$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

4 stars
View map of 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
301 out of 301
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nicola birthday girl
Business
San Diego
Sep 2, 2013

Fantastic room with space to sleep, relax and party!

We upgraded to a king suite. There was so much space and all the amenities were clean and top of the range. The hotel service was great. The Location could not be faulted, right at thr heart of the gaslamp district. We will Definitely book again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Alice in wonderland bar

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OC Occasional Traveler
Business
Orange County
Sep 2, 2013

Nice but Noisey

It was a little noisey in the hallways but other than that this place is great. Also a little expensive but still a fun atmosphere. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Action Jackson Geno
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 28, 2013

Fun Friend weekend

We had an overall, excellent time staying at this hotel. The staff was polite and helpful and the location was perfect. The pool design was a little disappointing and room service had our order incorrect 2 times, but other than that we really enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JRJack
Business
Fresno
Aug 25, 2013

Hard Rock fun

The Hard Rock hotel in Sab Diego is a really fun place, especially if you are under 30. Very hip, great location. The weekends are very busy, some say crazy. It is what it is, a Rock n Roll hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LAURA LA
Business
Los Angeles, ca
Aug 22, 2013

Mini getaway for 2

My bf and I went to SD for a mini getaway. location was perfect! Just down the street from petco park. Step outside and you'll be in the heart of the gaslamp district. Tons of shopping, bars, & restaurants. Staff was super cool. Help you out with everything and anything. Wanted to have some dinner out, but didn't leave the hotel til 10 so all the kitchens around were closed. Settled for Room service, but was pleasantly surprised. BEST steak ever! Def recommend * CONS: Parking was a little on the pricey side- $38/night. $19/night fee for amenities ("VIP access" to gym, pool, and their nightlife clubs: float and 207)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park across the street at the garage if you're not planning on going in n out. $27 max fee per day

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Onix01
Business
San DIego
Aug 2, 2013

Hard Rock Let Down

I was quite disappointed with my stay at the Hard Rock over the weekend of July 13, 2013. It was quite difficult to buzz ahead to have your car ready. The number given did not work, the given by the front desk, did not work and there was no one at the Consear desk to help. And the first night when my car was brought from Valet it had a horrible odor inside. Then time they brought my car and again, that horrible smell. Well we found it was the Valet person that brought my car had very bad hygiene. And we could not turn off the television in our room. The remote was not working and of course the button on the set did not work either. We had to wait until the next morning for the tv to repaired. I This was my first stay at the Hard Rock and unfortunately it was not a good one. I

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Michael Alf
Business
Oxnard, California
Jul 8, 2013

HORRIBLE!!

I stayed here for a friend's birthday celebration in the Gaslamp District. We were club-hopping and I after careful research, determined that this was the best location in terms of value and distance from the nightclubs were were going to. The staff were polite and friendly. They even asked what type of music I wanted playing in the room. I stayed on the 4th floor, the same floor as Intervention. I was trying to take a mid-day nap before my nighttime festivities. I had multiple drunk party-goers knocking on my door thinking it was their room. I did not get to nap and it was truly unacceptable. I had no time to directly inform the staff since I was on a tight schedule. After my wild night of partying, I figured that everyone would have been passed out and partied out. I had more people knock and bang at my door, cursing at me to let me in. For $300+ a night, you would think you could sleep and be treated with respect while in your room. I've stayed in multiple Vegas hotels and have partied hard, but the guests at this hotel party and treat this hotel make Vegas look like a day care facility. NEVER AGAIN!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mal T.
Business
Omaha, NE
Jun 28, 2013

DO NOT RECOMEND

HUGE LET DOWN!! DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME! My boyfriend and I attended their Intervention Sunday's Pool Party a couple weekends ago. I have been the the Hard Rock in Las Vegas and they know how to throw a pool party - unfortunately this one does NOT. We paid $40 each for a ticket in to a pool party, the pool is about 5' x 5' (notice there are no photos of the actual pool on the Intervention site page). IT SUCKS! We had an OK time due to meeting a fun couple there but otherwise the atmosphere were that of a cheap motel. We're 21 and 23 and were expecting a crazy/fun time. After an average day we came to find out that we had been charged for 15 shots that neither of us had taken- a bill of $300!! THEY WILL CHARGE EXTRA DRINKS/SHOTS TO YOUR CREDIT CARD. I asked to speak to a manager at which point we stood in the lobby for 20 minutes waiting. When a man came out he said he knew we took the shots and to pay or he would call the cops. I told him to call the cops then because there is no way my boyfriend and I would be able to stand had we taken 15 shots! He smiled and said, "I don't care if you did or not, you are paying for them." I will NEVER come back here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rob0629
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jun 11, 2013

weekend getaway

it was really good, stayed the weekend until monday and go tot enjoy intervention sundays at the hard rock. what an experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs. Welling
Business
Denver
Jun 3, 2013

Great Location Great Hotel

Had a great time in SD at the Hard Rock. Room was great, only missing a coffee pot. Staff were accomodating and the food and night clubs were top notch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top