$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2014 Check-out: Aug 22, 2014

Harborview Inn & Suites

2 stars
550 West Grape Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
103 reviews
San Diego

We loved the location as it was only 1 block from all the great restaurants of Little Italy. We... See full review

  • Netinator
  • Apr 4, 2014
great view

I really liked the location of this hotel!!!! Its was really convenient and you could easily walk... See full review

  • lamala
  • Aug 27, 2011
Spacious suites in the heart of Little Italy near dining, shopping and entertainment. Whether you are visiting Sea World, the World Famous San Diego Zoo, or the USS Midway, hotel have great packages to save you time and money. Hotel packages are complete with discount tickets and rooms! Hotel also has long-term car parking Park & Fly packages near the San Diego International Airport and the San Diego Cruise Ship. The hotel amenities are: Internet access-wireless lift/elevator, non-smoking rooms. Small pets are allowed for a nightly fee of $25.00 per pet. A taxable $2.00 Safe Fee applies per room per night, payable to the property directly.

Harborview Inn & Suites Rooms

One Queen
The room offers one queen bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, microwave oven, non-smoking rooms, refrigerator, telephone, voicemail.
Two Queen Beds
The room offers two queen beds with air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, microwave oven, non-smoking rooms, refrigerator, telephone, voicemail
Two Queen Beds with Balcony
The room offers two queen beds with air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, microwave oven, non-smoking rooms, refrigerator, telephone, voicemail
One King
The room offers one king bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, microwave oven, non-smoking rooms, refrigerator, telephone, voicemail

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Pet friendly
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Harborview Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7258 -117.168
Area served
San Diego.
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport.
Area description
The Harborview Inn & Suites, we are located in the heart of San Diego, CA and its major attractions. Whether you are taking your family to Sea World, the beaches, the World Famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, MCRD, or the Gaslamp District, you will find that our hotel is just a few minutes away! The Convention Center is also just around the corner.

Nearby points of interest

  • Firehouse Museum: 0.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 1.1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.1 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 1.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 1.1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.1 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 1.4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.7 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.3 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.6 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.6 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.3 mi
  • Sea World: 4.4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.2 mi
  • Belmont Park: 5.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 7.1 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 7.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 11.5 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 27.5 mi
  • Legoland: 29.1 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.4 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Little Italy-While other Little Italy neighborhoods across the nation are in decline, San Diego's Little Italy is on the brink of rebuilding its greatness. A stable ethnic business and residential community since the 1920's, Little Italy today represents Downtown San Diego's oldest continuous neighborhood business district. At one time, more than 6,000 Italian families lived in Little Italy and toiled to build San Diego into the centre of the world tuna industry.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (103)

Ratings and reviews for Harborview Inn & Suites

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
103 out of 103
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3.4

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Harborview Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gemini AZ
Scottsdale, Arizona
Nov 23, 2010

You get what you pay for. . .

San Diego is a location with a plethora of places to stay. We needed a sleep-stop venue where we could safely sleep, rise and depart for destinations north. If that is your priority, then this property will meet your needs. I chose this property on its inexpensive price point. I didn't expect anything special. I expected something near the city's center. If you're not squeamish about a property that's seen better days, then this will do just fine. It's a smoking-permitted property so the prevailing odor of cigarette smoke pervades the hallways. When we complained that the in-room hair dryer was inoperative, the management offered another. It worked fine. The parking is a dodgy proposition. . . but it's free, located adjacent to, but not convenient to, the miniature elevator. One can only imagine this property in its hey-day when sailors would check in to enjoy a brief respite from WWII. Perhaps they'll refurbish this property to its full potential. But then it would cost four times as much to stay so it's probably best to define this property as a clean, inexpensive stopover when you're in the center of San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A restaurant that's open into the wee hours: Brian's in the Gaslight District. We arrived at midnight and they were more than happy to serve us whatever we desired. It's adjacent to a Marriott property and is truly open twenty-four hours a day. It's a funky, retro-looking place where the staff is pleasant and helpful no matter how crazy the hour. Highly recommended for late-night diners. Caveat: the Gaslight District is a haven for intoxicated twenty-somethings and military personnel looking for a good time so go there knowing that you'll likely see lots of drunken young people looking for a good time. Parking in this park of town is wickedly challenging if you're reluctant to pay. The parking meters are not plastic-friendly, but they stop metering after six PM.

