$117 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

3 stars
2270 Hotel Circle North, San Diego, CA 92108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
127 reviews
San Diego Party Weekend

Nice hotel, but had to pay to park there, great location but so are all of the other hotels in... See full review

  • nightmarejack304
  • Aug 4, 2014
Great trip for two

The location, right between Sea World and The Zoo, offers a great place to stay for trips like... See full review

  • Christa Adventure Taker
  • Jul 21, 2014
Family-friendly hotel in heart of Mission Valley
Situated just minutes from Sea World, Old Town and a number of other San Diego attractions, the 8-story Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego – Mission Valley is conveniently located for multiple sightseeing opportunities. The family-friendly hotel features a heated outdoor pool, outdoor waterfall and discount tickets to local attractions. The on-site restaurant serves sushi and pupus, invoking a tropical theme present throughout the hotel.
Highlights
  • Close to Sea World and Old Town
  • Discount tickets to area attractions
  • Dine on sushi and pupus at on-site restaurant
  • Heated outdoor pool
Rooms

The Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego – Mission Valley offers 417 rooms (including 12 suites) in varying size. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, CD player, coffee-maker and spacious work desk. Suites and executive club-level rooms also boast a microwave and mini-refrigerator. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego – Mission Valley completed an exhaustive renovation in 2009. It was during these improvements the hotel adopted a Polynesian theme.

Currently, all guests receive discount tickets to Sea World and other attractions in the San Diego area. Guests also have access to a heated outdoor swimming pool, as well as a complimentary on-site fitness center and free shuttle that takes guests anywhere within one mile of the hotel. The hotel offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply). There's also a beauty salon on-site (fees apply).

The Islands Restaurant serves sushi and Hawaiian-inspired cuisine that invokes the tropics.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (3 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (5 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (10 mi/16 km)
Attractions
  • Sea World (2 mi/3 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (5 mi/8 km)
  • Petco Park (6 mi/10 km)
  • Old Town (8 mi/13 km)
  • Point Loma (9 mi/14 km)
Business
  • 26,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Indoor and outdoor meeting space
  • Catering services
  • 24-hour business center
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7612 -117.1835
Nearby airports
Montgomery Field Airport, (MYF), 6.70, MI; San Diego International Airport, (SAN), 5.50, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Junipero Serra Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Heritage Park: 0.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 2.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.4 mi
  • Sea World: 2.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.7 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.8 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Heritage Park: 0.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 2.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.4 mi
  • Sea World: 2.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.7 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.8 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2.9 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 2.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.9 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 4.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 4.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9.7 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.2 mi
  • Legoland: 26.5 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.2 mi

Dining

The Islands Restaurant
The Islands Restaurant is a casual, family friendly restaurant featuring breakfast, lunch and dinner. Seating is available inside or out on our patio overlooking the tropical poolside area.
Islands Sushi & PuPu Bar
Set in an exotic atmosphere of tropical surroundings, salt-water fish tanks and cascading waterfalls, The Islands Sushi & Pupu Bar in the Crowne Plaza San Diego is the place to be. Both local and hotel patrons can enjoy the fantastic and delicious array o

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (127)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kam The Hawaiian
Norwalk, Ca.
Jul 2, 2012

Family Get Away

Everything was great!!!!! Hotel, room, staff, parking, and food. Definately be back again. Our fourth trip to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kam The Hawaiian
Norwalk, Ca.
May 14, 2012

Mothers Day Get Away

Our Family showed up with our Boat and trailer attached to our SUV, the attendant opened the gate and showed us an open area to park. We went to check in and the front desk was very friendly and very quick. They were awesome and my family felt very comfortable. The Hotel itself was very clean, all staff especially at the restaurant were very polite. The food was perfect. Our room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. My kids loved the pool and begged me to go back again. For the price, looks like we found our new Hotel to stay at while in San Diego. Actually heading back down in a couple of weeks. Much Mahalos to the Staff of Crown Plaza Hotel for the hospitality. Look forward on seeing you again soon........

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Food was excellent!!!!!!!!

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jbergon
SLC, Utah
Mar 12, 2012

A "Grand" getaway!

