was trying to take a mid-day nap before my nighttime festivities. I had multiple drunk party-goers knocking on my door thinking it was their room. I did not get to nap and it was truly unacceptable. I had no time to directly inform the staff since I was on a tight schedule. After my wild night of partying, I figured that everyone would have been passed out and partied out. I had more people knock and bang at my door, cursing at me to let me in. For $300+ a night, you would think you could sleep and be treated with respect while in your room. I've stayed in multiple Vegas hotels and have partied hard, but the guests at this hotel party and treat this hotel make Vegas look like a day care facility. NEVER AGAIN!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mal T.
Business
Omaha, NE
Jun 28, 2013

DO NOT RECOMEND

HUGE LET DOWN!! DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME! My boyfriend and I attended their Intervention Sunday's Pool Party a couple weekends ago. I have been the the Hard Rock in Las Vegas and they know how to throw a pool party - unfortunately this one does NOT. We paid $40 each for a ticket in to a pool party, the pool is about 5' x 5' (notice there are no photos of the actual pool on the Intervention site page). IT SUCKS! We had an OK time due to meeting a fun couple there but otherwise the atmosphere were that of a cheap motel. We're 21 and 23 and were expecting a crazy/fun time. After an average day we came to find out that we had been charged for 15 shots that neither of us had taken- a bill of $300!! THEY WILL CHARGE EXTRA DRINKS/SHOTS TO YOUR CREDIT CARD. I asked to speak to a manager at which point we stood in the lobby for 20 minutes waiting. When a man came out he said he knew we took the shots and to pay or he would call the cops. I told him to call the cops then because there is no way my boyfriend and I would be able to stand had we taken 15 shots! He smiled and said, "I don't care if you did or not, you are paying for them." I will NEVER come back here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rob0629
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jun 11, 2013

weekend getaway

it was really good, stayed the weekend until monday and go tot enjoy intervention sundays at the hard rock. what an experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs. Welling
Business
Denver
Jun 3, 2013

Great Location Great Hotel

Had a great time in SD at the Hard Rock. Room was great, only missing a coffee pot. Staff were accomodating and the food and night clubs were top notch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DEick
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
May 7, 2013

prince weekend

It was nice but nothing extraordinary. For the price of the hotel I was expecting way more amenities and service. It felt cold and lacking. Usually hotels at this price have robes in the rooms. Not this one. Small details were neglected and it did not feel worthy of the price it commands.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice restaurants in all directions.

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BFutkos
Business
Cleveland, OH
Apr 16, 2013

San DIego

Great place to stay at. Staff was very nice and helpful always. Great palce to stay at downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Donovans

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VaneBee
Business
La
Apr 16, 2013

Never again!

Total nickel and dime place! I receommend staying at the Hilton bay front. They have fees too but at least the staff is not rude! I do not recommend this place at all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jkpone
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 10, 2013

Nice hotel in a great location

I recently attended a conference at the San Diego Convention Center and stayed here. It's directly across the streeet from the convention center and is centrally located to a ton of great restaurants, bars, etc. The hotel itself is very nice, the staff were friendly and the food was good. It was really noisy though during the night due to some people yelling through the halls and some street noise but other than that, I was really happy with the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Easter get away
Business
Menifee CA
Apr 9, 2013

Weekend get away

For the price it was a comfortable stay. Hotel associates are far and few in between. Hotel on the louder side especially by the pool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jackie....
Business
Lake Elsinore, CA, USA
Apr 2, 2013

Bar hopping

Awesome hotel! Great location! I got a great deal for room $100 a night, but I would not pay regular price for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Love that its at the entrance of GasLamp

Back to menu Return to top