$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 22, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

2 stars
View map of 605 Diamond St., San Diego, CA 92109

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
35 reviews
Beach Holiday

A short walk to the beach, lovely clean rooms and a friendly staff made my days at the Diamond Head... See full review

  • Lillian J.
  • Jan 5, 2015
Steps from the beach

Great price and location! So Close to the beach and all the nightlife and great restaurants and... See full review

  • Riladd
  • Jun 2, 2014
The Diamond Head Inn is located right off the famous Pacific Beach Boardwalk and steps from the beach. This quaint little beach property is a guest favorite year after year. All rooms are beautifully decorated in beach decor and are equipped with full kitchens for your convenience. Just outside your door you will be able to enjoy all that Pacific Beach has to offer. Within a short walk you will find a variety of shops and restaurants. From water sports to sunbathing, or just watching the sunset, you will not be able to find a better location or value in Pacific Beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach Rooms

Traditional Queen Room
Recently renovated with custom furnishings. Room features brand new kitchen facility with granite counters and includes refrigerator, microwave, stove-top, and basic utensils. Cable TV with FREE HBO included.

Amenities

  • Free parking
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Pacific Beach: 1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 2 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.7 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 4.7 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Heritage Park: 5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 6.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 7.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 7.4 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 2 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.7 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 4.7 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Heritage Park: 5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 6.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 7.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 7.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 7.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 7.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 7.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 7.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 7.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 7.8 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 7.8 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 7.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 7.9 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 7.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 8 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 8.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 8.4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 8.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 14.3 mi
  • Legoland: 23.1 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 24.1 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Riladd
Business
Phx
Jun 2, 2014

Steps from the beach

Great price and location! So Close to the beach and all the nightlife and great restaurants and shops within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can rent beach cruisers at Rays for 10.00. So worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Platte
Dec 8, 2008

Great Place for the money

The diamond Head Inn exceeded all our expectations. The room was very spacious and we were very impressed with the kitchenette setup. We will definetly return. We arrived early and the staff made a room available for us. Also the location is beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Oceanside

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wife of one, mommy of two
Business
Denver, CO
Feb 22, 2010

Great location, great price!

We really enjoyed this hotel, How can you complain with a room that is just steps from the beach. We loved having the kitchen so we could cook breakfasts and other meals we didn't want to go out for. There is a CVS pharmacy just down the street, and a Ralphs just a couple blocks farther down. Parking was not an issue for us, even though the lot was small and open to beach-goers we still found spots close by whenever we returned. Nicely furnished, clean rooms. Quiet, calm location perfect runaway for our little family! We would definitely go back and recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dan&Giulia
Business
Boston, MA
May 11, 2010

Just perfect

We got one of the best rooms of the hotel, big and with a fantastic view. We lived the room completely, we used the kitchen a lot. The only flaw is that we booked a smoking room, but when we arrived they told us that all the rooms where no-smoking. The breakfast was not as we expected, but it wasn't that important for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All the places in PB

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
azdad
Business
phoenix, az
Jul 14, 2009

Excellent Place

The Hotel is just steps from the beach. It is just north of the pier on Pacific Beach. If your looking for a cool place to stay thats not right in the middle of Pacific Beach then this is the place for you. Everything is within walking distance but its a quiet place to stay. I was really surprised at how clean and comfortable the room was. was a good sized room. I will be staying here alot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The Hotel dosent have its own parking. All the parking is on the street or you can park in another hotels lot 2 blocks north. Get yourself a parking spot close to the hotel and dont move your car again because parking is hard to find. You have to be lucky to get something close. But onve you get that parking spot you wont have to drive again because everything you need is within walking distance...beach, food, bars, etc

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Feb 1, 2008

Can't beat the location

Walk out the door, turn left, and the ocean promenade is right there! A nice morning stroll to a local breakfast spot...watch the surfers...spot dolphins from the free pier. It felt like home, with the kitchen and its 50's style banquette. The tub needed resurfacing and the bathroom is small, but everything was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lillian J.
Business
Fort St John
Jan 5, 2015

Beach Holiday

A short walk to the beach, lovely clean rooms and a friendly staff made my days at the Diamond Head in San Diego a delightful experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarah Yay
Business
Long Beach
Jan 2, 2014

Awesome location

We stayed here for NYE and we wished we had booked it for more than one night. The location was awesome. Literally, the hotel was steps away from the ocean. We left the window open at night and could hear the waves crashing. We definitely plan on coming back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Blocks away from the bars in PB

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LocalTraveller
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Dec 21, 2011

Great Place to Stay

If you want a clean, comfortable place to stay near the beach, this place is for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tdot
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Mar 7, 2012

Simple, great location

The hotel was the right location at the right price. We didn't spend much time in our room but it was clean and pretty comfy. If you want to be able to walk/ride around Pacific beach its a perfect location and affordable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top