$121 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

3 stars
2270 HOTEL CIRCLE NORTH, SAN DIEGO, CA 92108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
206 reviews
Good getaway

We loved the lush scenery at the hotel and enjoyed the sushi bar as well! I don't like that they... See full review

  • Nena traveler
  • Jul 1, 2013
Quick stay

We loved the beautiful garden area, pool and hot tub. However, having to pay for wi-fi should be a... See full review

  • Ghudd
  • Apr 2, 2013
Family-friendly hotel in heart of Mission Valley
Situated just minutes from Sea World, Old Town and a number of other San Diego attractions, the 8-story Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego – Mission Valley is conveniently located for multiple sightseeing opportunities. The family-friendly hotel features a heated outdoor pool, outdoor waterfall and discount tickets to local attractions. The on-site restaurant serves sushi and pupus, invoking a tropical theme present throughout the hotel.
Highlights
  • Close to Sea World and Old Town
  • Discount tickets to area attractions
  • Dine on sushi and pupus at on-site restaurant
  • Heated outdoor pool
Rooms

The Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego – Mission Valley offers 417 rooms (including 12 suites) in varying size. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, CD player, coffee-maker and spacious work desk. Suites and executive club-level rooms also boast a microwave and mini-refrigerator. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego – Mission Valley completed an exhaustive renovation in 2009. It was during these improvements the hotel adopted a Polynesian theme.

Currently, all guests receive discount tickets to Sea World and other attractions in the San Diego area. Guests also have access to a heated outdoor swimming pool, as well as a complimentary on-site fitness center and free shuttle that takes guests anywhere within one mile of the hotel. The hotel offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply). There's also a beauty salon on-site (fees apply).

The Islands Restaurant serves sushi and Hawaiian-inspired cuisine that invokes the tropics.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (3 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (5 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (10 mi/16 km)
Attractions
  • Sea World (2 mi/3 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (5 mi/8 km)
  • Petco Park (6 mi/10 km)
  • Old Town (8 mi/13 km)
  • Point Loma (9 mi/14 km)
Business
  • 26,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Indoor and outdoor meeting space
  • Catering services
  • 24-hour business center
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

32.7612 -117.1835
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport, (SAN), 5.50, MI, SW; Montgomery Field Airport, (MYF), 6.70, MI, NE;
Area description
Suburban, suburban

Nearby points of interest

  • Junipero Serra Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Heritage Park: 0.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 2.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.4 mi
  • Sea World: 2.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.7 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.8 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Heritage Park: 0.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 2.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.4 mi
  • Sea World: 2.6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.7 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 2.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.8 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2.9 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 2.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.9 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 4.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 4.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9.7 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.2 mi
  • Legoland: 26.5 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.2 mi

Dining

The Islands Restaurant
The Islands Restaurant is a casual, family friendly restaurant featuring breakfast, lunch and dinner. Seating is available inside or out on our patio overlooking the tropical poolside area.
Islands Sushi & PuPu Bar
Set in an exotic atmosphere of tropical surroundings, salt-water fish tanks and cascading waterfalls, The Islands Sushi & Pupu Bar in the Crowne Plaza San Diego is the place to be. Both local and hotel patrons can enjoy the fantastic and delicious array o

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (206)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
206 out of 206
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
mpls, mn
Apr 25, 2010

not bad but not great either.

The hotel was ok. The layout of the hotel was confusing to navigate through. I got in late and was traveling alone so it was kind've scary walking through the atrium to get into my room in the middle of the night but it looked much prettier in the morning. Parking cost extra. I had a confirmation for a king size bed but when I arrived they told me someone had called and changed it, but it wasn't me. I was really looking forward to a giant bed but they didn't have any left. The staff wasn't very appologetic either. The bed ended up being comfortable anyways. I ate at the restaurant one night, I wish I hadn't, it was overpriced and pretty mediocure, not much for vegetarians either. I wouldn't go out of my way to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flex
Galway, Ireland
Apr 15, 2010

Excellent room price, very accomodating

great bellmen, bring you anywhere. housekeeping also very accomadating esp as we were up late every day! v near city centre but far from pacific beach. we got a great deal on the net for the room price. you could do a lot worse than here, though i found the food average. nowhere near to eat either and public transport is poor. you will rely heavily on the courtesy bus for lifts but if you tip well they will bring you anywhere. v near airport also. pool nice and outdorr jacuzzi v relaxing. room service swift also. overall, v good despite location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2 Day Vacay
Ladera Ranch, Ca
Apr 15, 2010

