$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 15, 2015

Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

4 stars
View map of 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
284 out of 284
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cisco4
Couples
Miami, FL, USA
Mar 5, 2012

Great Time in the Gaslamp District

Hotel is located in a great location, everything is very close. Definitely would recommend to others. Overall had a great time and experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Great place to stay and party!

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fishhawkey
Business
Lake Arrowhead, CA, USA
Feb 19, 2012

Great conference venue

Attended 3 day business conference. Great venue. Well designed, great staff support.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Petco park tour if a sports fan.

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ocational Traveller
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Feb 17, 2012

Great Location, clean and fun

I stayed for 5 nights this past February 2012. Perfect location if you are going to the convention center, just walk across the street. The people at the front desk were not very helpful. I got different stories about the charge for the internet. At the end, they charged me a “Resort Fee” that was more than on line travel agency told me. I was in a rush to catch a plane so I didn’t have time to argue about the extra $20. The hotel is a fun place to stay, music in the lobby and all around. The weekends get loud but once in my room it was quiet. The room was modern, clean and very comfortable. The bathroom was roomy and very clean. It had a nice 2 head shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fleming's for Stakes ( a bit high price but about average for a good San Diego restaurant)

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Knoon
Couples
San Luis Obispo, CA
Jan 30, 2012

good location and friendly staff

Overall great experience and fun trip. I would say that I don't think it's a spot for guests looking for a quiet stay. The nightclub is pretty loud through the night and can be heard from the rooms and we were on the top floor, but we were so tired it didn't matter. The staff was very helpful and friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Blue Point was a great restaurant

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JNel
Friends
Charlotte, NC
Jan 4, 2012

Great New Year's Trip

The hotel staff was very friendly & helpful. The room was comfortable and clean. We stayed in the King Suite & it was nice and had plenty of space for two people; however, a microwave would have been a great addition. They do ask what type of music you would like playing in your room, which is a cool bonus, but they don't have a wide variety of selections and the "classic rock" mix is not at all what I would have expected - think less Led Zeppelin, more Lion King. Other than that, it was a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park in the lot across the street from the hotel & walk in rather than pay for the expensive valet hotel parking.

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Salako
Couples
Dundee, NY 14837, USA
Dec 30, 2011

Great location for our holiday

We were able to score a great rate at this hotel for the holiday season. It has a wonderful location in the Gas Lamp area with many places to see, eat, and relax downtown. Enjoyed our time here, room was quiet and well appointed. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
drumstix31
Friends
Buena Park, CA, USA
Dec 21, 2011

Very Nice

High Quality. All the amenities. Large Balcony (I was in a "Standard" room too).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Polar
Friends
El Centro
Dec 5, 2011

Great time at the rock

We have a great time at the hard rock. Hard not to. I really like this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

All you need is right outside the door

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
xiaochen
Friends
San francisco
Dec 1, 2011

excellent hotel

This hotel is really amazing. It is located in a beautiful district called HISTORIC HEART OF SAN DIEGO. It have rock&roll music everywhere. But the music is not cloud, made me comfortable and excited. The room is totally silent. Everything is wonderful in this hotel. They have free gym, spa and wi-fi. Also,they displayed guitars, drums and performing clothes used by famous singers. The bar is also wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
odin eyes
Couples
Forest Park, IL
Nov 16, 2011

Game-day getaway.

My wife and I came to San Diego to watch an NFL game but wanted to stay in the downtown area. The Hard Rock, is in a great location near public tansit, shopping, and great restaurants. The room sizes are adequate for active individuals enough room to stow luggage, sleep, and use the facilities, however I could see things getting tight with more than two people. The Bars and Restaurants in the hotel are very popular requiring reservations for the Sushi bar and a "VIP pass" to get into the bar which is crowded and the drinks are a tad over-priced but overall nice atmosphere. Honestly one of the better chain Hotel we have stayed at while traveling in the US.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are plenty of great places to eat within a 5 or 6 block walk down 5th Ave.

Back to menu Return to top