$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

4 stars
View map of 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
298 out of 298
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Mar 28, 2010

Ok, but not great

Decor and location were great, but room was not that functional, and the bed was uncomfortable. I think you can get better hotels in this price range. The rooftop bar (4th floor) is awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JanelleyM
Business
Detroit, MI
Mar 11, 2010

Beautiful Hotel, Great Location....

This was my first visit to San Diego, although I have stayed in Hard Rock hotels before. The Hard Rock San Diego definitely did not disappoint! The room was beautiful, especially the floor-to-ceiling window with an awesome view of the city and the bay. The iPod hook up to the huge, flat screen TV was very cool, and the hotel provides you with a connector. The staff was very friendly, from room service to valet to front desk staff, and were really helpful with info about the Gaslamp Quarter and where to visit/party. My only complaints were the expense of room service and valet parking. Room service food was, for the most part, pretty good - but be prepared to spend $18 for a hamburger, plus a $4.00 service charge every time. And pay attention to your bill - they automatically add a 19% gratuity, which I missed the first time and tipped the guy extra on top of it. Also, there is very little parking in/around the Gaslamp Quarter, and the Hard Rock only offers valet - which is $35/day. However, all things considered, San Diego is a major city, and the expense of the Hard Rock and it's amenities seemed to be akin to that of everything else around it. Overall, had a great experience, and will definitely go back. Actually ended up changing my flight and adding another night to my stay, but booked it through the Hard Rock hotel itself. The staff was very accommodating through the whole process, and was able to keep me in the same room. Would definitely recommend to people looking for a fun, trendy place to stay - but probably not the best place for families and those looking for a quiet time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego CA
Mar 11, 2010

Lots of fun!

We traveled with grown kids and they loved the Hard Rock atmosphere, very different from the usual hotel experience. The nightlife at 207 on a Saturday night was fantastic! Having drinks by the fire at Float was also terrific. And the restaurants were great - from upscale Nobu to laid back Maryjane's. The hotel is right in downtown San Diego and within walking distance of the shops and restaurants. We loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NW Doubler
Business
Olympia WA
Feb 28, 2010

Great price, great hotel, great service

The Hard Rock is in a great location at the edge of the historic Gaslamp District with easy access to downtown and beyond via trolley & light rail, and there are pedicabs readily available for local travel. There are restaurants everywhere and even stage theater. The neighborhood is very clean and seemed very safe. The hotel is decorated in an extremely trendy & hip style and the room was beautiful. It actually reminded me of some of the nicer hotel rooms on the Vegas strip, including the Wynn. Before I booked my stay there I read some online reviews that mention that one could expect a long night of thumpa-thumpa dance music if staying in a room too close to the nightclub, so when I checked in I asked for a room far away from the club. No problem, I was told, my room would be on the 7th floor. That was fine during the week until Thursday (when the weekend starts) when suddenly a huge crowd lined up in the street and the thumpa-thumpa began. It was indeed a bit audible even on the 7th floor since my room was directly above the club and the crowd but it was no big deal. Other than that, my stay at the Hard Rock was extremely smooth. The room was very clean, and the exercise room is free and open 24/7, and actually superior to most I've seen with some really high-tech cardio & weight machines and free weights. Without exception, every employee I encountered was extremely friendly & professional--from the desk staff to the parking valet to the waitress in the coffee shop to the manager himself who was circulating like a regular guy with the guests, and who went out of his way to ask me about my stay and thanked me for choosing the Hard Rock. This was my first visit to San Diego, and I wouldn't stay anywhere but the Hard Rock again in the future. Check it out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the scenic MLK pathway up Harbor Drive, cross Harbor Drive at the Hyatt, and you will find the Seaport Village area. There are some extremely cool shops & restaurants along the waterfront, with a scenic walkway that runs all the way to the Embarcadero Park. Great place to shop, eat, walk & people-watch!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Tx
Feb 26, 2010

Rocked!

The location of this hotel is great! Right in the middle of downtown with lots of things a short walk or cab ride away. When you walk in the lobby, its very bright, colorful, and open. Staff was friendly but I did not have to deal with them very much.You pay a small mandatry fee and you are allowed access to all the facilities plus you get Wifi. The rooms have cables that you can use to connect your IPOD to the TV speakers which was great for jammin in your room right before you go out. Rooms werent too big but they werent necessarily too small either. Beds were very soft and comfortable leading to amazing sleep. Shower had a dual head and was great! Bar downstairs was cool but I heard on wknds it gets SUPER packed. The pool is very small and so is the hottub. There is a bar in the pool area though so it seems like in the summer this place would be a cool place to party and hang out. We priced lined this hotel and got a great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Feb 22, 2010

great hotel, great base price

[...], this was easily the best deal in the area near the Convention Center. The only downside I experienced was all the pushed selling in the hotel room, especially the stocked fridge full of expensive drinks - you can't actually use the fridge in the room unless you take all of Hard Rock's items out while you're there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

SO many places to eat just up 5th Avenue - there for a week, never ate at the same place twice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis
Feb 21, 2010

Great downtown/convettion location

Great location to the convention center and Gaslamp quarter. Neat, clean, upbeat hotel. Classic rock and roll music played in lobby.Fun to see the rock and roll memorabilia. Big HD TV in room. Shower awesome with spray from above and side. Lots of fantastic restaurants up the Gaslamp strip. Coffee shop at hotel was average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great variety of restaurants close by

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
IJ
Business
Orange County, CA
Jan 26, 2010

San Diego Hard Rock Hotel Review

Our room was over the nightclub and it was impossible to sleep until 2:00 AM when the music stopped. Unless you want to stay up late and party, I do not suggest that you go to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
junction city, oregon
Jan 24, 2010

they were wonderful...

first off, I had a big f550 truck and the valet didn't blink an eye to park it or bring it to me. From then on the staff was wonderful. Loved the location and really enjoyed the restaurant attached...MaryJanes and the french frys with wavy gravy........yummy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

be ready to shop and eat, so many choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Jan 22, 2010

Cool hotel with quiet guest rooms!

Nicely appointed rooms, that were very quiet. Great location, restaurants and bars. Very busy place. Staff was mixed on friendliness - check in staff were fantastically accomodating, but wait staff were a bit snobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top