$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

4 stars
View map of 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
319 out of 319
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fat Tony
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 29, 2012

Had a great getaway

I was in town for this weekends Holiday Bowl. I was pleased to find we were right in the middle of all the action. Perfect location to all the restaurants and bars. Check in was fast. Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sturignis
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
Aug 22, 2011

OC to San Diego Getaway

I wanted to book a one night getaway with my husband to San Diego. The hotel checked us in early which was perfect and we were able to lounge and find an area by the pool bar. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only downfall is the music at night at the club is on till 2 am. If you are a light sleeper than you might not want to stay here on a Friday or Saturday night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Petco Stadium is literally a block away and you can see the stadium from the hotel!

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Soon to be Mrs. P
Business
Santee, CA
Aug 8, 2011

Hard Rock SD

We stayed in the King Suite for my bachelorette party. Room was great! Service was excellent and the employees were all very nice! The only probelm we had is our room was SUPER HOT!! It would only cool off to 72 degrees. We called for a tech (who came promptly and was very pleasent) but even after it was fixed it still did not cool down at all. But, I would still recommend the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Katmarhun
Business
Covington, KY
Aug 7, 2011

Fun but service could have been better.

The hotel was very clean and hip! Great decor. The service was ok to terrible. We didn't check-in until 11pm and the lady at desk acted like she couldn't be bothered. It was not the rocker attitude that may have been in step with the hotel, she was just rude. We got the same "whatever, I'm better than you" attitude from the gift shop person. When we tried calling down to the front desk, no matter what time of day, the phone would ring a minimum of 20 times before someone answered. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom was huge and imaculate. It was a little gross one day when the maid left her dirty cloth and cleaning bottle in our room. The concierge was very helpful and even got us a huge discount on a rental car!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Right on the Gaslamp strip! Can walk to many restaurants and attractions!

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Louis Liu
Business
Bloomington, IN
Jul 5, 2011

I like it very much!!

I was attending an annual conference held by economic association in San Diego. I can't afford to live the hotel where the conference is organized. Hence, I picked a nearby hotel. Hard Rock Hotel provided with excellent ambience, the friendly service attitude, and gorgeous interior design.....all of which make its lodging price readily affordable. It's just.....too good to be true!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Seashore hiking is just step away from the hotel.

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sharp Scissors
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 19, 2011

This is not a hotel. It's a party house.

We chose the Hard Rock because it was in the Gaslamp Quarter and had several good reviews. Now having said that, I should let you know, I wouldn't stay here again. When you first enter the hotel, it's quite cool. The lobby has a real energizing vibe to it with memorabilia from all types of bands and musicians. The room was nice but I was disappointed that it didn't have bathrobes or a coffee maker in it. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept on, at least when I could actually sleep. The hotel is completely overrun by drunken people in their 20's making a scene. My sleep was disturbed all throughout the night with kids hollering and banging on the walls in our hall. The pool was extremely small so I never went because it was full of 20 somethings partying. The hotel seemed to be staffed by young kids, most of which didn't pay you any mind. And when we went to check-out, there was not a soul to be found in the lobby to assist us. Not to mention, I never saw anyone at the concierge desk. Overall, this hotel is for the party-goer. There is absolutely no place for you to relax. If you want a good night's sleep, have children or like being pampered while on vacation, I wouldn't stay at the Hard Rock San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Chianti, an upscale Italian restaurant in the Gaslamp Quarter.

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heather and TJ on their honeymoon
Business
WA State
Jun 14, 2011

Pretty nice

The room was very nice and very clean. The only fridge in the room was the mini bar though (which meant we couldn't put much in it) and there was no microwave. The hotel pool and hot tub were really very small and crowded most times and closed too early (8pm).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jun 13, 2011

Great Stay!

We had a couple of days before a meeting and the hotel was great. The hotel is near the convention center, Gas Lamp District, PetCo Park, excellent restaurants and shopping (Horton Plaza is within walking distance). You will probably want to park your car yourself--the lot is in the buidling between the hotel and Petco Park. The room was spacious, very clean, and modern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park your car yourself--the lot is just to one side of the hotel.

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 8, 2011

Rocking Good Time

The hotel was everything we hoped it would be. They ask you when you arrive what type of music you would like playing in your room when you get up and you can also get VIP passes to the two bars at the hotel. We were a little worried with the all the noise and people that frequent the hotel bars and possible issues that could cause. However we really enjoyed the bar and the security was great! We saw hotel stuff all the time rooming the halls to make sure everything was okay and they checked your key before you got to the elevators and you had to use your key to get to your floor. I was traveling with my boyfriend but would have felt safe even alone with all the security they had in place. Lastly the rain shower was great. We had to transfer hotels to another one because they were booked up for one of the nights we were there and we really missing the shower after we left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Mary Janes was great after going to the bar. It is open to 3am the food was good but a little pricey.

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
m_shall21
Business
Union, MO
May 26, 2011

Good value and location.

Hotel was hip, clean, and convenient. Ate at Nobu, it's expensive but if you want good sushi and a great experience you will have to pay for it. Menu is a little different from the Vegas Nobu, but just as good. Rooms were nice...had the king suite, very spacious and comfortable. Went to club 207 one night....dj was awesome. Drinks were expensive! Location of hotel is a block away from Petco stadium. If you are going to a ballgame it's very convenient. Tons of restaurants in the Gaslamp Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

5th avenue has every type of restaurant possible.

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Seattle,WA
May 25, 2011

Great place!

I was in town for a conference at the convention center and the location could not have been better. Close to tons of restaurants and shopping. I checked in on Sunday which was crazy because of the pool party but didn't affectme at all. I would stay here again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top