$70 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 14, 2015 Check-out: May 15, 2015

Harborview Inn & Suites

2 stars
View map of 550 West Grape Street, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
67 reviews
GREAT

Ohhhh this hotel was very gooooooooood location for the price. I would absolutly recommended to... See full review

  • lamala
  • Mar 12, 2015
Family Trip

I absolutely loved the stay for the weekend with my family. See full review

  • Rosemary1234
  • Mar 2, 2015
Spacious suites in the heart of Little Italy near dining, shopping and entertainment. Whether you are visiting Sea World, the World Famous San Diego Zoo, or the USS Midway, hotel have great packages to save you time and money. Hotel packages are complete with discount tickets and rooms! Hotel also has long-term car parking Park & Fly packages near the San Diego International Airport and the San Diego Cruise Ship. The hotel amenities are: Internet access-wireless lift/elevator, non-smoking rooms. Small pets are allowed for a nightly fee of $25.00 per pet. A taxable $2.00 Safe Fee applies per room per night, payable to the property directly.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Harborview Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Harborview Inn & Suites Rooms

One Queen
The room offers one queen bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, microwave oven, non-smoking rooms, refrigerator, telephone, voicemail.
Two Queen Beds
The room offers two queen beds with air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, microwave oven, non-smoking rooms, refrigerator, telephone, voicemail
Two Queen Beds with Balcony
The room offers two queen beds with air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, microwave oven, non-smoking rooms, refrigerator, telephone, voicemail
One King
The room offers one king bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, microwave oven, non-smoking rooms, refrigerator, telephone, voicemail

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Pet friendly
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Firehouse Museum: 0.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 1.1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.1 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 1.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 1.1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.1 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.7 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.3 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.6 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.6 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.3 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.2 mi
  • Belmont Park: 5.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 7.1 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 7.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 11.5 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 27.5 mi
  • Legoland: 29.1 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.4 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Little Italy-While other Little Italy neighborhoods across the nation are in decline, San Diego's Little Italy is on the brink of rebuilding its greatness. A stable ethnic business and residential community since the 1920's, Little Italy today represents Downtown San Diego's oldest continuous neighborhood business district. At one time, more than 6,000 Italian families lived in Little Italy and toiled to build San Diego into the centre of the world tuna industry.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Harborview Inn & Suites

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
67 out of 67
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.3

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Harborview Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sandra2
Business
Los Angeles
Apr 25, 2011

Good location but beds are horrible

Well, I had a great time in San Diego and I could go out and walk to those italian restaurants in Little Italy, the are was very good. But on our first night we could not sleed, the bed was just horrible, me and my boyfriend felt into the middle of the bed because it was very old. Also, the room was veeery small and the bed seemed like a full and not queen bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Harborview Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Oscar97
Business
Fort Myers, Fl
Dec 12, 2011

Go somewhere else if you can

I really had no choice but to go with this hotel, it was in the area I wanted to stay near. I checked out the photos of the rooms. However, the room I stayed in was decreped. Obviously not the ones in the photos. The kitchen was just an empty room with torn up cabinets. The bathroom sink was leaking and the room was not very clean. The exhaust fan was uncovered and they only left one towel in the room. The room size is much smaller than anticipated based on the pictures. I hate to write a bad review because the staff was friendly and very helpful. But I feel I needed to write the review, because of the major discrpency between the photos and the level of quality of the room was so different and people need to know the truth. I will stay away from this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Vincenzo's in little itlay was awesome

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Harborview Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
seabeedd
Business
Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA
Apr 8, 2012

horrible sanitation

I walked into my room and immediately smelled a horrible scent. While following and looking for the source of the scent, I discovered some fresh bed bug spotting, but could not find a live bug. So I flipped the mattress and found more spotting. The scent now was extremely strong. I moved the box spring and discovered cat droppings underneath the bed closes to the head board! I took pictures and showed them to the owner and ask for a refund. Shockingly, the owner yelled at me for flipping the mattress! I told him I was looking for the smell and that's why I moved the bed, he continued arguing with me. He did not refund my money. I was forced to stay in a less clean, handicap room that I cleaned some throw old throw up off the bathroom wall. I reported this hotel to the health department.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Harborview Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dlmrop
Business
Quincy, CA.
May 25, 2012

Go anywhere else!!!!

