$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 25, 2014 Check-out: Nov 28, 2014

Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

4 stars
207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
286 reviews
Bachelorette weekend

It was an awesome weekend! I can't wait to go back! See full review

  • nikki alvar
  • Oct 20, 2014
Rock Out

One of the nicest hotels I have stayed at and its in the middle of many things. PETCO field, USS... See full review

  • Gunny from SD
  • Sep 22, 2014
Hip hotel with nightlife and music history

Situated at the official entrance to the Gaslamp Quarter, the Hard Rock Hotel San Diego is hip, cool and anything but ordinary. The rooftop bar has been voted the best in San Diego. Views from rooms below the bar aren't too bad either--most offering views of San Diego Bay. The hotel boasts a rooftop pool with cabanas, a full-service spa and two choices for unbeatable nightlife. Even the on-site sushi restaurant, Nobu San Diego, is chic.

Highlights
  • Two choices for unbeatable nightlife
  • Stellar views from the rooftop pool deck
  • Relax in the full-service spa
  • Nobu San Diego serves fresh sushi seven days a week
Rooms

The Hard Rock Hotel San Diego offers 420 rooms, including 16 suites varying in size and configuration. Each rooms boasts cantilevered furniture, rock posters and memorabilia. Basic rooms include a flat-screen TV, ceiling-mounted rain shower, refreshment center and in-room safe. Suites add sitting areas, coffee tables and mini-kitchenettes. All guests receive two VIP passes to the two on-site clubs, 207 and Float. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available (fees apply).

Features

The Hard Rock Hotel San Diego has received AAA's four diamond award, as well as numerous accolades for its environmental programs.

Guests of the hotel receive complimentary access to the heated rooftop pool. Visitors also receive VIP treatment at 207 and Float, the two clubs onsite. The hotel boasts a modest fitness center with Cybex equipment and offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

The real highlights of the Hard Rock Hotel San Diego are the restaurants onsite. Nobu San Diego serves some of the freshest sushi around, while Maryjane's is a trusted, upscale diner that specializes in comfort food.
Transportation
  • MTS Bus (1 block)
  • San Diego Trolley (2 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (4 mi/7 km)
Attractions
  • San Diego Convention Center (1 block)
  • Petco Park (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Zoo (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/7 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (6 mi/10 km)
  • Point Loma (7 mi/12 km)
  • Sea World (10 mi/16 km)
Business
  • 40,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour business center
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)
  • Parking fee is $40 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7075 -117.16
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
(SAN)San Diego International Airport 3 miles
Area description
The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the Gaslamp, in walking distance to the convention center, PETCO Park, San Diego Trolley and all of Gaslamp nightlife and shopping. The San Diego International Airport is only 3 miles away and freeway access is also very close.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hard Rock Hotel San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hard Rock Hotel San Diego Rooms

