$143 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 15, 2015

Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

4 stars
View map of 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
284 out of 284
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kailani
Couples
seattle, wa
Jul 14, 2009

San Diego

It would have been nice if when you call for information on all fees, that the hotel informs you instead of saying there arent any! It would have also been nice if we could have used the pool! and than still charging us for it upon checkout! the omni hotel should get the credit! they were nicer to us and we didnt even stay there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right up fifth!!! the best shopping!

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Diego, CA
Jun 28, 2009

So much Fun and Relaxing!!

The Hard Rock was in a great location. My boyfriend and I went to the rooftop bar at night called Float and had the best time! Drinks are expensive, so just be prepared to see the bill. Great view and staff! We only stayed for a night, but wished we stayed longer. We live in San Diego and were just looking to get away for a night and we did just that!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Float on the roof!

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Francisco, CA
Jun 17, 2009

Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

we stayed here 6/11/09 through orbitz for $135/night; however, i did not see the 'resort fee' on orbitz until after submitting my credit card. on orbitz, it is advertised as $15 plus tax however it is actually $17/day. it is a little noisy but just in the hallways; pretty soundproof in the rooms otherwise. also, this is another one of those hotels where you pretty much have to valet your car. we did this for the first night, however on the second night, we were able to find parking in the garage across from the Omni hotel for half the price. the rooftop bar is nice as is getting on the VIP list for the club downstairs since you are staying there as a guest. highlight of the trip was the *pinkberry* attached to the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DPorter
Couples
San Marcos, CA
Jun 15, 2009

Had Rock Hotel San Diego

The Clubs/Restaurants should cater more towards the guests during their stay. There was a 32 minute wait for the Sushi Bar @ 9pm, and we had to wait with the visitors. Also, check out time is 11am. A maid knocked on our door at 1030am. I've never had my door knocked on before in any hotel for checkout. The rest was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Make reservations for clubs/restaurants.

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
What's up wit dat?
Friends
Honolulu, HI
Jun 14, 2009

It was alright...

The Good...The Hard Rock is in a Great location you can easily walk around Gaslamp and enjoy the great nightlife. The Bad...The hotel staff was not the friendliest, the first person I encountered seemed as shady as a used car saleswoman. Then there was the valet...[...] (aka [...]...what a pr*ck), who didn't treat me with an ounce of hospitality until he found out that I was a hotel guest...I know I'm no rock star, but I get treated with more respect from the staff at Dick's then that guy! Then there was the hotel maid service who were great, but the ground control personnel that forgot to schedule a room clean-up...BTW don't expect clean bath towels on the weekend instead you'll be getting the pool towels. What's up with the $20 dollar a day fee on top of the room charge + taxes? I didn't see any fresh cut flowers in my room and did I receive my Rolling Stone magazines at the beginning of the week...no! Where did that money go...probably to the egos of the hotel staff...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dr.z
Couples
woodland hills
Jun 9, 2009

IT SUCKED!

The front entrance to the hotel is directly infront of the new padres stadium...so on game day, you have to wait 45 mins in traffic to get to the vallet! The room was nice, but it right near the elevator and very noisy. When we asked for a different room,they said we would have to pay more! FOR THE SAME ROOM?? COME ON! The pool was so small that 5 people fill it up! On Sunday, the "REHAB" party takes up the whole pool area, so unless you're a 20 something yearold stripper or frat boy, the pool is off limits! Then, after the party is over, they close the pool at 8 so you can't use it anyway! All in all, very pretty hotel, but not a place I would ever recomend to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

just look around!

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Austin, TX
Jun 7, 2009

Great hotel but not for toddlers!

We arrived at 10pm and the music was very loud! My 19 month old didn't appreciate it much. Great hotel if you are looking for the hot spot to spend with friends but not a good place for little ones.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Yucaipa, CA
Jun 7, 2009

Amazing Hotel

We went out for a night with some friends and had a great experience at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

As long as you out your name on the guest list, you don't have to pay or wait in line to get into Club 207 or Float!!!

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
San Diego
Jun 7, 2009

Sweet!

Very friendly and accommodating staff. First class amenities, HD TV. Immaculate decor. Great Gas Lamp location. Attention to detail is second to none. I was asked what kind of music I liked at check in. When I got to the room that music was playing. A great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Augie Next Door
Business
Newport Beach, CA
Jun 6, 2009

Horrible Customer Service

Horrible concierge service where you are put on VIP or some sort of guest list for bar/restaurant/night club and when you get to the so-called bar/restaurant/night club you are made to stand in a long line and have to pay cover of $20/person although you are spending a lot of money staying at the rooms in their hotel and the so-called bar/restaurant/nite club are in their hotel! Hotel only appears to be interested in money and not service for the money you are spending! Avoid this hotel if you want to get your money's worth!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Ivy Room where your money is appreciated with excellent service!

Back to menu Return to top