$146 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 9, 2014

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, CA

3 stars
5975 Lusk Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92121
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
56 reviews
Absolutely Romantic Weekend

The experience was fabulous the moment we stepped inside hotel. Amenities and hotel room were top... See full review

  • JarVarez
  • Jun 6, 2014
Weekend getaway

Very good value hotel considering the price I paid. The breakfast was included and was perfect. The... See full review

  • Amy1234
  • Jun 3, 2014
The hotel offers a soothing atmosphere with polished wooden floors upon entering & a soft glowing fireplace with a perfect blend of emerald green, gold and maroon decor. Designed for the business and leisure traveler in mind, our 7-floor indoor corridor hotel offers an array of features to please all, such as comp breakfast, comp wireless high speed internet service in all guest rooms & public areas, outdoor heated pool & spa, fitness facility, business center, coin operated laundry on property, full service lounge with dinner, evening room service & 4000 square feet of meeting facilities. Country Inn & Suites By Carlson offers such touches as: comp local telephone calls & 800 access calls, 32 inch flatscreen television, cable, Herman Miller Aeron chairs and refrigerator and microwave in every room.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Phone service
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Disco
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Outdoor tennis
Driving range
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Copy service
Transportation
FREE transportation
Courtesy car
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, CA also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

32.8981 -117.1925
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
LINDBERGH INTL ARPT, (SAN), 16.60, MI, N; JOHN WAYNE ARPT, (SNA), 73.60, MI, S;
Area description
Suburban, This hotel is located in a suburban area.

Nearby points of interest

  • Sorrento Valley: 0.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 4.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.5 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 7.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 9 mi
  • Sea World: 9.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 9.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 9.9 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 9.9 mi
  • Heritage Park: 10 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 10.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 10.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 11.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 11.6 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 0.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 4.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.5 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 7.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 9 mi
  • Sea World: 9.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 9.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 9.9 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 9.9 mi
  • Heritage Park: 10 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 10.1 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 10.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 11.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 11.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 11.7 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 11.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 11.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 11.8 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 11.8 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 11.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 11.8 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 11.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 12 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 12.1 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 12.2 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 12.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 13.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 13.3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 13.4 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 13.4 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 16.4 mi
  • Legoland: 17.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 18.7 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,114.7 mi

Dining

Fireside Lounge
Located on first floor off main lobby.
Chili's American Bar & Grill
Located in Hotel parking lot.
Karls Strauss Brewery Gardens
Located 0.5 miles from hotel.
P.F. Chang's China Bistro
2.9 miles from the hotel. Reservations only available for parties of 10 guests or more.
Sorrento Valley Food Court
Food Court offers McDonalds, Starbucks Coffee, Mandarin Express, Greek Cafe, Quizno's Subs, Chicks Roasted Chicken, etc.
Mimi's Cafe
4.74 miles from hotel.
Bucca Di Beppo
4.75 miles from the hotel. Reservations only available for parties of 10 guests or more, family style eating.
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Del Mar
5.32 Miles from the hotel.
Breakfast Room
Located on first floor off main lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, CA

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, CA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
maloni
Business
La Mirada, CA, USA
Nov 6, 2011

completely satisfied

The room was clean, location was great, the breakfast buffet was wonderful. I would highly recommend it! I came here for a convention and I made the right choice for my hotel stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chilis is just there. No need to drive.

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, CA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego CA
Apr 7, 2011

Great Hotel

Great hotel for a great price. Hotel personnel were professional, very courteous and helping in addressing inquiries. Clean, comfortable room with a view. Reasonable breakfast provided. On site laundry and business center were readily available. Easy freeway access. Car required as only one restaurant is within reasonable walking distance. Would highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, CA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jen and Craig
Baltimore, MD, USA
Aug 19, 2011

Would definitely go back!

My boyfriend and I would hands down recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to San Diego! We had never been to California before, but we chose this hotel based on other experiences we've had at the Country Inn and Suites. The staff was extremely friendly, always saying "hello" as we walked by the desk. Our room was cleaned very well each day. The free breakfast buffet was delicious, and it had many different choices each day. The hotel was about 10-15 minutes north of downtown, but it was very conveniently located off the highway. We traveled all around, to the city, the beaches, the theme parks, Hollywood, etc..., so we found the location to be perfect. We would definitely stay at this hotel again! :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you're going to San Diego for vacation, you should definitely buy the Go San Diego card! We bought a 7 day pass for approximately $240, and it got us in to so many attractions for free. At the end of our trip, we figured out that we would have spent $515 if we had purchased each thing separately. You can buy a 1, 3, 5, or 7 day pass (I think), so you should definitely consider!!!

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, CA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
first time All Inclusive
California
Sep 25, 2013

just right !

nice stay, clean room, free wifi, free parking, free breakfast are hard to beat in the San Diego area.. would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, CA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dberyo
thousand oaks, ca
Oct 1, 2012

Clean rooms, friendly staff, really nice hot breakfast

We had some very positive experiences with this hotel. The check-in was super fast, the staff was friendly and available, yet not 'in your face' which we appreciated. One highlight was the hot breakfast that they serve until 10:30am on the weekends. The breakfast is good too! This is not your average continental breakfast that so many hotels resort to nowadays. They also had coffee/refreshments in the lobby throughout the day, which was nice. Amenities were good, the room was clean and spacious enough, the wireless internet worked great as promised and there was no hassle connecting to it. The one thing to note is that the outdoor pool seemed cold even though they say it is 'heated'. Overall a really solid hotel. Definitely a very, very good 3 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, CA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
riveras
San Diego North
Apr 7, 2014

great place

We enjoyed our 2 day stay. Loved thee breakfast. Warm cookies and customer service. Never made it to the pool, used exercise room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the 52 off 805 to LaJolla Shores for nearby beach.

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, CA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GradDad2
Arizona
Jun 19, 2012

Perfect stay for family

We went for a graduation. Room was comfortable, clean, and quiet. Fridge, microwave, iron, extra blanket. Exercise room, pool, hot tub. We liked playing games at the tables in the lobby. The staff served coffee and tea in the lobby all day. Breakfast featured eggs and meat, yogurt, fruit, waffles, juice, cereal - what more could you ask for? We left fed and ready to face the day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chili's is in the same parking lot for a convenient evening meal.

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, CA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
zzyyxx
Inglewood, CA, USA
Apr 12, 2012

Hotel Review

Excellent hotel for the price range. Modern , clean throughout, friendly and helpful staff. Free breakfast was a nice perk. I would stay at this hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Nice location. Short drive to the zoo, and to the Outlet stores in Carlsbad.

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, CA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OMG these nicknames are a
Business
Grand Rapids
Jan 14, 2013

Perfect for business travel.

Perfect for business travel. Awesome free breakfast, with hot dishes (eggs + meat + other), waffles, etc.... It was just a 2 minute drive to the offices that I was working at. Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, CA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dee Marine Mom
Austin, Texas
Oct 23, 2013

great experience

I was not familiar with Country Inn hotels, and was a bit nervous, as we were staying for 5 days. But it was a wonderful experience. The staff was wonderful, they had everything we needed. The free breakfast was great. It was well stocked and they didn't run out of things. Location was great for us was we were visiting our son who is stationed at Miramar. And we were only 10 minutes from La Jolla.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top