$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

4 stars
View map of 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
318 out of 318
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gold stars pawn shop 888-465-3990
Business
san diego ca
Jan 23, 2011

GET CHARGED MORE THEN A ROCK STAR

KIND OF A RIP OFF A TRAVEL LODGE IS ABOUT THE SAME 250.00 A NIGHT ROOM DEPOSIT NICE BIRTHDAY COUNTER PERSON WAS KINDA RUDE LIKE YOU ARE LUCKY BE BE HERE TOURISUM TAX WELL I LIVE HERE THEIRS IS AN EXTRA 32.00 PARKING 35.00 AND DONT FOR GET TO TIP YOU WILL BE TREATED RUDE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

DONT PARTY THEIR GO DOWN THE GAS LAMP THEIR DRINKS ARE DOUBLE AND YOU ONCE AGAIN WILL BE LUCY TO BE THEIR NO CUSTOMER SERVICE

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gold stars pawn shop 888-465-3990
Business
san diego ca
Jan 23, 2011

GET CHARGED MORE THEN A ROCK STAR

KIND OF A RIP OFF A TRAVEL LODGE IS ABOUT THE SAME 250.00 A NIGHT ROOM DEPOSIT NICE BIRTHDAY COUNTER PERSON WAS KINDA RUDE LIKE YOU ARE LUCKY BE BE HERE TOURISUM TAX WELL I LIVE HERE THEIRS IS AN EXTRA 32.00 PARKING 35.00 AND DONT FOR GET TO TIP YOU WILL BE TREATED RUDE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

DONT PARTY THEIR GO DOWN THE GAS LAMP THEIR DRINKS ARE DOUBLE AND YOU ONCE AGAIN WILL BE LUCY TO BE THEIR NO CUSTOMER SERVICE

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northeast Ohio
Jan 11, 2011

Clean, basic accomodations

The hotel was clean and the food that I had was good. I did not appreciate that they automatically added a fee for internet when I did not use it, so I had them take it off. Was disappointed they were charging for internet at all as I had thought it was included in the price. Most of the female staff in their Mary Jane's restaurant were very attentive, but my last night there, I had to get the attention of the male waiter at the counter. I was surprised there was no bathtub -- only a shower -- would prefer both. Prefer brighter lighting in the bathroom than was provided. I used the spa -- had a massage -- truly loved the service and staff in the spa. Five stars for spa staff. Would have preferred in-room complementary coffee option that is available in most hotels. Disappointed on that. Location was perfect for my needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to lots of dining options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northridge, CA
Jan 1, 2011

Great in all areas

Hotel was "hip" in all areas...Food was great in MaryJanes and the service was fantastic. Was there for the Holiday Bowl and saw too many Nebraska fans...It just so happened that the Hard Rock was Nebraska "Alumni Central"...That's ok since Washington won the game...Location was the best in the GasLamp Plaza...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ny
Dec 31, 2010

Not too bad

San Diego is a great place to visit. We truly had a great time. Take advantage of everything the city has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, michigan
Dec 29, 2010

Parking and "resort fee" too expensive.

$35 per day for parking is laughable. Considering it cost me less to rent the car each day. The hotel attempts to make you feel like a rock star?? Not me, [...] The gym was small, the spa is overpriced, the mbar was even more overpriced and it looked as if the snacks had been sitting there for several months. $4 for a tiny package of gummy bears??? Not to mention a 29% in service charges and tax. The "intimacy kit" was offensive. The whole hotel seemed like a cheap facade of promiscuity and alcoholism. [...]. I was weary when I chose the hotel and got hosed like expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Philly Pete
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Dec 22, 2010

Hard Rock in San Diego

The Hotel is perfectly position in the middle of were everything is happening. I attended my business convention which was right accross the avenue at the convention center. The weather was perfect comparing the the weather at home, Philadelphia. I had access to so many places to visit after business that I was never bored at night. Many places to eat and near by. I had a good time, the hotel service was amazing. Definetly a place to visit on leisure time with my wife.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The nightlife in the immediate area of the hotel was amazing every night I was there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Andover, MA
Dec 14, 2010

A solid experience, with great location

The location of the hotel was fantastic. I was on business at the convention center, which was located right across the street. It was within walking distance of many places to eat and shop. I was also able to fit in some leisure time as well. It was a quick ride to the Zoo, and the hotel was located right next to some public transportation as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great breakfast place, The Broken Yolk, was less than a 5 minute walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
Dec 12, 2010

Great Hotel, We'll Be Back!

Our room had a great view of the Gaslamp District and was VERY nice. The staff was super friendly and helpful. Drinks at the bar were a bit pricey but that was the only thing we found that we weren't thrilled about. Overall, a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk down to Market street and back up 5th from there, shopping along the way. By the time you're done and loaded down with bags, you'll be at the hotel (It's the last building on 5th) and able to drop off your bags and relax before going back out!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hawaii
Dec 10, 2010

It Rocked

Way better than the W

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top