$56 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Harborview Inn & Suites

2 stars
550 West Grape Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
61 reviews
San Diego

We loved the location as it was only 1 block from all the great restaurants of Little Italy. We... See full review

  • Netinator
  • Apr 4, 2014
great view

I really liked the location of this hotel!!!! Its was really convenient and you could easily walk... See full review

  • lamala
  • Aug 27, 2011
Spacious suites in the heart of Little Italy near dining, shopping and entertainment. Whether you are visiting Sea World, the World Famous San Diego Zoo, or the USS Midway, hotel have great packages to save you time and money. Hotel packages are complete with discount tickets and rooms! Hotel also has long-term car parking Park & Fly packages near the San Diego International Airport and the San Diego Cruise Ship. The hotel amenities are: Internet access-wireless lift/elevator, non-smoking rooms. Small pets are allowed for a nightly fee of $25.00 per pet. A taxable $2.00 Safe Fee applies per room per night, payable to the property directly.

Hotel Map

32.7258 -117.168
Area served
San Diego.
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport.
Area description
The Harborview Inn & Suites, we are located in the heart of San Diego, CA and its major attractions. Whether you are taking your family to Sea World, the beaches, the World Famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, MCRD, or the Gaslamp District, you will find that our hotel is just a few minutes away! The Convention Center is also just around the corner.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Harborview Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Harborview Inn & Suites Rooms

One Queen
The room offers one queen bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, microwave oven, non-smoking rooms, refrigerator, telephone, voicemail.
Two Queen Beds
The room offers two queen beds with air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, microwave oven, non-smoking rooms, refrigerator, telephone, voicemail
Two Queen Beds with Balcony
The room offers two queen beds with air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, microwave oven, non-smoking rooms, refrigerator, telephone, voicemail
One King
The room offers one king bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, microwave oven, non-smoking rooms, refrigerator, telephone, voicemail

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Pet friendly
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Firehouse Museum: 0.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 1.1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.1 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 1.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 1.1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.1 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 1.4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.7 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.3 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.6 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.6 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.3 mi
  • Sea World: 4.4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.2 mi
  • Belmont Park: 5.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 7.1 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 7.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 11.5 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 27.5 mi
  • Legoland: 29.1 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.4 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Little Italy-While other Little Italy neighborhoods across the nation are in decline, San Diego's Little Italy is on the brink of rebuilding its greatness. A stable ethnic business and residential community since the 1920's, Little Italy today represents Downtown San Diego's oldest continuous neighborhood business district. At one time, more than 6,000 Italian families lived in Little Italy and toiled to build San Diego into the centre of the world tuna industry.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (61)

Ratings and reviews for Harborview Inn & Suites

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.2

54% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Harborview Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Last minute Lizzy
Business
Long Beach, CA
Jun 9, 2011

FREE parking

I went to a conference and it saved me a lot being able to park for free. The hotel was quiet and clean. It's located close to little italy and a quick taxi ride to gaslamp.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Harborview Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sandra2
Los Angeles
Apr 25, 2011

Good location but beds are horrible

Well, I had a great time in San Diego and I could go out and walk to those italian restaurants in Little Italy, the are was very good. But on our first night we could not sleed, the bed was just horrible, me and my boyfriend felt into the middle of the bed because it was very old. Also, the room was veeery small and the bed seemed like a full and not queen bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Harborview Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveler431
Phoenix, Arizona
Feb 14, 2011

Great location, but noisy

Great location in Little Italy area of San Diego. First room they gave us was dirty. Also, not the best place if you need a good night's sleep. The walls are paper thin and the people next door decided to talk about life until all hours of the morning. Called the front desk three times to complain and the response was, "they are leaving soon."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Harborview Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. Steve
Hawaii
Feb 8, 2011

Nice hotel, great service

Surprisingly quiet for so near the airport. Taxi $10 includes tip from/to airport. Very polite desk man.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Harborview Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Moreno valley
Feb 2, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

The room was nicer then expected. Very quiet despite a lot of downtown traffic. I will be coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A five min. Taxi drive from the gas lamp district. Easy to get a taxi and excellent dinning within walking distance. Great location.

Review of Harborview Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rusty1491
San Diego, CA
Dec 24, 2010

Pass

Watch out - this hotel will intentially charge you an additional daily fee for a lock box. They also refused to wave the resort fee even though San Diego residents are not required to pay this fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close walk to Little Italy.

Review of Harborview Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles California
Dec 8, 2010

GREAT HOTEL, GREAT PRICE

The hotel was very cozy and located in the PERFECT area of San Diego. Right downtown with a great night life. Tons of great food and bars in the area. The hotel was nothing special but had what we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Harborview Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Maun, Botswana, Southern Africa.
Dec 6, 2010

American experience

Easy walk to areas of interest & the trolley station. Please get rid of the smell on the fourth floor hallway. It was otherwise a good bargain!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Please use trolleys to get around the city. The experience is breathtaking!

Review of Harborview Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Belmont, CA
Dec 2, 2010

Great value.

The Harborview Hotel was a great choice for our trip to San Diego, it is nicely located just two blocks from Little Italy, meaning we could easily go for a walk and have a few drinks. There are a ton of restaurants, bars, breakfast places, etc., in that area. It was nice and quiet, and didn't smell like the other reviews note, I think they're in the process of renovating. Our hotel room was not huge or anything, but it was nice, clean, and simple. The bed was comfortable, I just wish they had more/fluffier/larger pillows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk two blocks down to the heart of little Italy and enjoy some great meals! Breakfast can be extremely cheap at some fabulous coffee shops.

Review of Harborview Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gemini AZ
Scottsdale, Arizona
Nov 23, 2010

You get what you pay for. . .

San Diego is a location with a plethora of places to stay. We needed a sleep-stop venue where we could safely sleep, rise and depart for destinations north. If that is your priority, then this property will meet your needs. I chose this property on its inexpensive price point. I didn't expect anything special. I expected something near the city's center. If you're not squeamish about a property that's seen better days, then this will do just fine. It's a smoking-permitted property so the prevailing odor of cigarette smoke pervades the hallways. When we complained that the in-room hair dryer was inoperative, the management offered another. It worked fine. The parking is a dodgy proposition. . . but it's free, located adjacent to, but not convenient to, the miniature elevator. One can only imagine this property in its hey-day when sailors would check in to enjoy a brief respite from WWII. Perhaps they'll refurbish this property to its full potential. But then it would cost four times as much to stay so it's probably best to define this property as a clean, inexpensive stopover when you're in the center of San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A restaurant that's open into the wee hours: Brian's in the Gaslight District. We arrived at midnight and they were more than happy to serve us whatever we desired. It's adjacent to a Marriott property and is truly open twenty-four hours a day. It's a funky, retro-looking place where the staff is pleasant and helpful no matter how crazy the hour. Highly recommended for late-night diners. Caveat: the Gaslight District is a haven for intoxicated twenty-somethings and military personnel looking for a good time so go there knowing that you'll likely see lots of drunken young people looking for a good time. Parking in this park of town is wickedly challenging if you're reluctant to pay. The parking meters are not plastic-friendly, but they stop metering after six PM.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search