Review of Harborview Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gemini AZ
Scottsdale, Arizona
Nov 23, 2010

You get what you pay for. . .

San Diego is a location with a plethora of places to stay. We needed a sleep-stop venue where we could safely sleep, rise and depart for destinations north. If that is your priority, then this property will meet your needs. I chose this property on its inexpensive price point. I didn't expect anything special. I expected something near the city's center. If you're not squeamish about a property that's seen better days, then this will do just fine. It's a smoking-permitted property so the prevailing odor of cigarette smoke pervades the hallways. When we complained that the in-room hair dryer was inoperative, the management offered another. It worked fine. The parking is a dodgy proposition. . . but it's free, located adjacent to, but not convenient to, the miniature elevator. One can only imagine this property in its hey-day when sailors would check in to enjoy a brief respite from WWII. Perhaps they'll refurbish this property to its full potential. But then it would cost four times as much to stay so it's probably best to define this property as a clean, inexpensive stopover when you're in the center of San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A restaurant that's open into the wee hours: Brian's in the Gaslight District. We arrived at midnight and they were more than happy to serve us whatever we desired. It's adjacent to a Marriott property and is truly open twenty-four hours a day. It's a funky, retro-looking place where the staff is pleasant and helpful no matter how crazy the hour. Highly recommended for late-night diners. Caveat: the Gaslight District is a haven for intoxicated twenty-somethings and military personnel looking for a good time so go there knowing that you'll likely see lots of drunken young people looking for a good time. Parking in this park of town is wickedly challenging if you're reluctant to pay. The parking meters are not plastic-friendly, but they stop metering after six PM.

Review of Harborview Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Huntington Beach, CA
Nov 8, 2010

Unfriendly

Not a good experience. Very unfriendly and rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Harborview Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Huntington Beach, CA
Nov 8, 2010

Unfriendly

Not a good experience. Very unfriendly and rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Harborview Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
siamak
san diego
Sep 21, 2010

stay away

they started fixing the wall at 8 am . lots of noise i think there are rats in the walls. elevator was out of date and inspection since 2008

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Harborview Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
siamak
san diego
Sep 21, 2010

stay away

they started fixing the wall at 8 am . lots of noise i think there are rats in the walls. elevator was out of date and inspection since 2008

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Harborview Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV
Sep 4, 2010

Absolutely Horrible!

I was disapointed and disguisted with this hotel. It is a very old building, which usually would be a positive for me, but here they have not made repairs or kept up the building at all. It is right next to the freeway, which is convenient, but very loud. It was only made worse by the old windows (probably the originals) making it seem as if the window wasn't even closed at all. Mold around the tub, holes in the wall and I didn't trust the sheets and towels so I had to go out and buy some. I knew that I shouldn't expect too much- but this was absolutely ridiculous, not to mention how the place gave me creeps as soon as I walked in. [...] the hotel just kept giving me the run around and refusing to even talk to me. Never again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Harborview Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV
Sep 4, 2010

Absolutely Horrible!

I was disapointed and disguisted with this hotel. It is a very old building, which usually would be a positive for me, but here they have not made repairs or kept up the building at all. It is right next to the freeway, which is convenient, but very loud. It was only made worse by the old windows (probably the originals) making it seem as if the window wasn't even closed at all. Mold around the tub, holes in the wall and I didn't trust the sheets and towels so I had to go out and buy some. I knew that I shouldn't expect too much- but this was absolutely ridiculous, not to mention how the place gave me creeps as soon as I walked in. [...] the hotel just kept giving me the run around and refusing to even talk to me. Never again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Harborview Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Jul 12, 2010

Work week in San Diego

Nice experience walkiong distance from nice places to eat and drink

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

very near little itly and the gas lamp district

Review of Harborview Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Jul 12, 2010

Work week in San Diego

Nice experience walkiong distance from nice places to eat and drink

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

very near little itly and the gas lamp district

Back to menu Return to top