$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 14, 2015

Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

4 stars
View map of 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
284 out of 284
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Philly Pete
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Dec 22, 2010

Hard Rock in San Diego

The Hotel is perfectly position in the middle of were everything is happening. I attended my business convention which was right accross the avenue at the convention center. The weather was perfect comparing the the weather at home, Philadelphia. I had access to so many places to visit after business that I was never bored at night. Many places to eat and near by. I had a good time, the hotel service was amazing. Definetly a place to visit on leisure time with my wife.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The nightlife in the immediate area of the hotel was amazing every night I was there.

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Andover, MA
Dec 14, 2010

A solid experience, with great location

The location of the hotel was fantastic. I was on business at the convention center, which was located right across the street. It was within walking distance of many places to eat and shop. I was also able to fit in some leisure time as well. It was a quick ride to the Zoo, and the hotel was located right next to some public transportation as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great breakfast place, The Broken Yolk, was less than a 5 minute walk.

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Orange County, CA
Dec 12, 2010

Great Hotel, We'll Be Back!

Our room had a great view of the Gaslamp District and was VERY nice. The staff was super friendly and helpful. Drinks at the bar were a bit pricey but that was the only thing we found that we weren't thrilled about. Overall, a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk down to Market street and back up 5th from there, shopping along the way. By the time you're done and loaded down with bags, you'll be at the hotel (It's the last building on 5th) and able to drop off your bags and relax before going back out!

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Hawaii
Dec 10, 2010

It Rocked

Way better than the W

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
maui? salt lake city utah
Nov 29, 2010

awesome hotel and room

hotel is right across from convention center, padres stadium behind and the beginning of gaslamp district. Rooms are very trendy, comfortable and great for partying. Walk everywhere!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

ask concierge for vip passes into the club.

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
ca
Nov 28, 2010

charge like a rockstar but don't produce

They greet you very nicely when you arrive. However, their service leaves a lot to be desired. We placed an order with room service that never materialized. When we went to the diner (MaryJanes), we saw our food sitting next to the heatlamps for 12 minutes before they finally brought it over. Worst of all, when we got home, we saw that the charges to my credit card didn't match the checkout bill. Instead of a single charge to the credit card (matching the checkout bill), we saw two separate charges, that totaled over $100 more than the checkout bill. Because I was getting the runaround about their charging discrepancy (they insisted that they only charged my card what my bill stated despite evidence to the contrary), I had to cancel my credit card. The Hard Rock Hotel was all show, with mediocre service and very questionable charging practices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SofistiKat
Friends
San Francisco, CA
Nov 26, 2010

T-giving time in San Diego

The hotel is nice, but the staff seems so insincere , that it takes away from the hotel. There are no robes in the bathroom, the famed in-house diner MaryJanes is overpriced and below mediocre, the pool, shown in the pictures, is TINY and not heated, and the jacuzzi that is heated, is EVEN smaller. I asked the front desk clerks on ideas, she sent me to a concierge, citing that she had no idea about things to do in SD. The maids start cleaning and talking loudly at about 8, so if you are a light sleeper, hold on tight to your ear plugs. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Chicago, IL
Sep 23, 2010

The Hard Rock Hotel is Awesome!!!

It was our 1st time staying at a Hard Rock hotel & we mainly picked it for the location which was excellent! It's near tons of attractions in San Diego. The price was decent compared to many of the downtown / Gaslamp Quarter hotels & the service is Great!! After this, I'd definitely stay a another Hard Rock hotel again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

An abundance of nightlife nearby and also in the hotel itself.... also near Excellent dining choices too!

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
patty mac
Couples
garden grove,ca
Sep 19, 2010

awesome night at the hard rock

We ate at the spagetti factory which is within walking distance from the hotel. For the night life we got vip passes to check out the hotels lounge and bar. 207 and float. This was great for me because I did not want to leave this great hotel. It was so modern and up to date. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Bristol, CT
Sep 17, 2010

Loved It

The rooms are awesome in this hotel, very modern, super clean and the bed was so comfortable I wish we could have brought it home. On the weekends the whole place is alive due to the populated clubs and the pool party on Sunday. However during the week its very quiet and relaxing. My husband loved the new gym equipment and there's a great computer room where you could go online at any time just in case you didn't bring your computer with you. The coffee shop downstairs has excellent food and great service. And being our first time in San Diego we couldn't have asked for a better location. The baseball stadium is one street over, and the seaport shops, Little Italy and the mall are all within walking distance. If we ever have the chance to get back to San Diego we wouldn't stay at any other place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on doing a lot of site seeing such as the Zoo, Misson Beach, Sea World, La Jolla it's cheaper just to rent a car instead of taking taxi's to all these places.

Back to menu Return to top