$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

4 stars
207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
288 reviews
Rock on!

Great location at gateway to the Gaslamp. Nice staff. Rent a guitar for your room : ) See full review

  • BookNation
  • Nov 28, 2014
Bachelorette weekend

It was an awesome weekend! I can't wait to go back! See full review

  • nikki alvar
  • Oct 20, 2014
Hip hotel with nightlife and music history

Situated at the official entrance to the Gaslamp Quarter, the Hard Rock Hotel San Diego is hip, cool and anything but ordinary. The rooftop bar has been voted the best in San Diego. Views from rooms below the bar aren't too bad either--most offering views of San Diego Bay. The hotel boasts a rooftop pool with cabanas, a full-service spa and two choices for unbeatable nightlife. Even the on-site sushi restaurant, Nobu San Diego, is chic.

Highlights
  • Two choices for unbeatable nightlife
  • Stellar views from the rooftop pool deck
  • Relax in the full-service spa
  • Nobu San Diego serves fresh sushi seven days a week
Rooms

The Hard Rock Hotel San Diego offers 420 rooms, including 16 suites varying in size and configuration. Each rooms boasts cantilevered furniture, rock posters and memorabilia. Basic rooms include a flat-screen TV, ceiling-mounted rain shower, refreshment center and in-room safe. Suites add sitting areas, coffee tables and mini-kitchenettes. All guests receive two VIP passes to the two on-site clubs, 207 and Float. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available (fees apply).

Features

The Hard Rock Hotel San Diego has received AAA's four diamond award, as well as numerous accolades for its environmental programs.

Guests of the hotel receive complimentary access to the heated rooftop pool. Visitors also receive VIP treatment at 207 and Float, the two clubs onsite. The hotel boasts a modest fitness center with Cybex equipment and offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply).

The real highlights of the Hard Rock Hotel San Diego are the restaurants onsite. Nobu San Diego serves some of the freshest sushi around, while Maryjane's is a trusted, upscale diner that specializes in comfort food.
Transportation
  • MTS Bus (1 block)
  • San Diego Trolley (2 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (4 mi/7 km)
Attractions
  • San Diego Convention Center (1 block)
  • Petco Park (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Zoo (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/7 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (6 mi/10 km)
  • Point Loma (7 mi/12 km)
  • Sea World (10 mi/16 km)
Business
  • 40,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour business center
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)
  • Parking fee is $40 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hard Rock Hotel San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hard Rock Hotel San Diego Rooms

