$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

4 stars
View map of 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
302 out of 302
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Walton Beach, FL
Jun 17, 2010

Hardrock Hotel Feedback

Convient location (5 minute walk) to the Convention Center and the Padres stadium. Within walking distance to all the shops in the Glasslamp District. Staff was very friendly and helpful! No coffee maker in room, which was a major inconvience!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix
Jun 16, 2010

Great location but poorly designed

Unfortunately, we arrived late on a Friday night and the valet and front desk are located nearly inside one of the hotels clubs. This made for a hectic arrival and after a long day of travel it was very exhausting. After waiting for cabs and pedicabs to leave we were able to have the car valeted for $35 a day. Then it became more difficult to check-in because the front desk was swarming with overflow from the club which was not more than 25ft away. It was extremely difficult to communicate with the help and I found myself screaming my name to the woman at the front desk. When we finally made it up to our room, our bags that a bellman had taken for us, were nowhere to be found. Over 30 minutes later and 2 phone calls, another bellman arrived with our bags and let me know that he had been keeping his eye on them in the hall and that he had been wondering why they had been "just sitting there". After a frustrating and tiring check-in, that was a little scary and the last thing that we had wanted to hear. Needless to say, it was not a good start for a long weekend. I will say that the rooms were nice and comfortable. The room had sliding doors that opened to the city as opposed to a window, which was a nice touch. There was plenty of open space but the design of the bathroom and its location were questionable. The glass door to the shower could be viewed from the sitting area, so if guests were present they would be able to watch anyone who was taking a shower and/or on the opposite side using the restroom. It was as if they were designed backwards. Overall, it was a nice hotel, but definitely not one of my favorites. Just a little too much drama for me but would be a great place to hang out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westlake Village, CA
Jun 10, 2010

Bad bad attitudes!!!!

Even though the actual hotel was great. The staff killed our trip. it put us in a very bad mood from the min we got there till the sec we left. very poor customer sevice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Micro gal
Business
Tucson,AZ
May 30, 2010

Blow your mind away.....

The employees were great and always had time to promote San Diego and get you to where ever you wanted to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Partying days Friday-Sunday. Non-stop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Baddog
Business
Monterey, CA
May 23, 2010

Awsome Room

This was a great room in an excellent location. The service was great but the noise from the hallway late at night kept us awake during the early morning hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travels Too Often
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 22, 2010

Great Stay

The Hard Rock surprised me ... it was even nicer than the neighboring Omni, where my conference was. I was glad the Omni was sold out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Mar 28, 2010

Ok, but not great

Decor and location were great, but room was not that functional, and the bed was uncomfortable. I think you can get better hotels in this price range. The rooftop bar (4th floor) is awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JanelleyM
Business
Detroit, MI
Mar 11, 2010

Beautiful Hotel, Great Location....

This was my first visit to San Diego, although I have stayed in Hard Rock hotels before. The Hard Rock San Diego definitely did not disappoint! The room was beautiful, especially the floor-to-ceiling window with an awesome view of the city and the bay. The iPod hook up to the huge, flat screen TV was very cool, and the hotel provides you with a connector. The staff was very friendly, from room service to valet to front desk staff, and were really helpful with info about the Gaslamp Quarter and where to visit/party. My only complaints were the expense of room service and valet parking. Room service food was, for the most part, pretty good - but be prepared to spend $18 for a hamburger, plus a $4.00 service charge every time. And pay attention to your bill - they automatically add a 19% gratuity, which I missed the first time and tipped the guy extra on top of it. Also, there is very little parking in/around the Gaslamp Quarter, and the Hard Rock only offers valet - which is $35/day. However, all things considered, San Diego is a major city, and the expense of the Hard Rock and it's amenities seemed to be akin to that of everything else around it. Overall, had a great experience, and will definitely go back. Actually ended up changing my flight and adding another night to my stay, but booked it through the Hard Rock hotel itself. The staff was very accommodating through the whole process, and was able to keep me in the same room. Would definitely recommend to people looking for a fun, trendy place to stay - but probably not the best place for families and those looking for a quiet time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego CA
Mar 11, 2010

Lots of fun!

We traveled with grown kids and they loved the Hard Rock atmosphere, very different from the usual hotel experience. The nightlife at 207 on a Saturday night was fantastic! Having drinks by the fire at Float was also terrific. And the restaurants were great - from upscale Nobu to laid back Maryjane's. The hotel is right in downtown San Diego and within walking distance of the shops and restaurants. We loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NW Doubler
Business
Olympia WA
Feb 28, 2010

Great price, great hotel, great service

The Hard Rock is in a great location at the edge of the historic Gaslamp District with easy access to downtown and beyond via trolley & light rail, and there are pedicabs readily available for local travel. There are restaurants everywhere and even stage theater. The neighborhood is very clean and seemed very safe. The hotel is decorated in an extremely trendy & hip style and the room was beautiful. It actually reminded me of some of the nicer hotel rooms on the Vegas strip, including the Wynn. Before I booked my stay there I read some online reviews that mention that one could expect a long night of thumpa-thumpa dance music if staying in a room too close to the nightclub, so when I checked in I asked for a room far away from the club. No problem, I was told, my room would be on the 7th floor. That was fine during the week until Thursday (when the weekend starts) when suddenly a huge crowd lined up in the street and the thumpa-thumpa began. It was indeed a bit audible even on the 7th floor since my room was directly above the club and the crowd but it was no big deal. Other than that, my stay at the Hard Rock was extremely smooth. The room was very clean, and the exercise room is free and open 24/7, and actually superior to most I've seen with some really high-tech cardio & weight machines and free weights. Without exception, every employee I encountered was extremely friendly & professional--from the desk staff to the parking valet to the waitress in the coffee shop to the manager himself who was circulating like a regular guy with the guests, and who went out of his way to ask me about my stay and thanked me for choosing the Hard Rock. This was my first visit to San Diego, and I wouldn't stay anywhere but the Hard Rock again in the future. Check it out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the scenic MLK pathway up Harbor Drive, cross Harbor Drive at the Hyatt, and you will find the Seaport Village area. There are some extremely cool shops & restaurants along the waterfront, with a scenic walkway that runs all the way to the Embarcadero Park. Great place to shop, eat, walk & people-watch!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top