$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

4 stars
View map of 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
298 out of 298
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ca
Nov 28, 2010

charge like a rockstar but don't produce

They greet you very nicely when you arrive. However, their service leaves a lot to be desired. We placed an order with room service that never materialized. When we went to the diner (MaryJanes), we saw our food sitting next to the heatlamps for 12 minutes before they finally brought it over. Worst of all, when we got home, we saw that the charges to my credit card didn't match the checkout bill. Instead of a single charge to the credit card (matching the checkout bill), we saw two separate charges, that totaled over $100 more than the checkout bill. Because I was getting the runaround about their charging discrepancy (they insisted that they only charged my card what my bill stated despite evidence to the contrary), I had to cancel my credit card. The Hard Rock Hotel was all show, with mediocre service and very questionable charging practices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SofistiKat
Business
San Francisco, CA
Nov 26, 2010

T-giving time in San Diego

The hotel is nice, but the staff seems so insincere , that it takes away from the hotel. There are no robes in the bathroom, the famed in-house diner MaryJanes is overpriced and below mediocre, the pool, shown in the pictures, is TINY and not heated, and the jacuzzi that is heated, is EVEN smaller. I asked the front desk clerks on ideas, she sent me to a concierge, citing that she had no idea about things to do in SD. The maids start cleaning and talking loudly at about 8, so if you are a light sleeper, hold on tight to your ear plugs. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 23, 2010

The Hard Rock Hotel is Awesome!!!

It was our 1st time staying at a Hard Rock hotel & we mainly picked it for the location which was excellent! It's near tons of attractions in San Diego. The price was decent compared to many of the downtown / Gaslamp Quarter hotels & the service is Great!! After this, I'd definitely stay a another Hard Rock hotel again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

An abundance of nightlife nearby and also in the hotel itself.... also near Excellent dining choices too!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
patty mac
Business
garden grove,ca
Sep 19, 2010

awesome night at the hard rock

We ate at the spagetti factory which is within walking distance from the hotel. For the night life we got vip passes to check out the hotels lounge and bar. 207 and float. This was great for me because I did not want to leave this great hotel. It was so modern and up to date. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bristol, CT
Sep 17, 2010

Loved It

The rooms are awesome in this hotel, very modern, super clean and the bed was so comfortable I wish we could have brought it home. On the weekends the whole place is alive due to the populated clubs and the pool party on Sunday. However during the week its very quiet and relaxing. My husband loved the new gym equipment and there's a great computer room where you could go online at any time just in case you didn't bring your computer with you. The coffee shop downstairs has excellent food and great service. And being our first time in San Diego we couldn't have asked for a better location. The baseball stadium is one street over, and the seaport shops, Little Italy and the mall are all within walking distance. If we ever have the chance to get back to San Diego we wouldn't stay at any other place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on doing a lot of site seeing such as the Zoo, Misson Beach, Sea World, La Jolla it's cheaper just to rent a car instead of taking taxi's to all these places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Sep 13, 2010

Great Location, But Too Noisy To Sleep!!

We are glad we stayed at the Hard Rock in San Diego because the location was perfect. We were able to walk to Sea Port Village to hang out, we walked to Horton Plaza Mall, close to lots of other shopping and restaurants and it was close to the harbor to catch a ferry over to Coronado. Just a prime location! The staff is a hit or miss. Most of them were very friendly, but there were a few that were not nice at all. The restaurants at the hotel are worth the wait and money! Nobu was a great dining experience. Loved it!! We ate at Pinkberry every morning for breakfast, nothing like some yummy yogurt in the morning to get you going!! The worst part about our stay was the noise. It is a very loud hotel on the weekends. You can hear the bass from their clubs on the top floor until about 2am. Then you get to hear noisy drunks outside your room running up and down the hallway until about 3am. So if you plan on sleeping during your trip, don't plan on it until after 3am!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Must eat at Nobu, great dinner and wonderful staff!! Also must try Pinkberry, great for a snack or breakfast!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
AZ
Sep 4, 2010

love love loved it

we had a great time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RB Fit
Business
Aliso Viejo CA
Sep 3, 2010

Hard Rock Rocks

Part business/part pleasure trip. Hotel is immaculate.....rooms are very cool. Everyone was very professional....great attitudes. Felt like they wanted us to be there. Easy check in/check out...definitely will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Sushi restaurant in hotel was a little pricey, but EXCELLENT food. Definitely recommend. Maryjane's is AWESOME for breakfast/lunch....great food.....good price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Aberdeen,SD
Aug 29, 2010

Hard Rock San Diego

Attended a convention. The only advice to travelers would be don't stay above the bar called 207. Very loud all the way up to at least the 4th floor. Noise from band lasted until 2 am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Seaport Village approx. 3/4 mile walk. Very good food choices and a little cheaper.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OC Friends
Business
Orange County, CA
Aug 23, 2010

Hark Rock Review

We had a good time but it is definitely a younger crowd looking to party.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top