$121 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

3 stars
2270 Hotel Circle North, San Diego, CA 92108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
127 reviews
San Diego Party Weekend

Nice hotel, but had to pay to park there, great location but so are all of the other hotels in... See full review

  • nightmarejack304
  • Aug 4, 2014
Great trip for two

The location, right between Sea World and The Zoo, offers a great place to stay for trips like... See full review

  • Christa Adventure Taker
  • Jul 21, 2014
Family-friendly hotel in heart of Mission Valley
Situated just minutes from Sea World, Old Town and a number of other San Diego attractions, the 8-story Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego – Mission Valley is conveniently located for multiple sightseeing opportunities. The family-friendly hotel features a heated outdoor pool, outdoor waterfall and discount tickets to local attractions. The on-site restaurant serves sushi and pupus, invoking a tropical theme present throughout the hotel.
Highlights
  • Close to Sea World and Old Town
  • Discount tickets to area attractions
  • Dine on sushi and pupus at on-site restaurant
  • Heated outdoor pool
Rooms

The Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego – Mission Valley offers 417 rooms (including 12 suites) in varying size. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, CD player, coffee-maker and spacious work desk. Suites and executive club-level rooms also boast a microwave and mini-refrigerator. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego – Mission Valley completed an exhaustive renovation in 2009. It was during these improvements the hotel adopted a Polynesian theme.

Currently, all guests receive discount tickets to Sea World and other attractions in the San Diego area. Guests also have access to a heated outdoor swimming pool, as well as a complimentary on-site fitness center and free shuttle that takes guests anywhere within one mile of the hotel. The hotel offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply). There's also a beauty salon on-site (fees apply).

The Islands Restaurant serves sushi and Hawaiian-inspired cuisine that invokes the tropics.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (3 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (5 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (10 mi/16 km)
Attractions
  • Sea World (2 mi/3 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (5 mi/8 km)
  • Petco Park (6 mi/10 km)
  • Old Town (8 mi/13 km)
  • Point Loma (9 mi/14 km)
Business
  • 26,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Indoor and outdoor meeting space
  • Catering services
  • 24-hour business center
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7612 -117.1835
Nearby airports
Montgomery Field Airport, (MYF), 6.70, MI; San Diego International Airport, (SAN), 5.50, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Junipero Serra Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Heritage Park: 0.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 2.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.4 mi
  • Sea World: 2.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.7 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.8 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Heritage Park: 0.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 2.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.4 mi
  • Sea World: 2.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.7 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.8 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2.9 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 2.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.9 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 4.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 4.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9.7 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.2 mi
  • Legoland: 26.5 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.2 mi

Dining

The Islands Restaurant
The Islands Restaurant is a casual, family friendly restaurant featuring breakfast, lunch and dinner. Seating is available inside or out on our patio overlooking the tropical poolside area.
Islands Sushi & PuPu Bar
Set in an exotic atmosphere of tropical surroundings, salt-water fish tanks and cascading waterfalls, The Islands Sushi & Pupu Bar in the Crowne Plaza San Diego is the place to be. Both local and hotel patrons can enjoy the fantastic and delicious array o

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (127)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 127
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nena traveler
Glendale, Az
Jul 1, 2013

Good getaway

We loved the lush scenery at the hotel and enjoyed the sushi bar as well! I don't like that they charge for parking, they should roll it into the room costs so I don't feel like I'm being nickle and dimed! Also they charge 9.95 per day for wifi! It's 2013, it should be included just like towels!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Sushi in the hotel is delicous!

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ghudd
Chico, California
Apr 2, 2013

Quick stay

We loved the beautiful garden area, pool and hot tub. However, having to pay for wi-fi should be a thing of the past. For the money, a complimentary breakfast should have been included. $5 for a cup of coffee in the restaurant?? C'mon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oplascen
Mexicali, Baja, Mexico
Nov 26, 2012

Very good and excellent Location

We were very comfortable, our kids were happy to stay there, the hotel is very near form shopping malls and San Diego down town, the only bad thing is that we had to pay $12.00 extra for Parking I do not understand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Good location and confortable

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hilblie
Simi valley
Sep 6, 2012

Labor day getaway

The hotel was nice a nice place to stay my room was ready when I got there and the staff was very helpful They even helped me get ticket for sea world at the last min at a discount price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Tickets

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tranlis
Las Vegas,NV
Sep 4, 2012

Fee for parking, WIFI, And Food is Bad

Despite the daily parking fee, and the fridge and microwave options by request only,Hotel staff are very accommodating and promptly work on the request .Food in "The kitchen "Restaurant should be avoided,and better spend your money outside .It is outrageously expensive, for such a lousy tasting food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kam The Hawaiian
Norwalk, Ca.
Jul 2, 2012

Family Get Away

Everything was great!!!!! Hotel, room, staff, parking, and food. Definately be back again. Our fourth trip to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kam The Hawaiian
Norwalk, Ca.
May 14, 2012

Mothers Day Get Away

Our Family showed up with our Boat and trailer attached to our SUV, the attendant opened the gate and showed us an open area to park. We went to check in and the front desk was very friendly and very quick. They were awesome and my family felt very comfortable. The Hotel itself was very clean, all staff especially at the restaurant were very polite. The food was perfect. Our room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. My kids loved the pool and begged me to go back again. For the price, looks like we found our new Hotel to stay at while in San Diego. Actually heading back down in a couple of weeks. Much Mahalos to the Staff of Crown Plaza Hotel for the hospitality. Look forward on seeing you again soon........

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Food was excellent!!!!!!!!

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jbergon
SLC, Utah
Mar 12, 2012

A "Grand" getaway!

Room was lovely w/ exception of what appeared to be cigarette burns in drapery?? Loved the drape closure clip to keep room dark in early a.m.. Stayed at end of hall so very cozy and quiet. Took my granddaughter on her first trip with just nana! We were SO excited to swim and went down to the pool only to discover it was FREEZING! Thought that was a little unfair advertising. Didn't tell me at check in when I inquired about the pool hours! OOPSIE! Didn't really see any hotel staff around to make comments other than in and out and both just fine... Beautiful trees and tropical feel all around inside of property. Very nice. Would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Quite literally only 8 minutes from Seaport Village! Pool towels are a little larger than dish towels so BRING YOUR OWN! Pool was FREEZING, so check first! In summer it would probably feel great...not so in March!

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
peeved
Redondo Beach, CA, USA
Feb 14, 2012

Not Good

My biggest pet peeve is poor customer service and unfortunately that's what we experienced with this hotel. First off, they ding you for all the extras like parking and internet (why would a hotel not have free wi-fi in this day?). The service at the restaurant was really bad -- they seemed very unorganized and it took forever to get a simple breakfast. We also got woken by a false fire alarm at 1 am (not their fault) and started evacuating the family. The topper was when I was asked at check out, "How was your stay?" I told them. There were no apologies or offers to try and resolve the issues. It left me wondering why they even bother asking. The room was a good size and clean, but a little dated. It had very poor lighting and limited amenities. There was no refrigerator or microwave and the single serve coffee maker was sub par.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Macbelle
Wisconsin, USA
Jan 12, 2012

Terrible experience

Nasty dirty carpet in the room.The room smelled,furnishings very old and run down.The pool was cold! It was midnight on arrival so we stuck it out...I am very angry and disappointed in your recommendation. I have booked another hotel for my next trip there with you and if I have similar experience it will be the last with Orbiitz. I expect a response from you Sharon Mizialko

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search