$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

4 stars
View map of 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
302 out of 302
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Huntington Beach California
Sep 24, 2012

Great Birthday Stay

Loved the hotel! The pool was awesome and the room with the rain shower heads were great as well. We came down for a friend's birthday and the hotel was awesome. They have cool clubs and bars and the location could not be better. Literally in the heart of Gaslamp. The only thing I wished we had was a coffee maker in the room but other than that everything was fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
College Student485
Business
San Diego, California
Apr 2, 2014

Maybe not worth the price

VERY expensive and did'nt get much bang for the buck. Website made the hotel look a lot nicer than it really was. A little disappointing, but the staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DCermak
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 1, 2014

Weekend getaway

We had a nice stay at this hotel. The location is perfect. We came for our friend's birthday party. The only thing we didn't like was the food at Mary Jane's. We come to SD a couple of times a year. Definitely going to stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is within walking distance!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JAR 1978
Business
NYC
Mar 15, 2014

four star prices for a two star hotel

the hotel is overpriced but in a decent location. The service was OK. Overall it appears as if they are trying to be a trendy hotel but failing miserably

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SIDM777
Business
Sylmar, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Feb 3, 2014

Perfect Girl Night Out Getaway

The staff and hotel was amazing! Convenient location to restaurants, the mall and the clubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stacie Owens
Business
San Bernardino, California
Feb 3, 2014

Amazing stay

I loved my stay at the hard rock!! The service was amazing! And try let me check in a hour early and check out late! It was great! Made me feel special for my birth day weekend!! I loved it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is in the gaslmap district so everything is right by each other food bars and clubs! But the best part is that the hotel has a restaurant inside and even better is that if you want to party they have not one but two clubs that you get VIP passes for inside the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hip 40 something
Business
Pasadena, CA
Dec 6, 2013

40 and feeling old.

We checked in on a Sat. evening at 10:30 and it was chaos! Lobby felt like we were in a Vegas nightclub. Husband & I felt very old a 40ish… maybe there was a prom or something. Average age looked like 20. At least we got upgraded to a suite because of the traumatized looks on our faces. Room was beautiful and quiet despite all the craziness. Well designed and had a great wraparound outdoor patio with great views. Might try a Hard Rock again when in the mood to rock it up like 20 somethings. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ashok Traveller
Business
San Francisco, CA
Dec 2, 2013

Good one and at very good location

Location is awesome. Right on downtown. Easy to hangout over the weekend and night. Thanks for complimentary pass for their awesome Night club. Staff were friendly and would visit back there next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LARRY 17
Business
SAN DIEGO HARD ROCK HOTEL
Oct 20, 2013

UNEXPECTED HOTEL FEES

THE EXPERIENCE WAS GREAT. I PAID $128.28 FOR ADDITONAL HOTEL FEES THAT I WAS NOT AWARE OF UNTILL MY DEPARTURE DATE. I WAS NOT INFORMED ABOUT A "RESORT ' FEE. I WAS AT A COFERENCE FROM 7 AM TILL 10 PM AND DID NOT HAVE TIME FOR A ""RESORT"" ACTIVITIES.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Schmeck
Business
Augusta, GA
Sep 29, 2013

This place ROCKS!!

Labor Day weekend in the Gas Lamp Districts most rockin location! I wouldn't stay anywhere else. If your not looking for a party here, then YOUR TO OLD

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

At the entrance to the Gas Lamp District. Across the street from the trolley.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Don't ask.
Business
Canada
Sep 16, 2013

Feeling So-So

Walking into the lobby was fun, the decor was modern, fresh and hip. Check in was fast and concierge was fantastic! RESORT FEE: There is a 19.00 resort fee that gives you access to the gym, coffee in the morning, wi-fi, daily newspaper. For me, the wi-fi rarely connected properly and we only received the newspaper once in the 4 days we were at the hotel. ROOM: Everything was clean for arrival but my roomie and I could smell puke beside one of the beds. Not great. ROOM SERVICE: The actual service was good; however, our dirty dishes sat outside of our room for a day and a half. Not sure if I would come back :S

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top