$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa

2 stars
9880 Pacific Heights Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
24 reviews
excellent

Staff is fantastic, really convenient, interesting formula (kitchen to cook for exemple) See full review

  • pkle
  • Apr 20, 2014
Love this place!

I come here every year when I am in town. Reasonable price, very clean rooms with a full kitchen... See full review

  • litlmike
  • Apr 28, 2014
At Extended Stay America, guests find a friendly home away from home, whether for a day, a week or a month. Each of our 135 spacious suites offers a fully equipped kitchen, free WiFi, and a flat screen TV with premium channels, with free grab and go breakfast and laundry facilities onsite. Only 13 miles from San Diego, close to restaurants, and just 9.6 miles from San Diego Sea World, our hotel is the convenient, affordable choice for savvy business and leisure travelers. … Hotel requires guests to place a valid credit card on file upon arrival for incidental charges or damages to the guest room. If guest cannot provide a credit card, hotel collects a cash room deposit in the amount of 100USD per stay per room. At check out, the room will be inspected, after satisfactory inspection, room deposit will be refunded. Refunds over 100USD will be refunded by check within 14 days of departure.

Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa Rooms

Deluxe
DELUXE STUDIO-KING BED
Standard
STUDIO-QUEEN BED
Standard
STUDIO-QUEEN BED
Studio
STUDIO-2 QUEEN BEDS

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
FEMA approved
Activities
Jacuzzi
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Play ground
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Bathroom telephone
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub
Bidet

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

32.8984 -117.1904
Nearby airports
San Diego Intl Airport, (SAN), 18.00, MI, N; McClellan-Palomar Airport, (CLD), 22.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Sorrento Valley: 0.6 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 4.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.5 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 7.7 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 9 mi
  • Sea World: 9.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 9.6 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 9.9 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 9.9 mi
  • Heritage Park: 10.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 10.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 10.5 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 11.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 11.6 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 0.6 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 4.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.5 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 7.7 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 9 mi
  • Sea World: 9.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 9.6 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 9.9 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 9.9 mi
  • Heritage Park: 10.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 10.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 10.5 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 11.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 11.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 11.7 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 11.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 11.8 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 11.8 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 11.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 11.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 11.8 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 11.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 12 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 12.1 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 12.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 12.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 13.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 13.3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 13.4 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 13.4 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 16.3 mi
  • Legoland: 17.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 18.7 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,114.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (24)

Ratings and reviews for Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.4

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
California Fan
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 7, 2014

Fairly average room

My daughter and I spent the 4th of July weekend. The hotel is in a nice business location. Seems perfect for a traveling business person. The price was right for what I wanted to spend. However the "non-smoking" room had clearly been smoked in and the bed was one of the most uncomfortable I've slept on. It was nice to have a refrigererator with a freezer. The front desk clerk was very nice and even printed tickets to game for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
litlmike
Business
Fresno, CA
Apr 28, 2014

Love this place!

I come here every year when I am in town. Reasonable price, very clean rooms with a full kitchen (refrigerator (not a mini-one), stove top, etc.). Beds are good but a little squeaky. Blinds on the window actually block out the sun so you can sleep in, quiet property. Staff is very professional. Here is my one complaint about this place: the internet is awful. It is so slow! It reminds me of the days of dial up. You can pay extra for a faster service, but they don't tell you how much faster. More importantly, most hotels I stay at have internet speeds of 28 MB, for free. This hotel has internet running at .8 MB. That's 35 times slower than other hotels. So, as long as internet is not important to you, this is a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

PrepKitchen or Carnitas' Snack Shack

Review of Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pkle
Business
France
Apr 20, 2014

excellent

Staff is fantastic, really convenient, interesting formula (kitchen to cook for exemple)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Staff is wonderful

Review of Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kevin the Road Warrior
Business
Palm Springs, Ca.
May 5, 2013

Good hotel, just not the bed or pillows

This bed was made by the Marquis de Sade. Both of our backs hurt in the morning. The pillows, while fluffy, had so support, your head just sank to the mattress.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

go to LIttle Italy or to Old Town.....Phippie's Pizza or Miguel's and have the Carne Asada Burrito!

Review of Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Got Trot
Highland, CA
Apr 8, 2013

Needs cleaning

First of all the staff was very friendly. The room amenities were ok. But I felt the room was rundown and a little dirty. There were smudges of dirt on the walls and the cabinets were sticky. I took my shoes off after getting back to my room and walked around in my white socks. I looked at the bottom of my socks and they were black so the floors were filthy. It immediately made me wonder just what else was dirty that I had been using.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Halofanz3
Business
Santa Ana, California
Oct 1, 2012

Great for business stay

Nice hotel in a nice area. Great location for my visit to the office. Overall good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Athlete's Mom
Los Angeles
Oct 1, 2012

Getting What I Expected

This was a comfortable, no hassle overnight stay. I was visiting to go to my kid's sports tournament.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If staying for the college campus, it is a bit confusing to get there. Take extra time to allow for directions.

Review of Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Burnzie
Scottsdale, AZ
Sep 10, 2012

Family weekend

The room was awful. Bed uncomfortable, linens were poor quality, and kitchen was dirty. Not only was the kitchen dirty, but it didn't have silverware, dish soap, or paper towels. Coffee machine didn't have any coffee to brew either!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HarlyGuy
Fairfield, CA
Jul 23, 2012

It was so, so.

The staff was just OK, the room looked like the furnishings were newer. No maid service unless you stay for a week, but did offer clean towels. Air conditioner did not work the whole time there. I complained the next day and was told by the assistant manager that he would have someone look at it, and when got back that night it still did not work. When I checked out, all got was sorry, and we will try and fix it before the next guest. Will not stay there again for that price that I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

No shopping around there, there was a Chili's accross the street. Hotel is located in a business park area.

Review of Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rebelina
Gilbert, AZ
Jul 23, 2012

Air-conditioning didn't work

We went to the room and found the maintenance personell working on the air-coniditioner. We complained that it wasn't cooling. There was no other room to move to, so it was very uncomfortable. The next day they did move us to a smaller room and smaller bed. At least it was cooler! I would stay there again, but make sure everything works.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Starbucks close by, but you will have to drive a short distance to eat and the beach.

Back to menu Return to top