$81 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

2 stars
605 Diamond St., San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
34 reviews
Steps from the beach

Great price and location! So Close to the beach and all the nightlife and great restaurants and... See full review

  • Riladd
  • Jun 2, 2014
Great beach location

Great location. Just north of Chrystal pier and steps form the boardwalk biking/walking trail.... See full review

  • Jamienick
  • Oct 20, 2014
The Diamond Head Inn is located right off the famous Pacific Beach Boardwalk and steps from the beach. This quaint little beach property is a guest favorite year after year. All rooms are beautifully decorated in beach decor and are equipped with full kitchens for your convenience. Just outside your door you will be able to enjoy all that Pacific Beach has to offer. Within a short walk you will find a variety of shops and restaurants. From water sports to sunbathing, or just watching the sunset, you will not be able to find a better location or value in Pacific Beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach Rooms

Traditional Queen Room
Recently renovated with custom furnishings. Room features brand new kitchen facility with granite counters and includes refrigerator, microwave, stove-top, and basic utensils. Cable TV with FREE HBO included.

Amenities

  • Free parking
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Pacific Beach: 1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 2 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.7 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 4.7 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Heritage Park: 5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 6.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 7.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 7.4 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 2 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.7 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 4.7 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Heritage Park: 5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 6.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 7.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 7.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 7.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 7.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 7.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 7.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 7.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 7.8 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 7.8 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 7.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 7.9 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 7.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 8 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 8.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 8.4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 8.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 14.3 mi
  • Legoland: 23.1 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 24.1 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (34)

Ratings and reviews for Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver Co
Dec 16, 2010

Terrific, our home away from home

Cozy, clean, wonderful access to beach and boardwalk. So much better than we expected. We will definitely stay here again, and recommend it!! The decor was excellent, with the sea shell theme through out!!! This property is definitely not a "2" but a very high "3"!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I Want to See the World
Business
Dallas, TX
Dec 10, 2010

Very nice location

The Hotel Location is fantastic. But due to lack of enough parking space (Hotel is located on a public beach area), parking is a hassle and troublesome. Hotel has only 5 parking space for themselves. The Room and Kitchen are really nice, but the kitchen lacks enough cooking utensils (if you plan to cook). Also the Bedroom needs a heavy curtain on top of the wooden blinds. From outside people can see through the gaps between Blinds. Rooms service is excellent and very prompt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Dec 2, 2010

Will say again!

Great location, right on the boardwalk, easy walk to great restraints. Helpful staff, rooms are clean and comfortable. Stayed in november, no problem with parking. Planning a trip for next year, will stay here for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dan&Giulia
Business
Boston, MA
May 11, 2010

Just perfect

We got one of the best rooms of the hotel, big and with a fantastic view. We lived the room completely, we used the kitchen a lot. The only flaw is that we booked a smoking room, but when we arrived they told us that all the rooms where no-smoking. The breakfast was not as we expected, but it wasn't that important for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All the places in PB

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Apr 1, 2010

great price for location

This room had a great location for the price. Less than half a block from the ocean, it was also walking distance from restaurants, convenience store, etc. They gave us a room which was much larger than we had reserved, very courteous and competent staff. My only complaints were no pool and limited parking. They do have a sister property with both those available for Diamond Head Inn guests, but it was several blocks away, too far to be practical for walking with a 2 year old in tow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kafe Yen is a few blocks away. Quiet, great Thai/Indonesian food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Glad
Business
San Diego South Beach area
Mar 10, 2010

Great Hotel along with great location

Our hotel was living in an apartment, seperate bedroom living rm, complete kitchen and bath. blacony off the living room and bedroom. open view of the ocean. Very clean and neat. Sofa bed in living room. Internet extra and little parking. More parking two blocks up the street with sister hotel. This one is worth the walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wife of one, mommy of two
Business
Denver, CO
Feb 22, 2010

Great location, great price!

We really enjoyed this hotel, How can you complain with a room that is just steps from the beach. We loved having the kitchen so we could cook breakfasts and other meals we didn't want to go out for. There is a CVS pharmacy just down the street, and a Ralphs just a couple blocks farther down. Parking was not an issue for us, even though the lot was small and open to beach-goers we still found spots close by whenever we returned. Nicely furnished, clean rooms. Quiet, calm location perfect runaway for our little family! We would definitely go back and recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Feeding Hills , Massachusetts
Feb 9, 2010

Great location for the price

Great little place with a great location. The continental breakfast was a welcome addition. Plenty of room but the rooms were a little dark. Had everything you needed for a fun filled vaca. Would stay here again as it was a great value and only steps away from the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many dining options for all only a short walk from the hotel and all down the boardwalk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
baltimore, MD
Jan 19, 2010

wonderful, clean place!

Our room was always clean and stocked with towels and linens. The staff was always willing to answers our questions and help out. Great location right on the beach. Perfect for younger crowd because of close by location of bars and restaurants!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

For good night life try Garnett st!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grew up in Pacific Beach
Business
Hillsborough North Carolina
Jan 12, 2010

Geat Location

Right on the beach. Although we did not have a view from the room you could hear the ocean. There is no air cond. but didn't need it, opened the window. You are about 50' from the boardwalk where you can walk along the beach with lots of others. Restaurants, bars and shopping were just around the corner. I lived in PB in the 70's and it was good to return however nothing looks the same, not a sleepy little beach town anymore-overly commercialized.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Bring sneakers and get ready for a good workout. Power walk the boardwalk, ride a bike or enjoy the beach. Walk to everything, no need for a car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top