$81 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

2 stars
605 Diamond St., San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
34 reviews
Steps from the beach

Great price and location! So Close to the beach and all the nightlife and great restaurants and... See full review

  • Riladd
  • Jun 2, 2014
Great beach location

Great location. Just north of Chrystal pier and steps form the boardwalk biking/walking trail.... See full review

  • Jamienick
  • Oct 20, 2014
The Diamond Head Inn is located right off the famous Pacific Beach Boardwalk and steps from the beach. This quaint little beach property is a guest favorite year after year. All rooms are beautifully decorated in beach decor and are equipped with full kitchens for your convenience. Just outside your door you will be able to enjoy all that Pacific Beach has to offer. Within a short walk you will find a variety of shops and restaurants. From water sports to sunbathing, or just watching the sunset, you will not be able to find a better location or value in Pacific Beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach Rooms

Traditional Queen Room
Recently renovated with custom furnishings. Room features brand new kitchen facility with granite counters and includes refrigerator, microwave, stove-top, and basic utensils. Cable TV with FREE HBO included.

Amenities

  • Free parking
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Pacific Beach: 1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 2 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.7 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 4.7 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Heritage Park: 5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 6.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 7.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 7.4 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 2 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.7 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 4.7 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Heritage Park: 5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 6.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 7.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 7.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 7.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 7.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 7.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 7.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 7.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 7.8 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 7.8 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 7.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 7.9 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 7.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 8 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 8.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 8.4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 8.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 14.3 mi
  • Legoland: 23.1 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 24.1 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (34)

Ratings and reviews for Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bri T.
Business
San Gabriel Valley
Jan 2, 2013

Not what is advertised.

The pictures are out dated and the rooms are a lot smaller than what the hotel portrays them to be on their website. In my room: the bathroom light did not work, the toilet leaked water, the "full kitchen" was not accesible and the room was too small you could not walk around comfortably. Was also charged $50 for unknown reasons, fraud perhaps? I would not reccommend staying here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Board walk, theme park, shops and places to eat all on the same street 5 miles within the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sean Scrambling Spouse
Business
Moreno Valley, California
Nov 29, 2014

Disappointing Disaster

Changed room three times before they got the reservation right. Rude front desk. Dated decor. Broken fixtures. Very dirty. Ancient threadbare bedding. Hotel description beyond misleading. Absent security lets guests party loudly and fight. Continental breakfast consisted of stale danish and packet of tea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid overpriced and overrated food nearby by stocking your room with provisions from Ralph's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Richard PF
Business
California
Nov 29, 2014

OMG WHAT A JOKE!!!

This was the WORST hotel experience I have ever had in my life. The hotel info says free parking. What it should really say is NO PARKING. The hotel does not have a parking lot. If you are astonishingly lucky you may find something on the side streets nearby, but as this is a beach community don't count on it. The owners of this property have another hotel half a mile away that has a small parking lot. If you are fortunate and do not stay out too late you may get a spot in that lot, but again, don't count on it. The room had a glass door! I'm not joking. Want to stay in a fishbowl? It had a very thin sheer gauze-like curtain attached to the door that did almost nothing for privacy. We were especially fortunate in that the dirty laundry bins were right outside the door to the room. Also, the shower head was completely broken. The hotel does have Wi-Fi, but it will cost you $10 for 48 hours and $20 for a week. If you stay at this disaster, good luck!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
fdhgjsklhd
Business
San Francisco, CA
Dec 14, 2012

Look elsewhere

The cable TV didn't work, the remote was dead, the keyless entry system needed to be replaced (and they knew it#, the hallway lighting system was on all night which lit up the room #due to a glass door), and the office opened late each day. The property is not bad but the staff really didn't seem to care. Therefore, look elsewhere for a hotel. It was cheap and doesn't have much else going for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
US
Feb 14, 2011

