$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

4 stars
View map of 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
301 out of 301
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Mig
Business
Florida, USA
Sep 10, 2011

Had an awesome time at Hard Rock Hotel-San Diego

The hotel's perfectly located at the beginning of the Gaslamp Quarter. It's across the street from the convention center and one block away from the Padre stadium. When you first walk in, you realize that no expense was spared in its hip, modern decor. All of the staff from Alex the bellman to Derrick M. the guest services mgr were really nice and helpful. All of the rooms are cool, but you get what you pay for. There was a problem with my reservation, which Derrick fully resolved beyond my expectations. We had such a good time in the hotel bars that we barely made it out of the hotel to check out the neighborhood. The bars, DJs, and overall experience are glamorous and Socal laid back at the same time. I have only one criticism, which echoes what others have said on here- if you're looking for a hotel to have wholesome family time with young children, this isn't it. If you have older kids or are on your own to base a night of partying, look no further. As the night goes on, the lobby will be full of party-goers and the elevators full of drunk folks. If you're one of them, you won't mind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jwatzke
Business
huntington beach, ca
Sep 8, 2011

Great experience!

The quality and design of the hotel is incredible. It's very modern and chic. My friend and I went to the padres game which was super close to the hotel so it worked out perfect. The only downfall is my friend found a pincher bug in our room, I found a half eaten cheeto in our room, and the pool smelled. Otherwise this hotel was amazing! We went to float and 207 and the bartenders were super friendly and hospitable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go see the padres play, go shopping, try new restaurants, and check out the nightlife!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SueD
Business
Bloomington, MN
Sep 6, 2011

Great hotel - just don't stay on a holiday weekend....

Crowd is very different at the hotel on a holiday weekend from what I have been told. Lots of banging room doors (at 4 am) and seems that folks need to play their radios on their decks on the 8th floor loud enough for people on the street to be able to hear the music. Staff is very pleasant and MaryJane's was good/value. Bed was not very comfortable.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shelby123
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Aug 29, 2011

heart of downtown

The location of this hotel is amazing. Downtown San Diego is so cool, with tons of restaurants, shops and bars within walking distance. The hotel is perfectly clean and the staff is really nice. Overall a great experience, would definitely do it again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Float is super fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Adri
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Aug 24, 2011

Anniversary

Had a great overall experience. Location is perfect, the clubs n bars are amazing. Couldnt have asked for better service.. Would recomend this hotel to anyone!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Whittier, CA, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Not happy

Had I been told when I checked into my room that I would be dealing with very loud music until 2 am, I would have never stayed there. If I had been offered a choice of taking another room, that would have been ok too. I can't imagin that the people that stay at that hotel are only interested in staying up all night an drinking. It was the biggest waste of $300 in my life and the worst birthday I have ever had. When I explained how unhappy I was when checking out, I was told, sorry and have a nice day. I guess they could give a rats A if I come back or not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Ask to have a room far away from the 2 bars/night clubs if you plan on sleeping before 2 am.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sturignis
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
Aug 22, 2011

OC to San Diego Getaway

I wanted to book a one night getaway with my husband to San Diego. The hotel checked us in early which was perfect and we were able to lounge and find an area by the pool bar. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only downfall is the music at night at the club is on till 2 am. If you are a light sleeper than you might not want to stay here on a Friday or Saturday night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Petco Stadium is literally a block away and you can see the stadium from the hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Soon to be Mrs. P
Business
Santee, CA
Aug 8, 2011

Hard Rock SD

We stayed in the King Suite for my bachelorette party. Room was great! Service was excellent and the employees were all very nice! The only probelm we had is our room was SUPER HOT!! It would only cool off to 72 degrees. We called for a tech (who came promptly and was very pleasent) but even after it was fixed it still did not cool down at all. But, I would still recommend the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Katmarhun
Business
Covington, KY
Aug 7, 2011

Fun but service could have been better.

The hotel was very clean and hip! Great decor. The service was ok to terrible. We didn't check-in until 11pm and the lady at desk acted like she couldn't be bothered. It was not the rocker attitude that may have been in step with the hotel, she was just rude. We got the same "whatever, I'm better than you" attitude from the gift shop person. When we tried calling down to the front desk, no matter what time of day, the phone would ring a minimum of 20 times before someone answered. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom was huge and imaculate. It was a little gross one day when the maid left her dirty cloth and cleaning bottle in our room. The concierge was very helpful and even got us a huge discount on a rental car!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Right on the Gaslamp strip! Can walk to many restaurants and attractions!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Louis Liu
Business
Bloomington, IN
Jul 5, 2011

I like it very much!!

I was attending an annual conference held by economic association in San Diego. I can't afford to live the hotel where the conference is organized. Hence, I picked a nearby hotel. Hard Rock Hotel provided with excellent ambience, the friendly service attitude, and gorgeous interior design.....all of which make its lodging price readily affordable. It's just.....too good to be true!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Seashore hiking is just step away from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top