$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 22, 2015 Check-out: Jun 23, 2015

Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

4 stars
View map of 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
319 out of 319
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Don't ask.
Business
Canada
Sep 16, 2013

Feeling So-So

Walking into the lobby was fun, the decor was modern, fresh and hip. Check in was fast and concierge was fantastic! RESORT FEE: There is a 19.00 resort fee that gives you access to the gym, coffee in the morning, wi-fi, daily newspaper. For me, the wi-fi rarely connected properly and we only received the newspaper once in the 4 days we were at the hotel. ROOM: Everything was clean for arrival but my roomie and I could smell puke beside one of the beds. Not great. ROOM SERVICE: The actual service was good; however, our dirty dishes sat outside of our room for a day and a half. Not sure if I would come back :S

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wvugirl86
Business
oak hill, wv
Sep 13, 2013

amazing location, great price

We stayed here for the first few days of our California coast honeymoon. Location and price couldn't be beat. However- the only parking they offer is $38 a day. Park yourself next door for $15 a day. We stayed in a king suite. The lady at check-in found us one with a balcony and view and upgraded us to that. Mary Jane's sticky bun was also amazing and HUGE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kaysworld
Business
Mission Hills, CA
Sep 10, 2013

Awesome Hotel!!!!!

We had an awesome time at the Hard Rock Hotel, the staff was amazing...and everything was so convenient and walking distance to all other famous places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

its a hotel that is so convenient to everything...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shugars
Business
Redwood City, CA, USA
Sep 3, 2013

Worst Hotel in San Diego

I have stayed here twice, both times over a long weekend, and will never stay here again. The staff is incredibly unhelpful and lazy no matter what level of room you're staying in. After repeated attempts to talk with management about an issue we had with our room, and being bounced around and not listened to, we gave up. Once they have your money, consider yourself ignored. Bottle service, cabana service, or paying for a suite has no impact.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

A good time saving tip is to NEVER EVER STAY HERE.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nicola birthday girl
Business
San Diego
Sep 2, 2013

Fantastic room with space to sleep, relax and party!

We upgraded to a king suite. There was so much space and all the amenities were clean and top of the range. The hotel service was great. The Location could not be faulted, right at thr heart of the gaslamp district. We will Definitely book again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Alice in wonderland bar

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OC Occasional Traveler
Business
Orange County
Sep 2, 2013

Nice but Noisey

It was a little noisey in the hallways but other than that this place is great. Also a little expensive but still a fun atmosphere. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Action Jackson Geno
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 28, 2013

Fun Friend weekend

We had an overall, excellent time staying at this hotel. The staff was polite and helpful and the location was perfect. The pool design was a little disappointing and room service had our order incorrect 2 times, but other than that we really enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JRJack
Business
Fresno
Aug 25, 2013

Hard Rock fun

The Hard Rock hotel in Sab Diego is a really fun place, especially if you are under 30. Very hip, great location. The weekends are very busy, some say crazy. It is what it is, a Rock n Roll hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LAURA LA
Business
Los Angeles, ca
Aug 22, 2013

Mini getaway for 2

My bf and I went to SD for a mini getaway. location was perfect! Just down the street from petco park. Step outside and you'll be in the heart of the gaslamp district. Tons of shopping, bars, & restaurants. Staff was super cool. Help you out with everything and anything. Wanted to have some dinner out, but didn't leave the hotel til 10 so all the kitchens around were closed. Settled for Room service, but was pleasantly surprised. BEST steak ever! Def recommend * CONS: Parking was a little on the pricey side- $38/night. $19/night fee for amenities ("VIP access" to gym, pool, and their nightlife clubs: float and 207)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park across the street at the garage if you're not planning on going in n out. $27 max fee per day

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Onix01
Business
San DIego
Aug 2, 2013

Hard Rock Let Down

I was quite disappointed with my stay at the Hard Rock over the weekend of July 13, 2013. It was quite difficult to buzz ahead to have your car ready. The number given did not work, the given by the front desk, did not work and there was no one at the Consear desk to help. And the first night when my car was brought from Valet it had a horrible odor inside. Then time they brought my car and again, that horrible smell. Well we found it was the Valet person that brought my car had very bad hygiene. And we could not turn off the television in our room. The remote was not working and of course the button on the set did not work either. We had to wait until the next morning for the tv to repaired. I This was my first stay at the Hard Rock and unfortunately it was not a good one. I

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top