$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

4 stars
View map of 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
283 out of 283
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jun 13, 2011

Great Stay!

We had a couple of days before a meeting and the hotel was great. The hotel is near the convention center, Gas Lamp District, PetCo Park, excellent restaurants and shopping (Horton Plaza is within walking distance). You will probably want to park your car yourself--the lot is in the buidling between the hotel and Petco Park. The room was spacious, very clean, and modern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park your car yourself--the lot is just to one side of the hotel.

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 8, 2011

Rocking Good Time

The hotel was everything we hoped it would be. They ask you when you arrive what type of music you would like playing in your room when you get up and you can also get VIP passes to the two bars at the hotel. We were a little worried with the all the noise and people that frequent the hotel bars and possible issues that could cause. However we really enjoyed the bar and the security was great! We saw hotel stuff all the time rooming the halls to make sure everything was okay and they checked your key before you got to the elevators and you had to use your key to get to your floor. I was traveling with my boyfriend but would have felt safe even alone with all the security they had in place. Lastly the rain shower was great. We had to transfer hotels to another one because they were booked up for one of the nights we were there and we really missing the shower after we left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Mary Janes was great after going to the bar. It is open to 3am the food was good but a little pricey.

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
m_shall21
Business
Union, MO
May 26, 2011

Good value and location.

Hotel was hip, clean, and convenient. Ate at Nobu, it's expensive but if you want good sushi and a great experience you will have to pay for it. Menu is a little different from the Vegas Nobu, but just as good. Rooms were nice...had the king suite, very spacious and comfortable. Went to club 207 one night....dj was awesome. Drinks were expensive! Location of hotel is a block away from Petco stadium. If you are going to a ballgame it's very convenient. Tons of restaurants in the Gaslamp Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

5th avenue has every type of restaurant possible.

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 23, 2011

Hard Rock San Diego

The Hard Rock is right in the middle of everything in downtown San Diego's Gaslamp District. Right across the street is Petco Park, the convention center and all the bars and restaurants you need to have a good time. The hotel is pretty unique with the obvious Rock theme, if you are looking to party in San Diego this is your place. If you are looking for a quit relaxing vacation then you probably should look somewhere else. We had a good time but probably not the best place to bring small kids if you don't want them woken up by drunk 20 somethings at 3am. The airport is only a couple miles away and La Jolla and Torrey Pines are about 20-30 minute quick drives. I would recommend this hotel to younger people who are looking to party or go to the ball park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The fisherman's warf area north west of the gaslamp has a bunch of great seafood places for decent prices.

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Internet Girl
Business
Dallas, Tx
May 7, 2011

Biz in San Diego

Hotel Staff was fabulous! From the greeter, check, bags delivered & picked up, room service...were all fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Attended a conference at Hilton Bayfront next to the convention center.

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Cajon, CA
May 2, 2011

Hotel with action!

This place has everything. The restaurant downstairs is great. Room service is fast and delicious. There is a poolside rooftop lounge and a bar downstairs. Sunday's Intervention pool party is crazy fun. The staff is always great and friendly. They don't like to make you wait, so they go out of their way to help you. Security is effective while being very nice. Housekeeping is courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Donovans is just down the street with the friendly and educated waiters. All the food is amazing. Don't forget the creme brulee. It's the best you'll ever have!

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington Depot, CT
Apr 30, 2011

Full of BLING! AWESOME!!!

We came to see the Padres and were virtually right across the street from the stadium, around the corner from the Gaslight District and walkable to many other great sights. Really eyepopping decor. Almost too bizarre layout of the room but comfy. Staff was very attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is very close by, Padres, restaurants, harbor walk, shopping. Great location.

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, New York
Apr 25, 2011

Live like a Rock Star

Went to San Diego for vacation. The Hard Rock was the perfect location and a GREAT place to stay. Everyone was so nice & friendly from the time you drive up. The rooms are clean and bed extra comfy! If you love music this is a MUST!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Petersburg, FL
Apr 18, 2011

Fantastic location and service!

I was reluctant to stay at a Hard Rock. I read the reviews which were good so decided to give it a try. I was overly impressed with the hotel, features and level of service at the Hard Rock and would definitely stay there again and try another Hard Rock elsewhere. The staff was top notch, fun and professional. The decor and comfort of the hotel and room were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ostera was a great restaurant. Fantastic steak, crab cake and Mahi Mahi. If in Hillcrest, eat at Arrivederci for phenomenal Italian food.

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
harrisburg, pa
Apr 15, 2011

What an experience!

The Hard Rock was a perfect location to stay for all of your conveniences. Close to the convention center, close to great restaurants and shopping. The service was fantastic, very pleasant, professional and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Nobu is a wonderful experience. You couldn't have gotten better service, food or atmoshphere A+

Back to menu Return to top