$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

4 stars
View map of 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
319 out of 319
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LaCenturion22
Montebello, CA
Mar 31, 2013

Great getaway

First time in the gaslamp quarter, and i loved that the hotel was within walking distant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

207 bar/lounge was fun

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Mom and Dad from Michigan
Business
Clarkston, Michigan
Dec 30, 2009

Rock Star Service for Everyone

Family of 5 bringing 3 adult children. So much for everyone to do. Pool, shopping, sight seeing. Such a great vacation. We will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

So many things to do

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pmm3v
Business
Greensboro, NC
Dec 21, 2009

Excellent Hotel with a few hidden issues

I had a great time at the Hard Rock, when I traveled to San Diego to attend a conference. I was not sure about the hotel, but after all the experience was very good. The front desk was awesome, they even accomadated a room change after placing me a room above the club. The location is great! The nightlife is the best in the Gaslamp Quarter, however if you are trying to do work at the hotel, it is not the best choice. The suite rooms have no desk area, just a small bar with very hard stools. The leather furniture is great as well as the the shower is AWESOME. I would advise to ask for a room away from the elevators and the club. My room on top of the club rattled for 4 hours on Friday night, thus the reason I had to leave the room. However, if you are a guest at the hotel, you can add your name to the the guest list and enter the club with no cover.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

If you do not like the younger club crowd do not book a room here on the weekend. Many patrons come to the Hard Rock on the weekend just to party.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 12, 2009

Room Service Ruined Trip

Hotel was at the perfect location since I was attending a conference at the convention center which is across the street. The front desk and concierge attendants were not friendly. We were frequently ignored when trying to obtain service. The room service was horrible. Housekeeping came before 12PM and did not come back unless we called. Whenever the room was serviced, our toiletries were not replenished and on occasions not enough towels. Drinking glasses were removed without being replaced. On one occasion we visited the front desk for toiletries and were ignored for about 10-15 minutes before a bellman came from outside to attend to us. He contacted the missing front desk attendant who gave us 1 bottle of lotion and 1 tiny bottle of body wash. Upon checking out we were asked about our stay. Once we began to respond, the attendant just made numerous excuses for the incompetent housekeepers. Overall, our stay could have been a million times better if we did not have to call the front desk everyday to obtain the missing necessities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

explore the different varieties of dining in the gaslamp area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
zima
Business
san jose, ca
Nov 22, 2009

Modern, clean... Yes. Quiet? Depends

Beautifully designed very modern rooms, extremely clean; however, don't come to stay if you plan to sleep at night Or ask for a more expensive suit away from the clubs. Probably a great place for partying but not for doing business. I booked this hotel because it is very close to the convention center. I asked for a quiet room and was offered a handicapped room on the top floor. However, I could still hear the clubs downstairs, I mean, each beat. On top of all, the young kids were having a party next door with loud music and screaming. Security tried to calm them down, but they are kids...and after all, it's a HARD ROCK HOTEL. Well, I had to work next day and was at the point of tears and ready to sleep in my car. The girls from the hotel heard my cry and moved me to a suit - beautiful, clean, and extremely quiet. So I was saved. I was very thankful. Keep in mind that you will have to pay about $17 of resort and spa fees in addition to your daily rate. I enjoyed my stay after I was moved. Was it worth the money? I would think twice before staying there next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

downstairs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Girls Weekend!
Business
CA
Nov 10, 2009

Hard Rock San Diego

Checking in was a breeze. We asked to be placed on a higher floor because of the noise from the clubs. We were on the 9th floor and this was perfect!! We had an awesome time. The restaurants were great! Everyone in the hotel was friendly. The two night spots Float and 207 were both fun! There are many restaurants in walking distance to the hotel as well as shops and the outdoor mall. We look forward to returning and staying at the Hard Rock SD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Nobu was great!! Mary Jane's stays open till 3am. The food at both were great and reasonable. We had a great girls weekend!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Weekend Visitor
Business
Orange County, Ca
Nov 8, 2009

Great San Diego Hotel!

Hard Rock is a great one stop hotel for those of you looking for a weekend get-a-way. The resturaunts are wonderful, Nobu and the Cafe. There are 2 clubs/lounges, pool is beautiful and the rooms are modern and spacious. Will stay here again in the near future. Highly recommended for couples and groups of friends. Also, check out the spa for some R&R.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Weekend Visitor
Business
Orange County, Ca
Nov 8, 2009

Great San Diego Hotel!

Hard Rock is a great one stop hotel for those of you looking for a weekend get-a-way. The resturaunts are wonderful, Nobu and the Cafe. There are 2 clubs/lounges, pool is beautiful and the rooms are modern and spacious. Will stay here again in the near future. Highly recommended for couples and groups of friends. Also, check out the spa for some R&R.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
Oct 29, 2009

Great Room and location

Hot hotel; although pool was very crowded with 20-30's getting very wild.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bleek
Business
LC, NM
Oct 27, 2009

Weekend at Hard Rock Hotel

The hotel presents itself young and hipand most guests are or at least would like to fulfill that credo. I read some bad reviews but despite having a younger appearing staff everything was really well and professionally handled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MEA fall breakers
Business
Mankato, MN
Oct 19, 2009

Very nicely done

Great access to the Gaslamp. Nice atmosphere. A little loud (music blaring until 2:00 am) but what do you expect really?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top