Staff was great until I requested an item or asked about the high level of noise in the room. They got very rude and were uncooperative from then on. No cups in room, no ice machine, no soda machine, and no sleep!! Checked out of the two rooms that I had paid for after only one night of a three night stay and they will not give a refund of the other two nights on either room. I am going to be also turning in a complaint to the Better Business Bureau.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Harborview Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
YuriyK
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 31, 2012

Very Bad

As we had arrived to a hotel, when checking in, we had been stated to pay extra fees for something we hadn’t been informed. After a long negotiation, we ended up paying anyways. The room service was terrible: the room wasn’t cleaned for 2 days. We had decided to leave it alone since the managers weren’t very polite. We are not planning to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Harborview Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
famoffour
Business
tucson.AZ
Jul 13, 2012

Dirty, Smelly and Rude

I knew this wouldn't be the best experience of my life at this hotel based on the price, but I had no idea what my family was in for. The room was on the small side, but we made that work, but what was awful was that the bathroom smelt horribly of smoke. We couldn't sleep because the air conditioning barely ran and it was hot in the room. The carpet was filthy. My kid's feet were black from walking on it barefoot. We couldn't stand the smell of the cigarette smoke and asked to be moved to a different room. The gentleman that I spoke to in the office was very nice and said if we packed all of our bags, they would move them to the new room once it was cleaned because we were going out for the day. When we returned to the hotel, our stuff hadn't been moved and the lady at the front desk, also the manager/owner, said she had no knowledge that this was to occur. She finally found a note and said she could have a room ready for us in 30 min. We went up to our current room to wait, and this room was supposedly already cleaned. The floor was a mess, complete with a dirty band aid that didn't belong to any of us. The new towels were placed on the entertainment center, not in the bathroom, and the beds were not remade. We decided to not even wait for the new room because we were so grossed out by the current one. We checked out immediately and went to a great hotel down the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Harborview Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unsatisfied and Angry
Business
Stockton California
Sep 4, 2012

Never Again!!!!!

The worst hotel I have ever been to. Roach infested and terrible customer service(except for Andy). Not worth the price at all. Shouldnt be close to considered a 1 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Harborview Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Libby33
Business
Las Vegas
Nov 26, 2012

BED BUGS

I just stayed at this hotel a couple weeks ago and I figured given the price it was not going to be especially nice...but when I woke up the next morning and after I had already taken a shower and was about to leave for the day, there was a bed bug on the sheet! I immediately gathered my things and went to the front desk. The lady there tried to brush me off b/c I had prepaid and told me she would tell them later that she would refund my stay for leaving early. I did not leave and called the travel website myself. They immediately called the hotel and I got my money back within 3 days. That did not compensate me for the stress and expense I had to go to through to make sure I didn't bring the bed bugs back to my house with me. The travel website was amazing and everyone cooperated, but I would recommend staying somewhere else for more money instead of this place. I should have done more research prior to booking this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Harborview Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sad Jenny
Business
Valley Village, CA.
Jul 26, 2011

Avoid This Hotel At All Costs

This place was so awful, old and dirty that I actually cried when I got to our room. I have never been in a more disgusting flophouse in my entire life. We were stuck there for two miserable days, during our Comic Con stay. The neighborhood was creepy, and the hotel stored a bunch of cardboard boxes at the end of their hallways, which, as a bonus, actually SMELLED. I had to walk sideways to get from the bed to the bathroom, the room was so small. The toilet paper roll holder was BROKEN, so the paper was on the rear of the toilet. The "breakfast" they offer is, I kid you not, six limp pieces of wheat bread pulled from a store-bought loaf, laid out under plastic with an old toaster nearby in the dingy lobby. This place literally ruined my stay in San Diego this year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Harborview Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Port Hueneme, CA
Mar 28, 2010

We got a walk in closet as a hotel room!

I couldn't believe it when we walked into our room. My husbands mouth just dropped, we walked in and he had to go all the way to the other end of the room. There was this bed occupying all of the walking space. The room was so tiny, I've never had a hotel room this small. The queen size bed took the majority of the room, then there was the entertainment center infront of the bed, which had the mini fridge and microwave. Then there was a small table on the other side of the bed, this room was definitely not meant for two average sized adults. The bathroom had only 1 set of towels for one person, and they were paper thin. My reservations specified two people for the stay. We had 2 very tiny pillows. I decided to call the office to get 2 more pillows and 2 more towels. The woman who answered the phone, had the nerve to tell me to LOOK FOR THE MAID on your floor, YOU go get them from her! I was about livid with her telling me to go get these items. I went out of my room and only found a large trash can on wheels and no maid anywhere, all the doors where closed, no vaccum cleaning noises from anywhere. I called the woman back and told her she needed to have these items sent back because apparently there is no maid on the 3rd floor where we are. Then there's the painful parking lot which only accomodates about 12 guests, its super narrow also and very small. YOu have to back out of it into a very busy street. I would not recommend this place for a couple, maybe a single person who doesn't mind and may want to walk downtown to party or whatever. I was hoping to have more of a relaxing weekend there, but that was going to take an act of god with what we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top