Rock Star Suite
Rock Star Suite with 1 king bed, separate living room and pool views. Fully integrated multi media system, 42" inch flat screen HDTV, wired / wireless HSIA, video games on demand, and plug & play technology to connect your computer or Ipod/Mp3 player. Sensually styled bathroom with ceiling mounted rain shower, custom lighting, stunning cantilevered furniture and luxurious linens. There is a $250 fine for smoking in our guest rooms. Rollaway beds are by request only and are not guaranteed, Rollaway beds are available for King bedded rooms only and for a charge of $30 a night.
Studio with Two Queen Bed
The bedding option for this room includes 2 queen bed with multi media system, 42" inch flat screen HDTV, wired / wireless HSIA, video games on demand, and plug & play technology to connect your computer or Ipod/Mp3 player, sensually styled bathroom with ceiling mounted rain shower, custom lighting, stunning cantilevered furniture and luxurious linens. There is a $250 fine for smoking in our guest rooms. Rollaway beds are by request only and are not guaranteed, Rollaway beds are available for King bedded rooms only and for a charge of $30 a night.
Hard Rock Suite with Two Queen Beds
The bedding option for this room includes 2 queen bed with multi media system, 42" inch flat screen HDTV, wired / wireless HSIA, video games on demand, and plug & play technology to connect your computer or ipod/Mp3 player, sensually styled bathroom with ceiling mounted rain shower, custom lighting, stunning cantilevered furniture and luxurious linens. There is a $250 fine for smoking in our guest rooms. Rollaway beds are by request only and are not guaranteed, Rollaway beds are available for King bedded rooms only and for a charge of $30 a night.
Studio King
The bedding option for this room includes 1 king bed with multi media system, 42" inch flat screen HDTV, wired / wireless HISA, video games on demand, and plug & play technology to connect your computer or Ipod/Mp3 player, sensually styled bathroom with ceiling mounted rain shower, custom lighting, stunning cantilevered furniture and luxurious linens. There is a $250 fine for smoking in our guest rooms. Rollaway beds are by request only and are not guaranteed, Rollaway beds are available for King bedded rooms only and for a charge of $30 a night.
Hard Rock King Suite
The bedding option for this room includes 1 king bed with multi media system, 42" inch flat screen HDTV, wired / wireless HSIA, video games on demand, and plug & play technology to connect your computer or Ipod/Mp3 player, sensually styled bathroom with ceiling mounted rain shower, custom lighting, stunning cantilevered furniture and luxurious linens. There is a $250 fine for smoking in our guest rooms. Rollaway beds are by request only and are not guaranteed, Rollaway beds are available for King bedded rooms only and for a charge of $30 a night.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.8 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.8 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.8 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.8 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.9 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.5 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.9 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.3 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 5.8 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.9 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.8 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.6 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.8 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.6 mi
  • Legoland: 30.5 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Modern, non-traditional design and cutting-edge technology permeates Hard Rock's 40,000 square feet of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space. Highlights include an expansive urban garden with bird's-eye views of the Gaslamp Quarter, a boardroom with 16-foot floor-to-ceiling glass walls, a 750 square foot glass-enclosed boardroom that overlooks a 5,000 square foot live concert venue and a stylish 9,100 square foot main event room capable of accommodating up to 1,000 guests. Meeting planners receive extreme Rock Star service including a backstage pass that allows them uninhibited 'back of the house' access anytime during events. And from the moment groups arrive to the second the last limo leaves, our staff will be on hand to anticipate and fulfill every need.

Dining

207
Located in the lobby. Decor features a wood bar with black leather accents and padded bar stools upholstered with white crocodile. Specially designed tables include individual beer taps, allowing beer aficionados to choose their own brand and serve themselves. Open late afternoon to late night.
Nobu
Japanese cuisine with Peruvian influences. The menu includes signature dishes such as Fresh Yellowtail Sashimi with Jalapeno and Broiled Black Cod with Miso. Dinner is served each evening in the sushi bar or the dining room; drinks are available in the lounge.
Maryjane's Coffee Shop
Serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner in a laid-back atmosphere. Menu includes American and regional dishes, such as L.A. Sticky Buns, Chopped Cobb Salad, and Chicken Pot Pie. Indoor and outdoor dining available. Open early morning to late evening; late-night hours available on the weekend.
Float
Rooftop pool bar with private poolside cabanas and outdoor leather lounge seating. Flat-screen TVs and minibars. Fire pits are surrounded by sectional seating and opium beds. Open late afternoon to late night.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (288)

Ratings and reviews for Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
288 out of 288
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ca
Nov 28, 2010

charge like a rockstar but don't produce

They greet you very nicely when you arrive. However, their service leaves a lot to be desired. We placed an order with room service that never materialized. When we went to the diner (MaryJanes), we saw our food sitting next to the heatlamps for 12 minutes before they finally brought it over. Worst of all, when we got home, we saw that the charges to my credit card didn't match the checkout bill. Instead of a single charge to the credit card (matching the checkout bill), we saw two separate charges, that totaled over $100 more than the checkout bill. Because I was getting the runaround about their charging discrepancy (they insisted that they only charged my card what my bill stated despite evidence to the contrary), I had to cancel my credit card. The Hard Rock Hotel was all show, with mediocre service and very questionable charging practices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SofistiKat
Business
San Francisco, CA
Nov 26, 2010

T-giving time in San Diego

The hotel is nice, but the staff seems so insincere , that it takes away from the hotel. There are no robes in the bathroom, the famed in-house diner MaryJanes is overpriced and below mediocre, the pool, shown in the pictures, is TINY and not heated, and the jacuzzi that is heated, is EVEN smaller. I asked the front desk clerks on ideas, she sent me to a concierge, citing that she had no idea about things to do in SD. The maids start cleaning and talking loudly at about 8, so if you are a light sleeper, hold on tight to your ear plugs. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 23, 2010

The Hard Rock Hotel is Awesome!!!