Rock Star Suite
Rock Star Suite with 1 king bed, separate living room and pool views. Fully integrated multi media system, 42" inch flat screen HDTV, wired / wireless HSIA, video games on demand, and plug & play technology to connect your computer or Ipod/Mp3 player. Sensually styled bathroom with ceiling mounted rain shower, custom lighting, stunning cantilevered furniture and luxurious linens. There is a $250 fine for smoking in our guest rooms. Rollaway beds are by request only and are not guaranteed, Rollaway beds are available for King bedded rooms only and for a charge of $30 a night.
Studio with Two Queen Bed
The bedding option for this room includes 2 queen bed with multi media system, 42" inch flat screen HDTV, wired / wireless HSIA, video games on demand, and plug & play technology to connect your computer or Ipod/Mp3 player, sensually styled bathroom with ceiling mounted rain shower, custom lighting, stunning cantilevered furniture and luxurious linens. There is a $250 fine for smoking in our guest rooms. Rollaway beds are by request only and are not guaranteed, Rollaway beds are available for King bedded rooms only and for a charge of $30 a night.
Hard Rock Suite with Two Queen Beds
The bedding option for this room includes 2 queen bed with multi media system, 42" inch flat screen HDTV, wired / wireless HSIA, video games on demand, and plug & play technology to connect your computer or ipod/Mp3 player, sensually styled bathroom with ceiling mounted rain shower, custom lighting, stunning cantilevered furniture and luxurious linens. There is a $250 fine for smoking in our guest rooms. Rollaway beds are by request only and are not guaranteed, Rollaway beds are available for King bedded rooms only and for a charge of $30 a night.
Studio King
The bedding option for this room includes 1 king bed with multi media system, 42" inch flat screen HDTV, wired / wireless HISA, video games on demand, and plug & play technology to connect your computer or Ipod/Mp3 player, sensually styled bathroom with ceiling mounted rain shower, custom lighting, stunning cantilevered furniture and luxurious linens. There is a $250 fine for smoking in our guest rooms. Rollaway beds are by request only and are not guaranteed, Rollaway beds are available for King bedded rooms only and for a charge of $30 a night.
Hard Rock King Suite
The bedding option for this room includes 1 king bed with multi media system, 42" inch flat screen HDTV, wired / wireless HSIA, video games on demand, and plug & play technology to connect your computer or Ipod/Mp3 player, sensually styled bathroom with ceiling mounted rain shower, custom lighting, stunning cantilevered furniture and luxurious linens. There is a $250 fine for smoking in our guest rooms. Rollaway beds are by request only and are not guaranteed, Rollaway beds are available for King bedded rooms only and for a charge of $30 a night.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.8 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.8 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.8 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.8 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.9 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.5 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.9 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.3 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 5.8 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.9 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.8 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.6 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.8 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.6 mi
  • Legoland: 30.5 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Modern, non-traditional design and cutting-edge technology permeates Hard Rock's 40,000 square feet of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space. Highlights include an expansive urban garden with bird's-eye views of the Gaslamp Quarter, a boardroom with 16-foot floor-to-ceiling glass walls, a 750 square foot glass-enclosed boardroom that overlooks a 5,000 square foot live concert venue and a stylish 9,100 square foot main event room capable of accommodating up to 1,000 guests. Meeting planners receive extreme Rock Star service including a backstage pass that allows them uninhibited 'back of the house' access anytime during events. And from the moment groups arrive to the second the last limo leaves, our staff will be on hand to anticipate and fulfill every need.

Dining

207
Located in the lobby. Decor features a wood bar with black leather accents and padded bar stools upholstered with white crocodile. Specially designed tables include individual beer taps, allowing beer aficionados to choose their own brand and serve themselves. Open late afternoon to late night.
Nobu
Japanese cuisine with Peruvian influences. The menu includes signature dishes such as Fresh Yellowtail Sashimi with Jalapeno and Broiled Black Cod with Miso. Dinner is served each evening in the sushi bar or the dining room; drinks are available in the lounge.
Maryjane's Coffee Shop
Serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner in a laid-back atmosphere. Menu includes American and regional dishes, such as L.A. Sticky Buns, Chopped Cobb Salad, and Chicken Pot Pie. Indoor and outdoor dining available. Open early morning to late evening; late-night hours available on the weekend.
Float
Rooftop pool bar with private poolside cabanas and outdoor leather lounge seating. Flat-screen TVs and minibars. Fire pits are surrounded by sectional seating and opium beds. Open late afternoon to late night.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (286)

Ratings and reviews for Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
286 out of 286
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fat Tony
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 29, 2012

Had a great getaway

I was in town for this weekends Holiday Bowl. I was pleased to find we were right in the middle of all the action. Perfect location to all the restaurants and bars. Check in was fast. Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kdimaz
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 16, 2009

Hard Rock Rocks!

Nice hotel, great locations, hot spot to go out at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
santa cruz, ca
Aug 16, 2009

Great Trip!

this was a great trip! everyone was very friendly, helpful, the pool was very relaxing,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there is great dining and shopping all within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Hampshire
Aug 13, 2009

This was a great experience!

