$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 3, 2015 Check-out: Feb 6, 2015

Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

2 stars
605 Diamond St., San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
35 reviews
Beach Holiday

A short walk to the beach, lovely clean rooms and a friendly staff made my days at the Diamond Head... See full review

  • Lillian J.
  • Jan 5, 2015
Steps from the beach

Great price and location! So Close to the beach and all the nightlife and great restaurants and... See full review

  • Riladd
  • Jun 2, 2014
The Diamond Head Inn is located right off the famous Pacific Beach Boardwalk and steps from the beach. This quaint little beach property is a guest favorite year after year. All rooms are beautifully decorated in beach decor and are equipped with full kitchens for your convenience. Just outside your door you will be able to enjoy all that Pacific Beach has to offer. Within a short walk you will find a variety of shops and restaurants. From water sports to sunbathing, or just watching the sunset, you will not be able to find a better location or value in Pacific Beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach Rooms

Traditional Queen Room
Recently renovated with custom furnishings. Room features brand new kitchen facility with granite counters and includes refrigerator, microwave, stove-top, and basic utensils. Cable TV with FREE HBO included.

Amenities

  • Free parking
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Pacific Beach: 1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 2 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.7 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 4.7 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Heritage Park: 5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 6.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 7.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 7.4 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 2 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.7 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 4.7 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Heritage Park: 5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 6.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 7.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 7.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 7.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 7.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 7.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 7.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 7.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 7.8 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 7.8 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 7.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 7.9 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 7.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 8 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 8.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 8.4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 8.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 14.3 mi
  • Legoland: 23.1 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 24.1 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
khflowe
Business
Charlotte, NC
May 6, 2012

Ideal location in Pacific Beach

This was our third time staying at the Diamond Head Inn and we will definitely return. The location is perfect! You are literally steps away from the boardwalk and some amazing restuarants. Randy at the front desk is awesome and very accomodating. I would highly recommend this hotel for the location and value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Taco Surf! Best burritos in PB!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tdot
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Mar 7, 2012

Simple, great location

The hotel was the right location at the right price. We didn't spend much time in our room but it was clean and pretty comfy. If you want to be able to walk/ride around Pacific beach its a perfect location and affordable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LocalTraveller
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Dec 21, 2011

Great Place to Stay

If you want a clean, comfortable place to stay near the beach, this place is for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 9, 2011

Great Location. Clean large room

They upgraded my room to an ocean view. The view was great. The stairs down to the beach were only 50 feet away. I could hear the ocean as I slept at night. Overall a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PMT
Business
Rockland, WI
Feb 23, 2011

Great place great people clean

Close to boardwalk great price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cold in the North
Feb 16, 2011

Think twice

We booked a week-long package through [...]. "Quaint" is an understatement for this motel. The carpet in the livingroom area was so stained and spotted we were afraid to remove our shoes. Blinds were broken, and cabinet doors were hanging by one hinge. There was a terrible odor, which we at first attributed to the beach-front location. We bought disinfectant wipes and air freshner spray, and the odor didn't go away. Upon opening the bathroom window, we realized there was a dumpster directly outside our window. I asked at the front desk if it would be possible to move to a different room since we were to be there for a whole week, and I was told that this is the type of room you get when you book through a 3rd party, and there weren't any more of that type available. (I'll remember that if I'm ever tempted to buy another package through a 3rd party.) The motel is obviously very old, but it did seem to have fairly new paint on the walls, and the kitchen and bathroom floors had been tiled. So we could tell it had been somewhat updated. But the update has not been very well maintained. When we opened the blinds in the living area, there were new mattresses wrapped in plastic leaning up against the window and outside wall, unprotected. It made us wonder about the bed we were sleeping on. The continental breakfast consisted of pastries and coffee/orange juice, for which we were thankful since the milk and other groceries we had bought were frozen solid in the mini refrigerator. There was no control knob to adjust the temperature, so the money we spent on food was wasted. The office is only open during the day, and if you have a problem after hours, you have to go to another motel 2 blocks away to get help. It just seems that no one cares enough about this property to put any real effort into maintaining it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The motel is right on the boardwalk that runs for several miles along the beach. It's a great location for beach-goers, joggers, walkers, and bicycles. There are many restaurants within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
US
Feb 14, 2011

Not so 4 star Diamond Head

The best part of our stay at Diamond Head was the Location. It is perfectly located for easy access to the beach, La Jolla, Rt 5, Mission bay. However, I was not impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel. Rugs and paint were terrible. The parking is horrible, unless you enjoy parking 2 blocks from the hotel. I didnt care for the amount of homeless which were allowed to come in and drink free coffee in the morning. It doesnt appear the owner cares about the property. Should be priced a bit lower. would I go back? Naaah.I'd explore other options first

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Garnet ave offers a great night of happy hour hopping. The 50 cent ribs on Tuesdays at the Fire House are a must do!! Leilannis Cafe on Cass St. was my favorite find. Check it out before the tourists find it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zoinkers
Business
San Francisco, CA
Feb 6, 2011

Just Plain Good

This hotel is super close to the beach, restaurants, and lots of bars. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and have everything you need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisiana
Jan 29, 2011

Loved it!

Clean, convenient to boardwalk and beaches. No problems during our stay. Will definitely book again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Inn Pacific Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tamara and Lillian
Business
Wisconsin
Jan 27, 2011

Perfect Travel Plans - Finally

Beautiful room! Beautiful view of the ocean, right outside the door. Nice, clean rooms and plenty of space inside. Big screen tv, very comfortable bed. Only problem was no designated parking, but we were lucky 90% of the time. I'd definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top