$121 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

3 stars
2270 Hotel Circle North, San Diego, CA 92108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
127 reviews
San Diego Party Weekend

Nice hotel, but had to pay to park there, great location but so are all of the other hotels in... See full review

  • nightmarejack304
  • Aug 4, 2014
Great trip for two

The location, right between Sea World and The Zoo, offers a great place to stay for trips like... See full review

  • Christa Adventure Taker
  • Jul 21, 2014
Family-friendly hotel in heart of Mission Valley
Situated just minutes from Sea World, Old Town and a number of other San Diego attractions, the 8-story Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego – Mission Valley is conveniently located for multiple sightseeing opportunities. The family-friendly hotel features a heated outdoor pool, outdoor waterfall and discount tickets to local attractions. The on-site restaurant serves sushi and pupus, invoking a tropical theme present throughout the hotel.
Highlights
  • Close to Sea World and Old Town
  • Discount tickets to area attractions
  • Dine on sushi and pupus at on-site restaurant
  • Heated outdoor pool
Rooms

The Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego – Mission Valley offers 417 rooms (including 12 suites) in varying size. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, CD player, coffee-maker and spacious work desk. Suites and executive club-level rooms also boast a microwave and mini-refrigerator. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego – Mission Valley completed an exhaustive renovation in 2009. It was during these improvements the hotel adopted a Polynesian theme.

Currently, all guests receive discount tickets to Sea World and other attractions in the San Diego area. Guests also have access to a heated outdoor swimming pool, as well as a complimentary on-site fitness center and free shuttle that takes guests anywhere within one mile of the hotel. The hotel offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply). There's also a beauty salon on-site (fees apply).

The Islands Restaurant serves sushi and Hawaiian-inspired cuisine that invokes the tropics.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (3 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (5 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (10 mi/16 km)
Attractions
  • Sea World (2 mi/3 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (5 mi/8 km)
  • Petco Park (6 mi/10 km)
  • Old Town (8 mi/13 km)
  • Point Loma (9 mi/14 km)
Business
  • 26,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Indoor and outdoor meeting space
  • Catering services
  • 24-hour business center
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7612 -117.1835
Nearby airports
Montgomery Field Airport, (MYF), 6.70, MI; San Diego International Airport, (SAN), 5.50, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Junipero Serra Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Heritage Park: 0.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 2.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.4 mi
  • Sea World: 2.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.7 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.8 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Heritage Park: 0.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 2.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.4 mi
  • Sea World: 2.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.7 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.8 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2.9 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 2.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.9 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 4.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 4.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9.7 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.2 mi
  • Legoland: 26.5 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.2 mi

Dining

The Islands Restaurant
The Islands Restaurant is a casual, family friendly restaurant featuring breakfast, lunch and dinner. Seating is available inside or out on our patio overlooking the tropical poolside area.
Islands Sushi & PuPu Bar
Set in an exotic atmosphere of tropical surroundings, salt-water fish tanks and cascading waterfalls, The Islands Sushi & Pupu Bar in the Crowne Plaza San Diego is the place to be. Both local and hotel patrons can enjoy the fantastic and delicious array o

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (127)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 127
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelin'4Fun
Los Angeles
Jul 29, 2013

Crowne Plaza

We had a very nice 1 night stay. The hotel is conveniently located on the western end of Mission Valley, close to freeway access and easy access to downtown San Diego, Sea World, etc. Staff was friendly, room was very clean and comfortable, landscaping is tropical and nicely maintained. We did enjoy breakfast at their restaurant which was pricey as expected but the food was good!Thank you Crowne Plaza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
markerbaseball
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 19, 2013

Did the job well

Room was very clean, grounds were nice, and location worked well being right off the 8 in Mission Valley. Recommended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Newg
Houston, TX
Nov 28, 2011

Holiday

Stay was over Thanksgiving holiday, the hotel was very close to all the local attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel is very close, however you will need a car.

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
aaron rodgers
Green Bay, WI, USA
Nov 14, 2011

GREEN BAY PACKER / CHARGER GAME

we arrived @ the front desk everything was pretty smooth until we went to our 1st room, it smelt so dingy,musty. i dont think the room has been in use for a while , we let the front desk kno. they swapped rooms for us no big deal right , well the next room no a/c . now i want to leave but i call front desk they move ud the next day , they gave us breakfast coupons to make ud feel better. i think the hotekl needs a face lidt everything id late 70s early 80s .toilets are terrible we needed a plunger several times it was quite experience never again until theyrenovate. and dont wake up too early cuz nothing is open no coffee nothing untill afte 6am pst ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

a 2 minute drive to the mall and old town is a few minutes away

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Super!!!!

From the reception to all the staff, thumbs up! Hooray! Nice and clean rooms and all the amenities. We will be coming back when we visit our relatives in San Diego. I will prefer Crowne Plaza among others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

No further comment or recommendations. Everything very good.

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TONYboy
Monrovia Ca
Aug 29, 2011

Hidden In san diego

I was looking for a tropical experience to remind me of Maui, Sandiego has beach hhotels but all filled up. Staff was good and service quick. We upgraded from a king room to 6th floor large suite because i had priority club. Bed was a Murphy queen? I should have checked detail. any way it was a great view in the morning of a brush jungle and golf course. Could not sit or enjoy open windows due to parking lot bright lights. Pool was full of bugs but we had a great breakfast and refreshing swim anyway. This is a great place to get a psuedo hawaii hide out and not feel like you are in a city. a good hideout. garden environment. a bit out of the middle of things but near old town and balboa park. they had free shuttles to many of these locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 13, 2011

Disappointed overall

Have stayed there many times previously. Foliage is very overgrown, making it difficult to see the pool area. Just over all, the hotel appeared run-down and it was always one of my favorite places to stay when visiting San Diego - I won't go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Conway, AR
Jun 27, 2011

Great place to stay

We enjoyed our stay. The room was clean with a good view of the pool. The bed was comfortable and the pool was nice. We didn't rent a car so we did not have to pay the parking fee. We just took advantage of the hotel shuttle transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

We loved the Fashion Valley Mall near the hotel and Old Town, which the hotel shuttle will take you there. We also found the outlet mall right near the border of Mexico with Great bargains!

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kansas
Mar 21, 2011

Great Hotel

Great service. Seemed to be a little away from things, but the shuttle people were extremely friendly and accomodating. I would stay at the motel again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NJ
Oct 28, 2010

Great Location ; very nice accomodations

Room was very nice; convenient location to tourist hot spots; easy to get to; enjoyed reastaurant on grounds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search