The room itself was top shelf with very luxurious bed, great TV and media hookups, large bathroom with all of the amenities. The location was fantastic for me with a very short walk to Petco park, the convention center, the theatre, great restaurants and best of all the yogurt place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to attend a MLB game, this is where you want to stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bachelorette Babe
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 10, 2009

Perfect Bachelorette Hotel

I celebrated my Bachelorette weekend at the Hard Rock – in Style! The location cannot be beat. The staff ensured my stay was perfect! The concierge was extremely helpful. The pool is a non-stop party and Mary Jane's Café has the best hash browns around. I could not have asked for a better hotel experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Sevilla has amazing spanish food and live entertainment (Flamenco).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Not the Daddy
Business
Joshua Tree, CA
Aug 8, 2009

Husband and Wife not Mommy and Daddy!

We had no clue to the $250 a night security deposit before checking in. That was the first hic-up. The only other complaint is to stay away from the first four floors facing 6th street due to the delivery trucks working earlier than we wanted to wake up. We did park in the Parking Garage on 6th street to avoid paying for the Valet parking and spent $19 for the two days we parked there. Most things were within walking distance we wished to visit, and the Concierge was very helpful in finding any information, and even offered discount tickets to Sea World. I got an hour and a half free time from my wife when she took the Spa challenge and she said she loved it. We did enjoy our stay there and definitely will be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park in the Parking Garage on 6th Street next to the Hard Rock Hotel. The price was Uber inexpensive compared to the Valet parking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 4, 2009

Yay and Nay

The Hotel was beautiful as were the rooms, but the pool was quite disappointing. It was actually quite small. The pictures on the website made it look alot larger. Also the pool was very cloudy in the afternoon (dirty) and there were so many children. It was sort of awkward to see all the adults trying to make the jacuzzi the hot spot because not everyone fit. I saw about 7 grown men and two girls around there and not enough room for the rest of the adults. When I go on vacation and I pick Hotels, it is because of the pool. This pool did not stand up to the hotel's name at all. While we were there we vistied old town. That was alot of fun. We also went out to the Gaslamp. Security there is horrible and rude. I was warned prior to going there to watch out with security because they have a bad reputation in SD. They have huge ego's (so basically do not say anything to them and you will not get yourself in a scuffle).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are looking for great food, go to Old Town San Diego.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 4, 2009

Do NOT recommend

This was the worst experience at a hotel I have ever had. First night was woke at 2 AM by 5 mins of insistant knocking at my door by bellhop, insisting he had the toothpaste I ordered. Did not order! Second night the whole party scene from the club in the lobby moved to my floor and continued all night long. 50 loud obnoxious "kids"-screaming drunk, knocking on doors-yelling. When I called the desk-the security "boys" they sent joined in the party. Needless to say-I checked out a day early and spent last night at Embassy suites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travelin1
Business
Baltimore, Md
Jul 23, 2009

check this out before u book

Upon arrival we were greeted by being informed of a 32 dollar /day charge for parking +very rude young staff My girlfriend I who are both 30 y/o enjoy the party seen howeever this place is very loud & overboard as far a noise It is centrally located is the only plus however upon checkout we were informed of a 17 charge for the internet and pool Many dissatisfied patrons during our stay. Everything has a cost at this place & would not stay at this place again.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
az25guy
Business
phoenix az
Jul 20, 2009

i wouldnt stay here again

I did NOT like my stay here.... overly priced.. waaay to many hidden fees. come on 250 deposit a night??? i mean you get your money back after check out but if your not prepared for that as I was it is a problem. Parking is a pain from the begining valet parking that cost 32 a day, plus to park and to get your car the wait is way too long and does get annoying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right downtown. Everything is right there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles
Jul 20, 2009

Hard Rock rocks

The hotel is gorgeous, in a very modern, loud, fun - electric kinda way. It feels like a bit of Vegas in CA. The crowd was young and good looking and there for a good time. The room was nicely done, but see-through walls in the shower and bathrooms I thought were tacky, and gimmicky and NOT good if you're not completely comfortable with the person you're sharing a room with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

the line to check out on Sunday was craziness, use the TV in your room to express check out and avoid that mess.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top