Great Hotel Overall

Crowne Plaza is located perfectly as a jumping point to all San Diego destinations. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and the rooms very clean and nice. I even ate at the restaurant for breakfast and the food was great. The only drawback was the noise. All doors at this hotel slam by themselves with force. This occured all hours of the night because a lot of airline employees stay here and they get in at all hours. Also the pipes in my room were gurgly whever someone above used the bathroom. This happened periodically through the night and woke me up. Also, they charge for parking even if you are staying there. Overall, however, I enjoyed my stay and will likley choose this hotel again for my next visit to San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2 Day Vacay
Ladera Ranch, Ca
Apr 15, 2010

Great Hotel Overall

Crowne Plaza is located perfectly as a jumping point to all San Diego destinations. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and the rooms very clean and nice. I even ate at the restaurant for breakfast and the food was great. The only drawback was the noise. All doors at this hotel slam by themselves with force. This occured all hours of the night because a lot of airline employees stay here and they get in at all hours. Also the pipes in my room were gurgly whever someone above used the bathroom. This happened periodically through the night and woke me up. Also, they charge for parking even if you are staying there. Overall, however, I enjoyed my stay and will likley choose this hotel again for my next visit to San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tulsa, OK
Apr 6, 2010

Beautiful

I was here visiting my boyfriend. I loved the location and view of the hotel. The only issue that I had was the air wasn't working the whole time that we were there. We had the maintenace come out and still didn't really fix the problem. Besides the air issues the hotel was great. Amazing staff and very clean and comfortable rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hash House A Go Go is the best breakfast close to town! Amazing and very generous and inexpensive portions!

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tulsa, OK
Apr 6, 2010

Beautiful

I was here visiting my boyfriend. I loved the location and view of the hotel. The only issue that I had was the air wasn't working the whole time that we were there. We had the maintenace come out and still didn't really fix the problem. Besides the air issues the hotel was great. Amazing staff and very clean and comfortable rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hash House A Go Go is the best breakfast close to town! Amazing and very generous and inexpensive portions!

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Now I'm broke
Business
Mpls, MN
Mar 30, 2010

Mostly, a great stay.

I was there on business. I felt the buffet was too expensive, my hotel neighbors were too noisy and I would have loved to have known that I would be charged for parking in the lot prior to booking with your hotel. The room was comfortable though and it is in a good location for what I was in California to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive into Mission Valley and eat, it's much cheaper, by at least half.

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Now I'm broke
Business
Mpls, MN
Mar 30, 2010

Mostly, a great stay.

I was there on business. I felt the buffet was too expensive, my hotel neighbors were too noisy and I would have loved to have known that I would be charged for parking in the lot prior to booking with your hotel. The room was comfortable though and it is in a good location for what I was in California to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive into Mission Valley and eat, it's much cheaper, by at least half.

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Palm Springs, Ca
Mar 29, 2010

Beautiful Hotel

The hotel was beautiful, lots of greenery, very tropical feel and a beautiful atrium with relaxing water features. The pool and spa seemed nice although I did not actully swim and they have massage services on site. The staff was very friendly and the bed was so comfertable we didn't want to get up the next day. BE AWARE: there is a parking fee, but the fee is standard in any major city and reasonable for San Diego. The hotel is centrally located to the major attractions in the San Diego area and is freeway close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel does have a resturant but if you want something different there are several resturants within a few miles including shopping and several choice resturants at the nearby Fashion Shopping Plaza. Just take hotel cirle, no need to jump on the freeway.

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Palm Springs, Ca
Mar 29, 2010

Beautiful Hotel

The hotel was beautiful, lots of greenery, very tropical feel and a beautiful atrium with relaxing water features. The pool and spa seemed nice although I did not actully swim and they have massage services on site. The staff was very friendly and the bed was so comfertable we didn't want to get up the next day. BE AWARE: there is a parking fee, but the fee is standard in any major city and reasonable for San Diego. The hotel is centrally located to the major attractions in the San Diego area and is freeway close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel does have a resturant but if you want something different there are several resturants within a few miles including shopping and several choice resturants at the nearby Fashion Shopping Plaza. Just take hotel cirle, no need to jump on the freeway.

Back to menu Return to top