$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown

3 stars
1617 1st Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
48 reviews
Good experience

San Diego was planned as a last min trip showed up and was greeted but friendly staff the room was... See full review

  • Basic B
  • Jun 10, 2014
Cozy

It was a very nice and cozy place to stay. The room had warm tones and the furniture was cozy. I... See full review

  • friendseter
  • Dec 8, 2013
On the Edge of Little Italy. There is plenty going on around the recently-renovated Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown. Balboa Park, the Gaslamp Quarter, and Seaport Village are just a few minutes away by car, and the area has several family-friendly theme parks. Our free shuttle is the perfect way to get to and from San Diego International Airport (SAN). You Want It, Youve Got It. Free wireless High Speed Internet Access is available throughout our hotel, including the business center. Stay active in the fitness center or the outdoor pool. Whenever you want a great meal, day or night, head to First Avenue Grill. And our 1,400 square feet of event space are perfect for business meetings and social gatherings, complete with stellar views of downtown and the harbor. Get Comfortable. Our 220 refurbished guest rooms offer plenty of options—one king-size or two full Four Points by Sheraton Four Comfort Beds™, all with soft and firm pillows. Wake up with a refreshing, high-pressure shower, flip through the cable channels on your LCD flat screen television, and get a satisfying meal from room service.

Hotel Map

32.7224 -117.1634
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Room
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Firehouse Museum: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 0.9 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 1.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 1.1 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 0.9 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 1.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 1.1 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.2 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.7 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.9 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.6 mi
  • Sea World: 4.8 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.9 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 7.5 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 11.7 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 27.6 mi
  • Legoland: 29.5 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.5

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chao Z.
San Francisco
Jan 16, 2014

water leakage in bathroom

I had a positive impression at the beginning. Upon check-in, the staff is professional, room is clean. However, when we got back to the hotel room at the evening, we realized the towel on the floor was soaking wet, but we couldn't find where the leak was coming from, so we ignored it. Next morning, the dripping noise woke me up, and went to the bathroom, and there're water all over the floor, and the leak was from the ceiling. It was leaking in a really fast pace, so I put the ice bucket there, and called the font desk. They said they'll send someone right away. Unfortunately, no one showed up until 20mins later. By the time the maintenance guy showed up, the bucket was almost full. Although they offered us free breakfast, I'm really disappointed with their reaction time, because we couldn't take shower an had to wait for them to show up. On top of that we had to clean up the mess OURSELVES, in order to use the bathroom again!! That's very poor service!! When I asked for some kind of refund/credit upon check-out. The front desk refused by saying since I booked with third party(Orbxxz), they won't be able to do anything. p.s Another downside of this place, they charge parking for $20/night, but you can find street parking fairly easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Charlie M.
Delano, CA
Jan 2, 2014

Birthday getaway

Parking was terrible & was told to park at a remote parking lot

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Woobie92001
Los Angeles, Ca
Dec 10, 2013

Getaway trip

Clean, in downtown area, reasonable priced, they have nice bay room views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
friendseter
Azusa,ca
Dec 8, 2013

Cozy

It was a very nice and cozy place to stay. The room had warm tones and the furniture was cozy. I loved the bathroom it has wall dispensers of shampoo, conditioner and body wash. The bed was a good size for a full size and the comforter and sheets were warm and clean. The room is sound proof from the outside because we were by the freeway and I didn't hear a thing. The only draw back is the parking the building does have a parking garage but you have to pay $17 a night and the parking spots like in all of San Diego were small. Overall it was a very cozy hotel and I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Balboa Park is a very short drive from there and it has all sorts of activities to do there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cecilia82
Costa Mesa
Dec 8, 2013

Surprises

Showed up to friendly service the first day. But was greeted by a surprise $17 a day parking fee. Then get to the room and it's a full size bed. How can anyone over the age of 12 sleep comfortable in a full size bed, especially TWO people. The next day the employees did their jobs but the service was less than friendly. Not rude,but they could learn a thing or two about smiling and hospitality. The plus side was it was clean. So they have one thing going for them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SamanthaFromFlorida
Orlando, FL
Dec 3, 2013

Smack in the middle of everything!

This hotel was great! It's in downtown, 5 minutes to Mission Hills, 5 Minutes to Point Loma, 5 minutes to Coronado - and the entrance to Highway 5 is practically right out front. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. There was a fantastic coffee shop in the lobby. Everything was clean and tidy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
neuro student
Business
Boston, ma
Nov 20, 2013

nice enough

Everything that one could expect from a hotel. It's a little far from downtown and the gas lamp district (~1 mile) buy still reasonably walkable. It was waiting in the lobby for 20 minutes to get a cab when I was leaving on a Saturday night, so the staff gave me a complimentary ride in the hotel shuttle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

go to toronado for a long beer list from local breweries

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heidied
Moorpark, CA
Sep 24, 2013

weekend getaway

This hotel was a good value for the money. My only complaint was that the subterranean parking was difficult to maneuver since the building was built in the round. The parking spaces were somewhat pie-shaped. We found out that this was a Holiday Inn before it was a Four Points Sheraton. Several Holiday Inns were built in the round.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mex Traveler
San Diego, CA
Aug 12, 2013

Downtown for B-day

Room is okay for the pricing, needs more space for parking. It's a bit of a distance from the downtown/gaslamp bars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Coming back 88
San Diego
Aug 11, 2013

Fantastic Hotel!!

My husband and I recently stayed overnight at this hotel and we were blown away by the overall experience. We arrived far before the check-in time and were delighted to immediately be given our room keys. The hotel was located right near the bay alongside a busy road but traffic couldn't be heard from inside our room. The view was gorgeous and our room was spacious and super clean and comfortable. The meals provided by the hotel were delicious and we found all staff that we dealt with to be super helpful, friendly and kind. If you want to be located close to everything fun to do in San Diego while being spoiled by your accommodations, stay at this hotel. You are NOT going to be disappointed. We will definitely be back for another stay. Wonderful experience. P&E

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants were well within walking distance of this hotel; shopping was also a breeze as the hotel was located perfectly in conjunction to local points of interest.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search