$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 27, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Central

3 stars
8651 Spectrum Center Blvd, 8651 Spectrum Center Blvd., San Diego, CA 92123
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
43 reviews
Fantastic experience

This hotel is very clean and about a 15 minute drive to Downtown San Diego. Parking is free and the... See full review

  • pasadena2013
  • Jun 2, 2014
Great location

We have used this hotel three times and it has always met our expectations. Great location and pool... See full review

  • WindyCityFan
  • Feb 4, 2014
Central San Diego hotel with free Wi-Fi, pool and more
Welcome to the Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Central hotel, featuring a new, state-of-the-art lobby experience with contemporary modern decor, flexible spaces to work or relax, complimentary WiFi, and innovative technology with access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via the "Go Board." Whether traveling for business or pleasure, experience a refreshing stay at the San Diego Central Courtyard hotel with inspired dining and relaxing guest rooms with a warm and inviting atmosphere. Go for a swim in our large outdoor heated pool and spa, or enjoy a beverage in our tropical Courtyard with an outdoor fireplace. The hotel in the Central San Diego area is located just minutes away from major businesses such as Northrop Grumman, Resmed, SDG&E, Cubic, Kyocera, Bridgepoint Education, and MCAS Miramar. Local attractions such as the San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, Qualcomm Stadium, Petco Park, Gaslamp District and beautiful beaches are just minutes away.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Flexible spaces to work, relax and dine

  • Engaging indoor/outdoor spaces for privacy or socializing

  • Outdoor swimming pool and hot tub

Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Central Rooms
All rooms in the smoke-free Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Central are quiet, modern (refurbished in 2009) and equipped with complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. Rooms also have mini-refrigerators, 32-inch LCD TVs, iPod docking stations, coffee and tea-making facilities and ergonomic desk chairs. Rooms are air conditioned and windows can also be opened. Enjoy comfortable pillow-top mattresses and crisp bed linens. Select rooms have poolside views. 

Business travelers, the Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Central features a conference suite with meeting space for up to 10 people. Cribs and adjoining rooms are available.
Things to do
  • Fashion Valley shopping (5 mi/8 km)
  • Mission Bay golf course (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (7.7 mi/12.4 km)
  • Sea World (8.1 mi/13.3 km)
  • Gaslamp Quarter (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • Balboa Park (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • La Jolla (11.9 mi/19.2 km)
  • Coronado Island (12.7 mi/20.4 km)
  • Del Mar racetrack (14.6 mi/23.5 km)
  • San Diego Zoo Safari Park (25.2 mi/40.5 km)

Hotel Map

32.8259 -117.1423
Area served
San Diego
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport, (SAN), 12.00, MI, NE; John Wayne Airport-Orange County, (SNA), 80.00, MI, S; Los Angeles International Airport, (LAX), 120.00, MI, S;
Area description
Suburban, Location Type: Suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Central also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Family Fun Center: 1.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 5.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 5.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 5.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 5.8 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 6.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 6.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 6.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 6.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 1.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 5.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 5.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 5.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 5.8 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 6.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 6.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 6.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 6.5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 6.5 mi
  • Botanical Building: 6.6 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 6.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 6.6 mi
  • Sea World: 6.6 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 6.8 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 6.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 7.4 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 7.4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 7.5 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 7.5 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 8.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 8.2 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 8.3 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 8.3 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 9.2 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 13.1 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 20.4 mi
  • Legoland: 23.2 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,114.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (43)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Central

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 43
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JC2014
Diamond Bar, California
Apr 28, 2014

Good stay

This is 2nd time I stayed at this hotel for visiting San Diego, and it's good. The location is perfect with lots of restaurants across FWY163 and the room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Central

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Texas tech fan
Lakewood, CO
Jan 1, 2014

Holiday bowl

We had to wait for over an hour and a half to get our room (from 4:00 -6:30 pm) with no real explanation. When we got tour room it smelled like raw sewage. It was clear to us that there had been a sewer problem, but no one would confirm it. The chemicals they used were VERY strong and we had trope the windows foe. Some relief. No effort was made to address our discomfort besides two free drink coupons while we were waiting. We had a refrigerator and. That was nice. The beds were very nice and we slept well. The. Outer bath sink area had very little space and. The room was a bit small. Very convenient location to the train system and Qualcom stadium. There were a lot of guests at the hotel and the kitchen staff seemed unable to keep up with the crowd. Ran out of silverware, etc. You would definitely need a car at this hotel. I rather expected more fora Marriott Courtyard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AmyLM
Glendale, Ca.
Oct 1, 2013

Wonderful Weekend Getaway

The room and hotel in general were very clean. The staff were very friendly and check in and out was quick and easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Central

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CyberLady
Austin, Texas
Jun 17, 2013

A hotel with a few problems

We've had very good luck with Marriott Courtyard before, in other cities, so we thought this was a good choice for a week-long stay in San Diego. Our first impression was that our room was clean, though a little worn-looking (stained rug), but nothing too bad. However, we soon discovered that the elevator nearest our room would not work properly. We had to hold down the button to get it to come to our floor, and once in, we had to hold down the button to get to our destination. We finally used another elevator, farther from our room, for a few days, until the closer one was repaired after we reported the problem. We also had to specifically request at the desk that our room be cleaned. There was no tag for this request to hang on our door, as is usual in hotels. The staff was friendly and responsive to our requests, but we felt that maintenance was being skimped, and that this hotel was not up to the usual Marriott standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Central

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SMOKERS WE ARE NOT
Salinas, Ca
May 22, 2013

Accused again?????

We spent one night in the hotel and was accused of smoking marijuana in the room. We told them twice to come and smell the room before they did. The evening staff was RUDE and non-professional. The morning staff that checked us in was great!! They wanted to argue on the phone when we told them to come and smell the room. When they came to "investigate" nothing was smelled. We are still waiting for an apology. We WILL not be staying there again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Central

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Caligirl11
San Diego, California
May 20, 2013

Centrally Located

Hotel was centrally located and room was clean. Busy weekend with local San Diego events so lots of guests and neighbors next door were a little noisy. Otherwise good location and nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Godfather is within a couple of miles and excellent Italian food.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Central

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
corymicas
Venice, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Mar 19, 2012

good room good people

i got the people in the room next to me kicked out do to them being loud until 3 am the manager gave me a free room for next time im out there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ajh90008
San Diego, CA, USA
Sep 8, 2011

getaway

it was great staying there, price was good and breakfast was amazing:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chikis
San Diego, CA, USA
Aug 29, 2011

get away for a night

For the price you can't beat it. Pool area was very relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sweet pea
Carlsbad, CA, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Perfect location

The location of the hotel was perfect for me. Very close to me work. And the linens in the hotel room were very clean & fresh.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search