Room was lovely w/ exception of what appeared to be cigarette burns in drapery?? Loved the drape closure clip to keep room dark in early a.m.. Stayed at end of hall so very cozy and quiet. Took my granddaughter on her first trip with just nana! We were SO excited to swim and went down to the pool only to discover it was FREEZING! Thought that was a little unfair advertising. Didn't tell me at check in when I inquired about the pool hours! OOPSIE! Didn't really see any hotel staff around to make comments other than in and out and both just fine... Beautiful trees and tropical feel all around inside of property. Very nice. Would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Quite literally only 8 minutes from Seaport Village! Pool towels are a little larger than dish towels so BRING YOUR OWN! Pool was FREEZING, so check first! In summer it would probably feel great...not so in March!

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WriteforLife
CA
Feb 20, 2012

Loved the Hawaiian feel!

I will come right out and say it, I HATED where this hotel was located. But I was staying there with a group and had no choice, so there I was and I had to make the best of it. Trying to find something to eat around there isn't easy and the closest restaurants are about 2 miles away at a shopping mall. That being said, location aside, I was very happy with this hotel. Yes, it's old, but it's clean and well-maintained. My experiences with everyone on staff, from housekeeping, front desk, to the parking attendants were very pleasant. The ambiance of the hotel is also really nice. It has a Hawaiian theme and they actually do a very good job of capturing that "feel" throughout the property. If I had to be back in that area for some reason again, I would certainly stay at that property again. Note: As others have said, there is a $12 fee for parking every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The mall is down the road on Hotel Circle North. You make a left out of the hotel and then turn left on Fashion Valley Road.

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
peeved
Redondo Beach, CA, USA
Feb 14, 2012

Not Good

My biggest pet peeve is poor customer service and unfortunately that's what we experienced with this hotel. First off, they ding you for all the extras like parking and internet (why would a hotel not have free wi-fi in this day?). The service at the restaurant was really bad -- they seemed very unorganized and it took forever to get a simple breakfast. We also got woken by a false fire alarm at 1 am (not their fault) and started evacuating the family. The topper was when I was asked at check out, "How was your stay?" I told them. There were no apologies or offers to try and resolve the issues. It left me wondering why they even bother asking. The room was a good size and clean, but a little dated. It had very poor lighting and limited amenities. There was no refrigerator or microwave and the single serve coffee maker was sub par.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Macbelle
Wisconsin, USA
Jan 12, 2012

Terrible experience

Nasty dirty carpet in the room.The room smelled,furnishings very old and run down.The pool was cold! It was midnight on arrival so we stuck it out...I am very angry and disappointed in your recommendation. I have booked another hotel for my next trip there with you and if I have similar experience it will be the last with Orbiitz. I expect a response from you Sharon Mizialko

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Newg
Houston, TX
Nov 28, 2011

Holiday

Stay was over Thanksgiving holiday, the hotel was very close to all the local attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel is very close, however you will need a car.

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
aaron rodgers
Green Bay, WI, USA
Nov 14, 2011

GREEN BAY PACKER / CHARGER GAME

we arrived @ the front desk everything was pretty smooth until we went to our 1st room, it smelt so dingy,musty. i dont think the room has been in use for a while , we let the front desk kno. they swapped rooms for us no big deal right , well the next room no a/c . now i want to leave but i call front desk they move ud the next day , they gave us breakfast coupons to make ud feel better. i think the hotekl needs a face lidt everything id late 70s early 80s .toilets are terrible we needed a plunger several times it was quite experience never again until theyrenovate. and dont wake up too early cuz nothing is open no coffee nothing untill afte 6am pst ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

a 2 minute drive to the mall and old town is a few minutes away

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
big weeze
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Oct 19, 2011

best hotel in san diego

comfortable beds great staff balconys in every room free shuttle service a must stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Super!!!!

From the reception to all the staff, thumbs up! Hooray! Nice and clean rooms and all the amenities. We will be coming back when we visit our relatives in San Diego. I will prefer Crowne Plaza among others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

No further comment or recommendations. Everything very good.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search