It was our 1st time staying at a Hard Rock hotel & we mainly picked it for the location which was excellent! It's near tons of attractions in San Diego. The price was decent compared to many of the downtown / Gaslamp Quarter hotels & the service is Great!! After this, I'd definitely stay a another Hard Rock hotel again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

An abundance of nightlife nearby and also in the hotel itself.... also near Excellent dining choices too!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
patty mac
Business
garden grove,ca
Sep 19, 2010

awesome night at the hard rock

We ate at the spagetti factory which is within walking distance from the hotel. For the night life we got vip passes to check out the hotels lounge and bar. 207 and float. This was great for me because I did not want to leave this great hotel. It was so modern and up to date. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bristol, CT
Sep 17, 2010

Loved It

The rooms are awesome in this hotel, very modern, super clean and the bed was so comfortable I wish we could have brought it home. On the weekends the whole place is alive due to the populated clubs and the pool party on Sunday. However during the week its very quiet and relaxing. My husband loved the new gym equipment and there's a great computer room where you could go online at any time just in case you didn't bring your computer with you. The coffee shop downstairs has excellent food and great service. And being our first time in San Diego we couldn't have asked for a better location. The baseball stadium is one street over, and the seaport shops, Little Italy and the mall are all within walking distance. If we ever have the chance to get back to San Diego we wouldn't stay at any other place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on doing a lot of site seeing such as the Zoo, Misson Beach, Sea World, La Jolla it's cheaper just to rent a car instead of taking taxi's to all these places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Sep 13, 2010

Great Location, But Too Noisy To Sleep!!

We are glad we stayed at the Hard Rock in San Diego because the location was perfect. We were able to walk to Sea Port Village to hang out, we walked to Horton Plaza Mall, close to lots of other shopping and restaurants and it was close to the harbor to catch a ferry over to Coronado. Just a prime location! The staff is a hit or miss. Most of them were very friendly, but there were a few that were not nice at all. The restaurants at the hotel are worth the wait and money! Nobu was a great dining experience. Loved it!! We ate at Pinkberry every morning for breakfast, nothing like some yummy yogurt in the morning to get you going!! The worst part about our stay was the noise. It is a very loud hotel on the weekends. You can hear the bass from their clubs on the top floor until about 2am. Then you get to hear noisy drunks outside your room running up and down the hallway until about 3am. So if you plan on sleeping during your trip, don't plan on it until after 3am!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Must eat at Nobu, great dinner and wonderful staff!! Also must try Pinkberry, great for a snack or breakfast!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
AZ
Sep 4, 2010

love love loved it

we had a great time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RB Fit
Business
Aliso Viejo CA
Sep 3, 2010

Hard Rock Rocks

Part business/part pleasure trip. Hotel is immaculate.....rooms are very cool. Everyone was very professional....great attitudes. Felt like they wanted us to be there. Easy check in/check out...definitely will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Sushi restaurant in hotel was a little pricey, but EXCELLENT food. Definitely recommend. Maryjane's is AWESOME for breakfast/lunch....great food.....good price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Aberdeen,SD
Aug 29, 2010

Hard Rock San Diego

Attended a convention. The only advice to travelers would be don't stay above the bar called 207. Very loud all the way up to at least the 4th floor. Noise from band lasted until 2 am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Seaport Village approx. 3/4 mile walk. Very good food choices and a little cheaper.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OC Friends
Business
Orange County, CA
Aug 23, 2010

Hark Rock Review

We had a good time but it is definitely a younger crowd looking to party.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top