$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Doubletree Golf Resort San Diego

3 stars
View map of 14455 Penasquitos Dr., San Diego, CA 92129-1603

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
36 reviews
San Diego

Room was very large and comfy. Only wish it had a refrig & safe. Otherwise it was great See full review

  • Dpanttila
  • Sep 9, 2014
Nice location and ample rooms

Very roomy and lovely views from terrace. Close to family See full review

  • Ranchohoncho
  • Jan 7, 2014
Relaxing full-service resort in the foothills of the Black Mountains

Doubletree Golf Resort San Diego is perfect for leisure or business travelers and the $2 million renovation makes its accommodations and facilities the best in its class. Ideally situated 23 miles northeast of San Diego International Airport, accessible via the I-15, the hotel offers tennis, swimming amenities and a fitness center. Doubletree Golf Resort San Diego also offers a business center, Terraces Cafe and Mulligan's Sports Lounge.

3 Reasons To Stay
  • A contemporary hideaway less in the foothills of the Black Mountains

  • Championship tennis courts

  • Oversized guest rooms feature balconies or patios overlooking the courtyard, pool or gardens

Doubletree Golf Resort San Diego Rooms
All of the newly renovated, non-smoking guestrooms have either a patio or balcony, and modern amenities such as Sweet Dreams by Doubletree beds, flat-screen LCD TVs with premium channels (HBO, CNN and ESPN) and pay-per-view movies. Rooms overlook the pool, courtyard or the beautiful gardens. All accommodations have work desks and high-speed Internet access (fees apply) with remote printing. Rooms are either located in the main building or in the adjacent Knolls. 
Things to do
  • Qualcomm Stadium (11 mi/17.6 km)
  • San Diego Zoo/Balboa Park (13 mi/20.8 km)

  • Pacific Ocean/Beaches (14 mi/22.4 km)

  • Petco Park - Padres (15 mi/24 km)

  • Torrey Pines State Park (15mi /24 km)

  • Old Town (18 mi/29 km)

  • Sea World (20 mi/32 km)

  • University of CA- San Diego (20 mi/32 km)

  • City Center (23 mi/37 km)

  • Gaslamp District/Seaport Village (23 mi/37 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Doubletree Golf Resort San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Doubletree Golf Resort San Diego Rooms

.
.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Sorrento Valley: 8.4 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 9.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 11.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 14.3 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 15 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 15.2 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 16.3 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 16.6 mi
  • Legoland: 16.6 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 16.6 mi
  • Heritage Park: 16.7 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 16.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 17.2 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 17.3 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 17.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 8.4 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 9.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 11.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 14.3 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 15 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 15.2 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 16.3 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 16.6 mi
  • Legoland: 16.6 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 16.6 mi
  • Heritage Park: 16.7 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 16.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 17.2 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 17.3 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 17.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 17.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 17.4 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 17.4 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 17.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 17.5 mi
  • Botanical Building: 17.5 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 17.5 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 17.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 17.8 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 17.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 18.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 18.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 19.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 19.2 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 19.3 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 19.7 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 23.5 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,107 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:02 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Doubletree Golf Resort San Diego

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Doubletree Golf Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dpanttila
Business
Phx, az
Sep 9, 2014

San Diego

Room was very large and comfy. Only wish it had a refrig & safe. Otherwise it was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Good Thai rest Thaigo very short distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Golf Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gigi gigi
Business
San Diego, California
May 27, 2014

Nice, clean room

The staff was friendly and the rooms comfortable. I would recommend this hotel for a quick stay. There is also a golf course for those who are so inclined. Most enjoyable are their signature chocolate chip cookies that are always delicious and served warm to patrons upon arrival.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Golf Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lilwally
Business
laguna niguel
Jan 21, 2014

Good times

We had a great time the temp. was 80 you can't beat that . The hotel room was great the only problem is this is a golf resort and they don't have the golf channel? The staff was real helpful the bar is real nice the food was good too the bartender JT was real nice to all the guests we will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Golf Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ranchohoncho
Business
San Diego
Jan 7, 2014

Nice location and ample rooms

Very roomy and lovely views from terrace. Close to family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Golf Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Can Do Man
Business
PHX, AZ
Oct 22, 2013

One Bed Short

Room was fine staff was good, but my hotel confirmation said two queen beds, but the room I was given had one king. When I went back to the desk I was told there were no rooms with queens available and could get a rollaway bed, and twenty five minutes later I did. The most uncomfortable bed made. I was switched to the proper room for Sat.night. All in all pretty nice hotel, didn't spend a lot of time there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Golf Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ldteach
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
Jul 2, 2013

Would stay again

When I arrived to the hotel I was 4 days post - op and leaving for home the next day. I was released earlier than expected and therefor arrived way before check-in and in desperate need of a bed. Jesus Lopez (manager), the young man that assisted me, quickly found me a room on the bottom floor and didn't give me any problems about my early arrival. I also needed a refrigerator and microwave for my medications. In less than an hour there was a knock at door and both items were delivered. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Golf Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FrancisR
Business
England, UK
Feb 22, 2012

Good, efficient hotel

The hotel has very good facilities and friendly, helpful staff. However, overcharges on basic open air parking with no real security.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Breakfast is expensive for what it is but not a great deal more than most equivalent hotels

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Golf Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beachbound for fun
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Meets your needs

We booked a partial golf course view. There was a very large tree right in front of the balcony & window. I called the front desk and the clerk stated the tree hadn't been trimmed in a few months but we where in a partial view room. Make no mistake even with trimming there was no way you could see even a small glimpse of the golf course. This room hasn't seen the golf course in years! Very disappointing since this was the three year in a row we have stayed there and we are hilton honors members.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Golf Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nelson from Cleveland
Business
Cleveland, OH, USA
Aug 27, 2011

Great place to stay

The location is about 20 min from downtown san Diego. On the other hand, there is a golf course on site! There is also a good short game practice facility, perfect for sand play, chipping and putting. The rooms are large, clean and with great balconies overlooking gardens. You can eat lunch or a simple but very good dinner on a deck overlooking part of the golf course! It is definitely quiet and away from the crowds of downtown. In terms of the rooms, the amenities, the staff, it is a fantastic value. This was the third time we have stayed there and loved it every time. It is on a par with places costing 2 to 3 times as much!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Golf Resort San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Shellybelly
Business
Pismo Beach, CA, USA
Aug 14, 2011

Not What I Expected

The price was right, with the exception of having to pay $10.00 PER NIGHT for parking...being under the impression there was a COMPLIMENTARY BREAKFAST until we got a bill set at our table for $29.00 for 2 breakfast buffets! Thank GOD my husband and I went ahead of the kids...and told them not to bother coming down! Jack in the Box across the street would have been a better choice! Not to mention that we were given a room on the bottom floor with a balcony and right in front of the parking lot that was totally perfect for all of us, including our little dog...until we heard the dreaded running footsteps of a toddler at 3am! Seriously? Who assigns upstairs rooms to customers with small children? So we requested to be moved to another room, which they were eager to do, however it was way in the back, UPSTAIRS and a long trek to get to and from the parking lot... Overall, wasn't impressed and will NOT be returning. For the location to where we were actually spending the majority of our time...it was not worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top