$67 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Harborview Inn & Suites

2 stars
View map of 550 West Grape Street, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Harborview Inn & Suites

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3.4

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Harborview Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Libby33
Couples
Las Vegas
Nov 26, 2012

BED BUGS

I just stayed at this hotel a couple weeks ago and I figured given the price it was not going to be especially nice...but when I woke up the next morning and after I had already taken a shower and was about to leave for the day, there was a bed bug on the sheet! I immediately gathered my things and went to the front desk. The lady there tried to brush me off b/c I had prepaid and told me she would tell them later that she would refund my stay for leaving early. I did not leave and called the travel website myself. They immediately called the hotel and I got my money back within 3 days. That did not compensate me for the stress and expense I had to go to through to make sure I didn't bring the bed bugs back to my house with me. The travel website was amazing and everyone cooperated, but I would recommend staying somewhere else for more money instead of this place. I should have done more research prior to booking this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Harborview Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paulie D
Friends
Los Angeles
Sep 9, 2012

Such A Deal!

My partner and I made plans to meet family in San Diego last weekend for an ARMY vs SDSU Football game. We booked the room last minute and were shocked at how great both location and value were for this hotel. The staff was kind, and courteous. We will definitely be staying at this hotel again. Touchdown for the home team!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

This Hotel is located in "Little Italy". From it, one need only walk fifty feet in any direction to encounter some of the best Italian eateries, bakeries, cafe's anywhere!

Review of Harborview Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Costa Mesa, Ca
Sep 4, 2012

Good for a night

Stayed for a night, they were willing to work with our schedule on arriving early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Went to a concert at the san Diego sports arena and enjoyed the surroundings

Review of Harborview Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chi town Traveler 2012
Couples
San Diego
Aug 28, 2012

San Diego trip

It was okay but the room was not what I expected. Old and wifi didn't work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

It was close to downtown and you could walk to little Italy. But it was too pricy for what you got in the room. You'd be better off in a motel.

Review of Harborview Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LifeLearner
Single
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 15, 2012

Last Room In San Diego

There were no rooms left in San Diego! So grateful that the Patel family could take me in for the night. Thank You!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

LITTLE ITALY

Review of Harborview Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Liz the Traveller
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 25, 2012

Great Deal, Nice Staff

I needed a last minute room for Comic Con. This place offered a great deal and nice friendly staff. The room was about what you'd expect for a 2 star hotel. But nothing sketchy, just the basics. I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to the airport, able to get there quickly.

Review of Harborview Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
famoffour
Family
tucson.AZ
Jul 13, 2012

Dirty, Smelly and Rude

I knew this wouldn't be the best experience of my life at this hotel based on the price, but I had no idea what my family was in for. The room was on the small side, but we made that work, but what was awful was that the bathroom smelt horribly of smoke. We couldn't sleep because the air conditioning barely ran and it was hot in the room. The carpet was filthy. My kid's feet were black from walking on it barefoot. We couldn't stand the smell of the cigarette smoke and asked to be moved to a different room. The gentleman that I spoke to in the office was very nice and said if we packed all of our bags, they would move them to the new room once it was cleaned because we were going out for the day. When we returned to the hotel, our stuff hadn't been moved and the lady at the front desk, also the manager/owner, said she had no knowledge that this was to occur. She finally found a note and said she could have a room ready for us in 30 min. We went up to our current room to wait, and this room was supposedly already cleaned. The floor was a mess, complete with a dirty band aid that didn't belong to any of us. The new towels were placed on the entertainment center, not in the bathroom, and the beds were not remade. We decided to not even wait for the new room because we were so grossed out by the current one. We checked out immediately and went to a great hotel down the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Harborview Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ez Bravo
Friends
Fullerton, Ca
Jun 11, 2012

Quick San Diego Party Trip

I had read the others reviews that were given from this hotel and it seemed pretty bad. However I was pleasurably surprised of the experience I had. The location was good, the service was good as well. I was overall pleased with the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It is located in Little Italy!

Review of Harborview Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dlmrop
Friends
Quincy, CA.
May 25, 2012

Go anywhere else!!!!

Staff was great until I requested an item or asked about the high level of noise in the room. They got very rude and were uncooperative from then on. No cups in room, no ice machine, no soda machine, and no sleep!! Checked out of the two rooms that I had paid for after only one night of a three night stay and they will not give a refund of the other two nights on either room. I am going to be also turning in a complaint to the Better Business Bureau.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Harborview Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
seabeedd
Single
Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA
Apr 8, 2012

horrible sanitation

I walked into my room and immediately smelled a horrible scent. While following and looking for the source of the scent, I discovered some fresh bed bug spotting, but could not find a live bug. So I flipped the mattress and found more spotting. The scent now was extremely strong. I moved the box spring and discovered cat droppings underneath the bed closes to the head board! I took pictures and showed them to the owner and ask for a refund. Shockingly, the owner yelled at me for flipping the mattress! I told him I was looking for the smell and that's why I moved the bed, he continued arguing with me. He did not refund my money. I was forced to stay in a less clean, handicap room that I cleaned some throw old throw up off the bathroom wall. I reported this hotel to the health department.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top