Not so 4 star Diamond Head

The best part of our stay at Diamond Head was the Location. It is perfectly located for easy access to the beach, La Jolla, Rt 5, Mission bay. However, I was not impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel. Rugs and paint were terrible. The parking is horrible, unless you enjoy parking 2 blocks from the hotel. I didnt care for the amount of homeless which were allowed to come in and drink free coffee in the morning. It doesnt appear the owner cares about the property. Should be priced a bit lower. would I go back? Naaah.I'd explore other options first

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Garnet ave offers a great night of happy hour hopping. The 50 cent ribs on Tuesdays at the Fire House are a must do!! Leilannis Cafe on Cass St. was my favorite find. Check it out before the tourists find it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tigard
Oct 31, 2008

My review of Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

The Motel was very close to the beach. The desk clerk/manager was very helpful. On checking in and using our key card I opened the door next to our room, which was occupied. This was very disturbing and embarrasing. Appapently key cards were not properly programed. The wooden venetian blind facing a busy walk through area was broken. would not provide complete privacy. I believe the employees were doing their best to be helpful, considering what they had to work with. I woud not stay at the Dimond Head inn again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

jolla is a few miles north. found a great thai restaurant there. Close to freeway and main attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cold in the North
Feb 16, 2011

Think twice

We booked a week-long package through [...]. "Quaint" is an understatement for this motel. The carpet in the livingroom area was so stained and spotted we were afraid to remove our shoes. Blinds were broken, and cabinet doors were hanging by one hinge. There was a terrible odor, which we at first attributed to the beach-front location. We bought disinfectant wipes and air freshner spray, and the odor didn't go away. Upon opening the bathroom window, we realized there was a dumpster directly outside our window. I asked at the front desk if it would be possible to move to a different room since we were to be there for a whole week, and I was told that this is the type of room you get when you book through a 3rd party, and there weren't any more of that type available. (I'll remember that if I'm ever tempted to buy another package through a 3rd party.) The motel is obviously very old, but it did seem to have fairly new paint on the walls, and the kitchen and bathroom floors had been tiled. So we could tell it had been somewhat updated. But the update has not been very well maintained. When we opened the blinds in the living area, there were new mattresses wrapped in plastic leaning up against the window and outside wall, unprotected. It made us wonder about the bed we were sleeping on. The continental breakfast consisted of pastries and coffee/orange juice, for which we were thankful since the milk and other groceries we had bought were frozen solid in the mini refrigerator. There was no control knob to adjust the temperature, so the money we spent on food was wasted. The office is only open during the day, and if you have a problem after hours, you have to go to another motel 2 blocks away to get help. It just seems that no one cares enough about this property to put any real effort into maintaining it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The motel is right on the boardwalk that runs for several miles along the beach. It's a great location for beach-goers, joggers, walkers, and bicycles. There are many restaurants within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sharon z
Business
San Diego california
Jun 8, 2014

Great location

Great location. Carpet a bit threadbare. No stopper for the tub...staff was very friendly and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN USA
Jan 16, 2011

Week at Diamond Head Inn 1-8-2011

Hotel was a bargain for what we paid. Close to pacific beach, the room had a nice flat screen TV and kitchen with toaster, microwave, fridge and stove top! Dishes were also provided. The room had recently been remodeled and the updates are tasteful and pleasing. The maid service at this hotel is great, they even did our dishes on one occasion (Gave them a nice tip) My complaints regarding this room were the bed and noise. The bed was not very comfortable and I awoke with pain in my back every morning. Also, the walls appear to be paper thin. Our first night there, we could hear parties going on throughout the hotel. The carpet also had numerous stains that made me wary to walk barefoot in the room. All in all, the room was adequate for what we paid and Pacific beach is right out front! We ate breakfast at Kono's daily, which is within walking distance on the boardwalk. Highly recommend Kono's for good, affordable breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver Co
Dec 16, 2010

Terrific, our home away from home

Cozy, clean, wonderful access to beach and boardwalk. So much better than we expected. We will definitely stay here again, and recommend it!! The decor was excellent, with the sea shell theme through out!!! This property is definitely not a "2" but a very high "3"!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top