$102 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 14, 2015

Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

3 stars
View map of 2270 Hotel Circle North, San Diego, CA 92108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny
Sep 23, 2010

Ok thought it would be better

My phone did not work the internet was not connected. No wireless in the rooms. Bed was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Syracuse, NY
Sep 20, 2010

Getaway Weekend

Initial impression not so good but once we saw more of the hotel we liked it better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Old town San Diego close by.

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
PALM SPRINGS, CA.
Sep 4, 2010

PRICE AND BED IT IS GOOD

IN GENERAL IT IS A GOOD HOTEL, HOWEVER, THE ROOM SERVICE GUY TRIED TO GET MORE THAT THE 18% TIP OUT OF US. HE SAID THAT THE MANAGER TAKES ALL OF IT. I REPORTED IT. ANOTHER PROBLEM IS THAT THE ROOM SERVICE DOES NOT GIVE US A RECEIPT FOR THE CHARGE WHEN THE FOOD IS DELIVERED. I RAISE HELL ABOUT THAT. SO, THEY COULD REPORT ANYTHING THAT THEY WANT WHEN THE BILL IS SENT TO BOOKKEEPING. ALSO, THE BRECKFAST BUFFETT IS AWFUL AT THE $15 PLUS TIP. GO DOWN THE ROAD. WHILE I LIKE THE HOTEL IN GENERAL YOU ARE RATHER TRAPPED WITHOUT DRIVING A WAYS TO FIND A RESTAURANT AND THE ONLY POSSIBLE PARKING IS ON THE HOTEL PROPERTY AT $12 PER DAY. DON EASTBOURN

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Honolulu, HI
Sep 3, 2010

Good Hotel!

My husband and I went to San Diego because I needed a surgery so we stayed there for 8 days and the hotel is perfect for long stays. The bed was comfortable and there was a fridge and microwave so we just bought some stuff at the grocery store, heat up some stuff in the microwave and practically just stayed at the room almost the rest of our stay. Our view was the golf course which was nice and quiet. The only thing about this hotel that is a little off is the amenities, they are not complete (no slippers, bathrobe, soap, etc.) We always have to call housekeeping (which is only until 5pm after that you are screwed if you need something else). Also, when I booked this hotel, I thought parking was included but we had to pay an additional $12 a day! Its kinda a rip off considering it is only a 3 star hotel....but other than that it was great. I will stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Applebox Bob
Couples
Santa Barbara
Aug 31, 2010

Nice courtyard & room but 10$ for i'net

We had THE room facing the waterfall. My wife read beside it with her coffee. We couldn't hear the fall inside the room, but they turn it off at night. We are budget motel folks who 'upgraded' for the weekend we took our son to start college. We were very pleased with the entrance, lobby, common areas and room. My wife's reaction was 'no more budget motels unless just need a bed and shower for the night'. Didn't check out the business center, exercise room nor treatment spa. The water spa is separate from the pool and uncrowded, but the temp was only nice and warm (estimated 99 - 100F)... we like it hot enough one wants to get out once in a while (104 - 105F). The lush courtyard is well kept and looks as good in real life as on their website. The parking is secured by a manned gate. We had to ride the glass elevators up and down. We discovered one wing is a Quite Zone where they only room patrons without kids who agree to be extra quiet. We had to ask for more coffee packets... there was only one of reg and one of decaf for the two of us. (They were delivered promptly.) Though my mom's rez was made a day after ours, they thoughtfully matched up surnames and assigned us adjoining rooms with interior linking doors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The numerous local Denny's have a 4$ Value Slam on their 2-4-6-8 value menu.

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chii Events
Couples
Chicago, IL
Aug 11, 2010

Crowne Plaze San Diego Vacaction

The staff was very friendly and the overall stay was amazing. Minutes away from mission Beach, boardwalk etc. The Hotel's Hawaii theme really set the tone for a vacation get away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Short Drive downtown getting off on Front Street takes you directly to where the action is.

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Encino, Ca.
Aug 9, 2010

Crown Plaza Hotel, San Diego, Ca.

None

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Orange County
Jul 23, 2010

Great room and great sushi!

Great location, tasteful room decor and the sushi bar was excellent. The staff was friendly and willing to answer questions. Will definitely be considered for a return visit to San Diego area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel has a great Sushi Bar and the extra $10 per person for breakfast buffet was worth it.

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Boise, Idaho
Jul 7, 2010

Excellent hotel

This was one of the best managed hotels I have stayed at in years. I was so impressed that I made a point to tell the staff when I checked out. The rooms and beds are ultra-comfortable, the pools clean and relaxing, the staff very friendly and attentive. Great location, quiet enclave if you don't feel like going out, and sunny when the marine layer is haunting the beach crowd. The gym was a welcome escape when we needed a quick hard workout. The sushi bar is a must - the sushi wraps with raw scallops and unagi (eel) were exceptional, along with the draft saki. The 5th floor room overlooking the pool was surprisingly quiet and bright, even though the hotel borders on I-8.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are looking for free Wi-fi, we recommend a breakfast or lunch at The Corner Bakery, a short drive from the hotel, located to the west around Mission Valley Mall.

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crowne Plaza
Couples
Salt Lake City, UT
Jul 2, 2010

Exceptional Staff

Great staff, willing to help with anything. Really impressed and will come visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top