$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 2, 2015

Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

4 stars
View map of 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
319 out of 319
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston, tx
Oct 19, 2009

Enjoyable stay!

The hotel was located within walking distance of great restaurants, cafes, and shops while offering a spectacular view of the bay. The hotel also offered two popular bars on site. The staff was friendly and attentive. The room and bathroom were very clean and comfortable. The only problem i had was the train located nearby that would sound it's horn late at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Mary Jane's Coffee Shop offered great omelets and huge cinammon rolls.

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dcent
Business
San Diego, CA
Oct 6, 2009

good accomodations for the price

Excellent service, comfortable bed. Nice workout facilities, and pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pinkberry yogurt is on the same block. It is excellent.

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
la habra ,ca
Oct 5, 2009

oc

rooms very modern. no locks on the door to shower or toliet. if you want privacy in those areas you wont get it. u can see ur shadows while your on the toliet or showering.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rialto, CA
Sep 28, 2009

Fun party place

The hotel has a very cool rock atmosphere. You do not want to go here if your not 21 or older though, me and my boyfriend are just shy of 21 and you can't go to any shows or clubs or hangout spots. But once I turn 21 I want to go back, I loved everything about the hotel except that the pool closed early, and only like one of the suites has a bathtub. We stayed in the rockstar suite, very nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
brent TC
Business
Washington
Sep 28, 2009

Good but spendy

Very nice hotel too bad they were working at night under my room. Had to move to get sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Nobu is great but expensive, Maryjanes is flat out over-priced

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CA
Sep 24, 2009

A Good Time!

This was my first time both going to San Diego and staying at a Hard Rock Hotel and I would do them both again! The hotel is located at one end of the Gaslamp Quarter so going out, if you aren't enjoying one of the clubs in the hotel, is a breeze. I had my car with me, but traffic on Saturday night was annoying so we walked and took pedi-cabs. The hotel was expensive and daily parking fees and resort charges really put it over the top, but most all hotels down there seem to charge for parking, so the location, comfort and atmosphere made it worth it to me... I did skip out on a bit of tipping though because I got tired of giving away money... Go with a budget or it'll be easy to spend! I got a standard room with two queen beds and there was just two of us staying in it so there was plenty space. The beds were very comfortable! The bathroom was also spacious. Nice shower, good water pressure, though I could've stood the temperature to be a bit hotter. They use Aveda prodects and I love Aveda so that was a plus. The tv was awesome! They offer some music channels in addition to regular channels. We had a view of the pool and a courtyard type area so we had some fun people watching... We even watched a wedding take place! It's about 15min away from Sea World and I noticed Petco Park was extremely close. The convention center is across the street and a good beach isn't that far either. The consierge can answer any questions and print directions. We did have one instance on Sunday with people partying loudly in the hall at about 2 or 3am. It didn't last long before they got quiet (not sure if they did it on their own or someone told them to). We weren't THAT bothered by it because we sort of expected it at one point or another and we were there to celebrate ourselves... Everyone's there to party!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Will be Back at the Hard Rock SD
Business
Corona, CA
Sep 21, 2009

Awesome location and vibe!

Great hip place, younger crowd, awesome location, it is loud there because of the clubs but fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Everything is close including dining, entertainment and shopping. Hotel is located at the start of the Gaslamp District.

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newport Beach, CA
Sep 14, 2009

Family Getaway, not so much.

We spent Friday and Saturday at the pool which is not for kids even though they allow children. We do not recommend ever taking your kids to the Hard Rock. Now if you are into the xxx scene then this is the place for you. NOT FOR KIDS. Extremely unfriendly staff again this could be because we had our son with us. Watch out for the added charges to the room that they do not disclose upfront.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Great Location!

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
body
Business
sand diego, ca
Sep 12, 2009

great

great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SSNY
Business
New York NY
Sep 9, 2009

Hard Rock Rocks

I went Labor day weekend so it was a huge scene of Young Adults that wanted to party. During their Sunday Intervention party I would have liked to go in the pool as it was so hot but the pool was tiny and packed. They could have def made it bigger since they had a decent amount of property. I would def recommend to friends and others. Just not families with kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top