$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Central

3 stars
8651 Spectrum Center Blvd, 8651 Spectrum Center Blvd., San Diego, CA 92123
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
61 reviews
Fantastic experience

This hotel is very clean and about a 15 minute drive to Downtown San Diego. Parking is free and the... See full review

  • pasadena2013
  • Jun 2, 2014
Great location

We have used this hotel three times and it has always met our expectations. Great location and pool... See full review

  • WindyCityFan
  • Feb 4, 2014
Central San Diego hotel with free Wi-Fi, pool and more
Welcome to the Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Central hotel, featuring a new, state-of-the-art lobby experience with contemporary modern decor, flexible spaces to work or relax, complimentary WiFi, and innovative technology with access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via the "Go Board." Whether traveling for business or pleasure, experience a refreshing stay at the San Diego Central Courtyard hotel with inspired dining and relaxing guest rooms with a warm and inviting atmosphere. Go for a swim in our large outdoor heated pool and spa, or enjoy a beverage in our tropical Courtyard with an outdoor fireplace. The hotel in the Central San Diego area is located just minutes away from major businesses such as Northrop Grumman, Resmed, SDG&E, Cubic, Kyocera, Bridgepoint Education, and MCAS Miramar. Local attractions such as the San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, Qualcomm Stadium, Petco Park, Gaslamp District and beautiful beaches are just minutes away.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Flexible spaces to work, relax and dine

  • Engaging indoor/outdoor spaces for privacy or socializing

  • Outdoor swimming pool and hot tub

Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Central Rooms
All rooms in the smoke-free Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Central are quiet, modern (refurbished in 2009) and equipped with complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. Rooms also have mini-refrigerators, 32-inch LCD TVs, iPod docking stations, coffee and tea-making facilities and ergonomic desk chairs. Rooms are air conditioned and windows can also be opened. Enjoy comfortable pillow-top mattresses and crisp bed linens. Select rooms have poolside views. 

Business travelers, the Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Central features a conference suite with meeting space for up to 10 people. Cribs and adjoining rooms are available.
Things to do
  • Fashion Valley shopping (5 mi/8 km)
  • Mission Bay golf course (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (7.7 mi/12.4 km)
  • Sea World (8.1 mi/13.3 km)
  • Gaslamp Quarter (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • Balboa Park (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • La Jolla (11.9 mi/19.2 km)
  • Coronado Island (12.7 mi/20.4 km)
  • Del Mar racetrack (14.6 mi/23.5 km)
  • San Diego Zoo Safari Park (25.2 mi/40.5 km)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Central also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

32.8259 -117.1423
Area served
San Diego
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport, (SAN), 12.00, MI, NE; John Wayne Airport-Orange County, (SNA), 80.00, MI, S; Los Angeles International Airport, (LAX), 120.00, MI, S;
Area description
Suburban, Location Type: Suburban

Nearby points of interest

  • Family Fun Center: 1.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 5.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 5.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 5.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 5.8 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 6.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 6.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 6.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 6.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 1.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 5.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 5.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 5.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 5.8 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 6.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 6.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 6.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 6.5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 6.5 mi
  • Botanical Building: 6.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 6.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 6.6 mi
  • Sea World: 6.6 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 6.8 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 6.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 7.4 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 7.4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 7.5 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 7.5 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 8.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 8.2 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 8.3 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 8.3 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 9.2 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 13.1 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 20.4 mi
  • Legoland: 23.2 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,114.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (61)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Central

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Covina, CA
Jun 1, 2010

Hotel was great

my husband and parents enjoy the stay, and great deal with breakfast included, no worries where to eat , and food was very good and staff too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
qwerasd
Tucson, AZ
Apr 3, 2013

Great value!

Clean, comfortable, good value overall. (Need more chairs in the rooms)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego
Feb 16, 2010

Perfect hotel for our stay

We had a very nice one night stay. The rooms are very comfortable and clean...nice design. Great TV

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ajh90008
San Diego, CA, USA
Sep 8, 2011

getaway

it was great staying there, price was good and breakfast was amazing:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pasadena2013
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 2, 2014

Fantastic experience

This hotel is very clean and about a 15 minute drive to Downtown San Diego. Parking is free and the room was very quiet. The staff was very helpful. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
P. Ortega
Apple valley, ca
Aug 26, 2013

Felt like home!

The beds were soooooo comfortable. The hotel is super quiet. Good location. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WindyCityFan
Green Valley AZ
Feb 4, 2014

Great location

We have used this hotel three times and it has always met our expectations. Great location and pool is very relaxing. The staff is always friendly and helpful. We visit the area to see our grandchildren and they enjoy the hotel as much as we do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you have children I'd recommend Corvette Diner - it's a fun place for kids! Also for adults who love ice cream!!

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kailua
Sep 2, 2008

Friendly staff and great location.

Courtyard San Diego, Central was very comfortable and quiet. I liked the fact that the bathroom was separate from the vanity area. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I needed to get the remote for my tv replaced and they came immediately. I also had to get some things faxed and they did it right away. They have a 24 hour snack bar where you can pick up drinks, chips and candies for your late night munchies. Location is close to the freeway/entrances and exits. Also close to restaurants, markets and stores and fast food places. Will definitely come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive down the road to a place called Studio Diner that is open 24 hours. Great Food!! Lots of asian restaurants on Convoy Street.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
West Covina, CA
Aug 23, 2009

Beautiful room

We were visiting SeaWorld. The last time I visited SeaWorld, it was just me and my husband. This time I got a 5-year old and a 1-year old, plus a 9-year old nephew. Needless to say we needed spacious room, without spending too much more money. We got a 2 queen bed-room. It was spacious for the kids to roam about, and I love it because it was clean, non of that smell that you would get at cheap inns and motels, and the decor was modern and updated. The check in service did not realize that we got the complimentary breakfast for 2 adults and 2 children through Orbitz, but went ahead and gave us the deal anyways when we showed them the email confirmation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego
Feb 16, 2010

Perfect hotel for our stay

We had a very nice one night stay. The rooms are very comfortable and clean...nice design. Great TV

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top